1985 Mitsubishi Pajero NB Superwagon 2.6 petrol

Summary:

Solid and reliable 4x4 if you maintain them well

Faults:

Age has weathered the rubber. I saved the body - rear sills, windscreen surround, footwells from rust through unblocked drainage channels and windscreen re-seal.

Mechanically looked after, so no real major problems... the driver's seat was a bit worn, steering box needs to be fixed or replaced.

Oh, the gearbox jumps out of 5th over 85kph.

General Comments:

Solidly built car, and if you stay on top of degrading bodywork, it helps.

Has taken me loads of places, both smooth and rough.

Cruises well up to 100, but uses a bit of juice at that speed. Has been a sturdy and very reliable vehicle.

Also most parts on this car are mechanical and solid. Switches and everything can be opened and repaired if need be, brake light switch for example... A real solid, well-thought out car, on par with the Patrol and Land Cruiser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2013

1985 Mitsubishi Pajero NB 2.6 petrol

Summary:

A pile of junk

Faults:

The back wheel fell off while driving due to faulty wheel bearings.

The Gearbox is incredibly noisy and on it's way out.

The Automatic front locking hubs lock up whenever they like, causing the front diff to spin consistently.

The front differential siezed also while driving, causing the front wheels to lock up due to the auto hub locking problem.

General Comments:

Although the list of rather unusual problems I've had, this car is excellent off road. A limited rear differential and chuncky off road tyres make it incredibly capable in mud and on steep slopes.

I don't know weather it's build quality or lack of care taken by the previous owner, but this car has given me nothing, but grief. I had it for only three weeks, and when I was driving down a rather steep slope the rear wheel and half-shaft basically fell out off the axle leaving me with 3 wheels and hardly any brakes. It goes without saying this was quite an eye-opening experience. $400 later that problem was fixed.

The gearbox developed a shocking whining noise in all gears. It has become worse, and I believe it is draining power from the already powerless engine.

It has come to my attention that the automatic locking hubs sometimes engage whenever they like, not just when the vehicle is put into 4x4. The front differential siezed for whatever reason while driving, causing the front wheels to lock up (i.e. stop rotating) while I was flying along at 110 km/h which made for yet another interesting experience.

Apart from those, it is a nice car to drive around in. Although, it is very gutless and has a lot of trouble making it up hills especially when towing a trailer.

The power steering is very light, the air conditioning works really well, but the stock radio is total rubbish.

It has a good riding position, comfy seats and the back seats fold down into a double bed.

I think Mitsubishi focussed more on a comfy, cruisy ride than a long lasting and robust 4x4 when they brought out this vehicle. The old Sigma engine doesn't stand up to much in a massive offroader such as this.

All up a total waste of $7000 in my opinion, but considering the age it can't be blamed totally on Mistubishi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2006

9th Jun 2006, 11:21

I don't think you can blame anything on the manufacturer after 20 years, and was the $7000 purchase price a typo?

12th Jul 2006, 06:52

I own a Pajero of the same year and model as this, and I have nothing but good things to say about it.

I purchased it for $4500. The body was in top condition, although the engine smoked a little while idling. The car has taken a big thrashing off me and I have put it through its tests to the limit. Although powerless, I have put it under some harsh conditions, although I have managed to buckle 2 of the wide 4x4 rims :-)

17th Oct 2007, 11:08

My Pajero is exactly the same as the person who posted on the 12 of july 2006, mine cost me $4500AU engine smoked a bit during idle, body in good nick (looking a bit worse for wear now because of some of the narrow tracks I have encountered) and taken a big thrashing also (except I bucked all 4 big rims). All in all, a really good vehicle.

4th Nov 2007, 03:35

Hello all. I have just purchased a Pajero off eBay for 1125 dollars. These things, apart from general wear and tear and replacing 'consumable' items, are the best.

If you have problems with them, it could be down to lack of maintenance.

With my car, it will be great to go off road in. If I have a ding in a panel, it's not going to hurt as much as scratching a 50,000 dollar car.

Basically look after them and keep in tune - or they will bite in the ass.

20th Jan 2008, 18:57

Hello all, I purchased an 86 Pajero, excellent car although after 3 weeks or so its in for a service now, again it smokes a lot when in traffic, which really scared me when I was in the city. really good off the road though, we got it for $2700 aud, which in my opinion is a serious bargin!!

14th Jun 2011, 07:16

Bought my 85 shorty 4 years ago.

It blew no smoke used no oil, took my wife and I all through the Red Centre Palm Valley, Coober Peedy, William CK, Lake Eyre and back through the Flinders ranges. It did not miss a beat.

A great little vehicle. The purchase price was $2000, in mint condition.

1985 Mitsubishi Pajero SWB 2.5 turbo diesel

Summary:

Great first car and very reliable

Faults:

My injectors are starting to play up so there is a bit of smoke being blown.

General Comments:

This is my first car which belonged to my grandparents before me and for a first car it is a dream.

It is something I can see myself still enjoying 5 years down the track.

For a 4x4 diesel it has quite good performance and torque.

One negative is the "bar stool" driving position of the front seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2005

1985 Mitsubishi Pajero NA - Short Wheel Base 2.6 petrol

Summary:

The best off-road vehicle I have ever driven, great value for money.

Faults:

The gearbox had to be rebuilt, due to the bearings giving away.

Rear main (engine seal) leaked oil.

Lower ball joints worn, causing the car to squeak.

General Comments:

The driver vision to very good.

The cab space is very roomy, even for a short wheel base vehicle.

Excellent off-road performance, with good power to weight ratio.

Driving on-road is just as enjoyable as driving off-road.

The fuel consumption to impressive.

Little work is required to give the vehicle greater performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2002

7th Oct 2004, 17:26

Hi, I just bought an NA swb and there is a noise that appears to be coming from the gearbox, it doesn't happen when the clutch is disengaged (foot on) and when driving in 4th. I drained the oil and found tiny shavings of metal. I am trying to determine what is wrong with it and was wondering if you had similar signs with bearing failure.