1995 Mitsubishi Diamante 30R 3.0


Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

A lot of people say these car are not properly built, lacking quality.

But with my own time in keeping this car, and of many friends who keep them; they all say the same as me; service, service, service, and the problems never happen.

General Comments:

To start off, mine is the 6g72 DOHC 24v 3.0 V6 169.4kw motor. Very great motor in how it works. Gives plenty of power at low RPMS of 1,500-2,000rpm, and even up to 7,000rpm.

The 5 speed auto is class leading. Never gets lost for gears. Also away of what is going on. Very good range of gear selection as well.

The best part is at 100km/hr it sits at 2,000rpm.

As for the comfort of the car; it is class leading. The competition; Honda, Ford, Holden, Toyota, and many many more, are years behind in styling, comfort and power.

For servicing the car, it is just the price I would expect from a large engine front wheel drive.

To run the car, it is so cheap. Driving very carefully on the highway, you get down to 7.5lt-100kms. But more reasonable is 9lt - 100kms.

I am always getting up to 750-800kms out of a tank driving around town. And that is from a 70lt tank.

The car is way better on fuel than my old 1.8 Galant or newer Toyota Camry 2.2. Better than the silly Civic I use to own.

Best car I have ever owned, and will always buy more of this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2010

1995 Mitsubishi Diamante 30m 3.0 petrol


No faults at all, just brake pads and normal servicing.

General Comments:

These 30ms are very underrated, the performance is amazing for a big heavy car.

Overall, I'm glad I swapped it for my 1998 Civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2009

1995 Mitsubishi Diamante 30M 3.0L Mivec


Unexpectedly seriously powerful


Only thing so far was replacing brake pads.

General Comments:

199KW of serious power.

I was very surprised at how quick this car is for its size. I first realised it when I pulled up to the lights next to a XR6 Falcon, reared and ready to kick me. Unfortunately for them, they were somewhat out of their league.

5 speed tiptronic transmission, giving that extra option.

Front panel interior way ahead of its time.

Seat covering is pretty ugly, but it grows on you.

Reasonably economical for a car this powerful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2008

1995 Mitsubishi Diamante 30M 3.0L V6 Mivec


Built for touring


Failure of ABS partitioning valve and front left ball joint needed replacing at its last annual safety inspection. Condensation in the front headlamp housing.

General Comments:

This is a lovely car to drive on the open road: effortless acceleration, comfortable seating, volumes of space and generally well designed instrument panel. The back-lit dashboard made the readings easy to read and looked quite good. Interior fabrics seemed to be hard wearing – they looked like new when I purchased the car (still do). There are plenty of storage compartments available around the inside of the car.

The car can be quite thirsty for petrol around town (400 km/50 l) but reasonable on the open road. It is very much built like a tank; its handling is not so great due to its size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2006

1995 Mitsubishi Diamante SE 25V 4wd 2.5ltr V6


Looks great, but has its faults


At every warranty of fitness a different front suspension part has had to be replaced. Every warranty has cost $300-$800 in suspension repairs.

Front suspension bushes replaced

Front ball joints replaced.

Front sway bar bushes replaced.

Cam belts are very expensive $850 fitted.

The hydraulic tappets have been faulty since 100,000 Klm's.

It uses large amounts of oil! 1ltr per 1000 Klm's (the valve guide seals are shot)

General Comments:

The car has fantastic traction even on wet grass. After owning other large front wheel drive cars, The road holding and traction of the 4WD is fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

1995 Mitsubishi Diamante 30R 3.0 V6


A high luxury, great performance bargain


Power steering pipes developed leaks.

General Comments:

The 5 spd tip-tronic gearbox makes this a real drivers car on the open road while the automatic functionality provides ease of driving around town.

The interior is comfortable with good ergonomic design.

The climate control can be a little difficult to control however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2002

1995 Mitsubishi Diamante 25v SE 2.5


A lot of car for your money (great)


Nothing at all.

General Comments:

My previous model was a 1991 30R SE model which was fully loaded with all the bells and whistles and never gave me any problems, and the newer model seems to be just as reliable and just as quick as the 3L model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2001

11th Sep 2001, 01:34

At around 90,000 miles, the "Valve Stem Seals" on all Mitsbishi Diamantes go out. It's a good $1,000 repair job, trust me, I just had one done!

18th Feb 2009, 05:48

This is a GREAT car, huge value for money, I just bought one and love it, won't swap it for the newer models, my 1995 SE is mean machine. :)