Mazda MX6 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 4

1993 Mazda MX6 L1 V6 2.5 litre

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 2.5 litre Automatic
Distance when acquired149000 kilometres
Most recent distance159000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Great car just whish I could sort out this trans..

Faults:

Distributer went after having at 155000 km. Power window switch went at 15700 km got that fixed.

Now at 158000 km the drivers side window goes down, but gets stuck going back up.

General Comments:

The car has been quite reliable apart from these problems. I get it tuned on regular bases. Replaced front shockers when I first bought it and have had the transmission checked because of a it's sudden thump into 2nd, but have been told that this is normal. I've had three auto transmission dudes inspect the trans for problems and have all said nothing is wrong with. I find it quite bizzare as I have never driven a car with this much power and force when it shifts into 2nd can this be normal...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2005

22nd Dec 2005, 22:18

A jerk change between 1st and 2nd is very normal. My 93 MX6 Auto does exactly the same.

11th Jan 2006, 08:26

Hi all! I live in South Africa and also own a `93 MX6 auto, my car also goes into 2nd with a thump so after listening to you all it does sound normal. My car has a whining sound in 1st gear, does anyone else experience this? JC.

3rd Feb 2006, 13:29

The whining sound in first gear is perfectly normal. The automatic transmission is not the smoothest in the world and it is mated to a fairly revvy engine.

On the other hand, you might consider checking the ATX fluid level (or condition of the fluid) using the dipstick, as if the fluid level is too low you might find the shifts erratic. This may also cause transmission overheating.

28th Mar 2006, 20:09

My '93 MX6 is flooding. It first happened in January. I started the car and it immediately flooded. My mechanic changed the distributor. A month later it happened again... I took the plugs out, dried it out and it started. Holding the peddle to the floor (flood start) does not work. Because I fixed the flood by drying out the plugs it's working fine and my new mechanic can't find out what is wrong with it until it happens again. Has anyone else experienced this?

27th Apr 2006, 12:45

I also have a 93 MX6 and it jerks between first and second gear. Although that mainly happens when the weather is cold or the engine itself is cold. After it warms up it's fine.

14th Jun 2006, 16:45

I have a 1994 Mazda MX-6 V6 and when it goes into 1st and 2nd, it does shift fairly hard. Mine also makes a whining noise in first gear. Great Overall car though. Very dependable, Solid Car!

1992 Mazda MX6 2.6 V6

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Wish I still had it : (

Faults:

Water leaked into cabin area when raining due to hole in front fire wall.

Fuel leak (think it was the mechanic's fault though)

General Comments:

Never really had many problems with this car.

Because it didn't look super sporty it was never really a police magnet, but when you hit the sweet spot (around 4500 rpm) it went off like a rocket. I really liked this car and was extremely happy with it's performance.

Unfortunately I had to sell it to pay off some debts. Had a good resell value too.

The boot was surprisingly roomy, but the rear passenger seats were not inviting for the average to large people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

11th Sep 2006, 15:36

What where you doing with a mechanic if you didn't have any problems with the car.

14th Sep 2006, 08:02

Maybe getting the car serviced???

1990 Mazda MX6 2.2 turbo

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired227000 kilometres
Most recent distance241236 kilometres
Previous carMazda RX2

Summary:

A performance bargain with luxury, performance and love or hate me charm

Faults:

Engine expired at 230 000kms.

Electric window motors faulty (common).

Gearbox crunchy on 1st to 2nd changes (common).

Plastic intake manifold boot cracked (Common).

Paint fading.

Power antenna no longer retracts.

Windscreen wipers occasionally call for ignition to be switched off before working.

General Comments:

Big bore 4cyl pulls well off boost (low revs).

All the power options you would get in a current car of same class.

Electrics can be tricky, though aren't all Mazda's of that era?

Great potential for further modification.

Parts can be hard to come by though!

4 wheel steer is great for parking.

Good balance between ride and handling.

Quite cabin, low road noise.

Doesn't behave or Feel as heavy as it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2003

24th Jan 2004, 07:42

I have a 1989 MX6 with twin rotary turbo, nos, body kit, in car DVD, jet black, 8 12" subs in the back, a sports 3" muffler, chrome 5 spoke mags, supercharged chip full leather trim, I can blow off V8s easily.

I love my car it's fully optioned, sunroof, sports suspension. I've had the engine rebuilt to my needs.

28th Feb 2006, 12:31

Good afternoon ~ does anyone know the rpm relationship curve to mph. My speedometer cable is broken and I want to drive within the speed limit! For example 2500 rpm in 1st gear equals how many mph and 2500 rpm in 2nd gear equals how many mph and so on. Thank you. Frank.

28th Apr 2006, 01:28

Hello people, I have had my Mazda Mx6 for seven years now and I am looking into making it go better. Fitted to the car so far have a duel stage boost controller and blow off valve.

Apparently it won't run higher than nine pound boost without doing damage to the engine. Can someone please help me with making my Mx6 go harder, money is not a problem I just don't know how. I want to such things as an awsome exhaust system, but don't know what type to get, can you work the engine, can I get a computer chip that makes it go harder, new cam or bore the engine. I have no idea, but would love to know. I love my car and have been thinking of getting a Lexus Soarer, but would much prefer to keep my Mazda. Can someone please help me with this problem.

4th Dec 2008, 06:44

Great car, best well balanced car I have had, great in the gravel and on the road,you can run 15 pound boost in these and there is a chip available to aussie owners to do this. As always extra boost means extra pressure on components, so a car with 300,000km on it you would expect to expire, but for the prices you can pick them up for they're a gem.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 14 reviews