Mercedes-Benz Vito Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 2

1999 Mercedes-Benz Vito 110 2.2 diesel

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hiace

Summary:

Was a dog, now is mean to drive

Faults:

Bought the Vito van 6 months ago and it went into limp home mode. Found it really hard to find any mechanics with any experience with these, and like everyone didn't want to take it to the Merc dealer. So I bought a manual on line. I am a motorbike mechanic so figured no problems.

Have fixed the limp home mode problem; it had a hole in a intake pipe, this is a good place to start - check all rubber pipes after turbo to intake (also cheap to fix), then check all electric fittings to all the intake pipes. Runs great now and good on gas.

Also there is a few things you can do to make go way better, but will post that soon. And also how to fix door locks.

Cheers Phil 09 4145565 or you can text 0211 828 426 if in New Zealand.

General Comments:

Great van. Bogeys along and uses stuff all gas, and is way quieter than the Hiace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2009

1998 Mercedes-Benz Vito 113 2.0 petrol

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

You get hammered when servicing it

Faults:

Merc Vito 1998 2.0Ltr petrol engine 5 speed manual.

Apart from the usual problems this model has, most of them already listed on this website already.

My gear box has problems, I haven't been able to get fourth gear for the last 12 months, and in this last week I can't get third gear either.

Mechanics here don't know or just over quote to repair.

Any suggestions, or it may be a second hand gear box at a reasonable price.

General Comments:

The van drives and handles well, I enjoy driving it.

The floor pan is low; easy to load my motorcycle, and it has the convenience of the two sliding doors I personally need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2009

1999 Mercedes-Benz Vito 108 CDI 2.2L Common Rail turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L Common Rail turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

Not quite up to the standard one would expect from Mercedes

Faults:

Glow plugs had to be replaced about two years after purchase.

Dashboard failed at about 40,000km, but about six month after three year warranty expired. Replacement cost was about $1,500. Mercedes agreed to cover half of it.

Radiator had to be replaced at 75,000 km in 2008.

Car is showing minor rust around door welds and rear hatch hinges.

General Comments:

This is a good looking car with a spacious interior feel, and that's why I love it.

It is a bit underpowered, especially in the city, but I love driving it in the country.

Overall, although I have had a few problems with it, it has been very cheap to run, with a service interval of around 22,500 km and a fuel consumption in the city of around 8L/100km.

Would I buy it again? Probably not this model, but I would seriously investigate the latest version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th August, 2008

2002 Mercedes-Benz Vito CDI 112 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission CDI 112 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance8564 kilometres

Summary:

Perfect in every way

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

The nicest van to drive in the whole world, it's such a pleasure. Just like driving a car, handles excellently and looks awesome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

27th Feb 2007, 23:12

Never driven one, but the review do not look real. Maybe if you compare it to a donkey all should be 10/10.

29th Jun 2007, 20:09

I bought a 112 brand new in 2003. Loved the look, got sold on performance, reliability and safety.

Do about 50000 Km a year

Grinding noise from front brakes (been told is common, nothing to worry about) I had to change discs and pads two months later!!

Complained about jerking at low speed change (between 2-3) and been told that's my driving style, six months later the gear box failed $AU 7000 quoted by Mercedes, had eventually fixed by a transmission specialist for 3800 plus I had a rental vehicle costs of 700

Turbo unit failed, turbo hose, transducer (whatever that is) central looking playing up and numerous other bits that really put me off this brand.

Really disappointed with Mercedes would be looking at VW probably.

3rd May 2013, 16:21

I have a 2002 112 CDI, and it is fab. Must have been built on a Monday. I have read that a lot are rubbish, but ours has done 200,000 miles and I am just about to get some rust bubbling treated.

It's fast and drives like a car. I feel sorry for the ones that fall to pieces, but mine is a gem.

1999 Mercedes-Benz Vito C108D 2.2 CDI turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 CDI turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64 kilometres
Most recent distance22000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

A fantastic vehicle. I love it

Faults:

Mostly dealer problems. None with the vehicle.

General Comments:

This has been one of the best vehicles I have ever had, it is reliable and economical.

It has sports suspension put on it which lowered it all round by some 5cm. It handles like a Mini Cooper S.

I would buy another one of these with no hesitation. 730k range on one tank of fuel, comfortable, smooth and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews