Mazda 2 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 2

2006 Mazda 2 Maxx 1.5 litre petrol

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28 kilometres
Most recent distance9500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Practical and economical Zoom-Zoom in a compact size

Faults:

My Mazda 2 has been totally faultless in the 5 months that I've had it.

General Comments:

My Mazda 2 has shown itself as a comfortable, capable and economical form of transport whilst commuting to and from work as well as over long interstate drives covering hundreds of kilometres.

From a fuel economy standpoint I use around 5.8 litres per 100 kilometres whilst travelling between home and work. At highway speeds I typically use around 5.4 litres per 100 kilometres.

In-gear acceleration from low engine speeds seems barely adequate. Some more low-end torque would be very welcome.

Travelling along at highway speeds there is a fair bit of tyre noise. Overall the noise level is good and comfortably shames the Corolla I previously had.

Parking is a breeze with the nicely-weighted steering, the light, progressive clutch and the rear pillars that give a very accurate indication of where the rear of the car ends.

There is plenty of room in the hatch and the rear seats fold forward to create even more if needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2007

2003 Mazda 2 maxx 1.5

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance18000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Excellent city car

Faults:

Only problem experienced is tappet noise when the car is first started. My brother also purchased a Mazda 2 proir to myself and also has the same problem. Is this a design fault. As the rest of the car is excellent.

General Comments:

Love driving this car. It drives as good as my work commodore. For a small car it does not have that small car feel. A bigger motor for the auto would be great in a car this size (1.8)..As with all manufactures they always leave you wanting!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2004

17th May 2004, 03:47

In response to your comment about tappet noise on startup: in my experience at least, this has almost always been due to the use of not enough oil, old oil, or the wrong type of oil. The oil 'falls off' the top of the engine and into the sump and isn't there when the can is first started. Maybe speak to a mechanic about suggestions for different oil type, or ask Mazda.

16th Feb 2014, 22:03

My Mazda 2 (it used to be badged Demio, but this fell off…) also has a tappet noise for the first one or two kilometers - it goes away immediately after an oil change, but is back a week later.

The car definitely has superior handling compared to other small cars of its era, due to the Ford underpinnings and "grown up" steering ratio, which feel very natural on the open road. It's a pity the suspension travel is so abbreviated that it cannot handle rough low speed roads as well.

Saying that, there are a good many rattles and shakes in the interior plastics, the front left wheel has a dent that makes the car shimmy at 90 kph, and it is too noisy to be called civilized. The seats are very hard, and the sharp edges on the bottom of the steering column regularly take skin off my knees, even at the highest position. I suppose the close intrusion of the huge central fascia could be called support for cornering, but it lends a feeling of being cramped.

Most disappointingly, my $10k purchase is now worth only $3k at best, after only three years. I now regret not buying a Nissan Primera of the 1998 - 2000 era.

2003 Mazda 2 Genki 1.5

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance3020 kilometres
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

A well built, well performing car

Faults:

Nil.

General Comments:

Engine is slightly lumpy between 1000 - 2000 RPM.

Clutch pedal travel is too long, causing driver to virtually lift off or slide foot on floor.

Stereo 6 stacker is terrific.

Pulling power in 5th gear is exceptional.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

2003 Mazda 2 Maxx 1.5 S-VT

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 S-VT Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42 kilometres
Most recent distance62 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Verada

Summary:

Zoom-Zoom excellence for Zoom-Zoom price!

Faults:

It runs on premium unleaded due to it being a S-VT (sequential valve timing) engine.

General Comments:

Only picked up the car (Mazda 2 Ma xx Auto) yesterday from the dealer and it's the best car we've ever owned! Its great for city driving, fantastic interior and powerful for a small 1.5lt 4 cylinder car.

Excellent features for a $24,000 car!

Buy one if you can - the smallness and the Premium-unleaded needed seemed like a bit of a turn off, but once you get in it you'll wonder how you lived without it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2003

14th Nov 2003, 12:14

Review from Maxx. What good is a car review when you have only had the car for 1 day.

25th Jan 2004, 03:28

I don't see the problem with only having it one day. As it is a novelty you would drive it quite a bit and can form at least some opinion on it.

From another point of view many car reviews in the paper/magazines are based on a drive of less than a day! About the only thing that cannot be accurately commented on is anything to do with reliability, but not even the papers/mags can give a reliable review on that unless it is a 1000km+/long term test or they have something drastically go wrong with the car.

Good on the reviewer for enjoying their new car and writing something about it!!! In the end, isn't that what it is all about?!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews