Mitsubishi Scorpion Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 4

1984 Mitsubishi Scorpion GL 2.6L (2555cc)

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.6L (2555cc) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

A powerful 4 cylinder - not to be underestimated

Faults:

With the age of the car, it's not so much "what's gone wrong", but what has needed to be replaced as a safety necessity - in this case, just about everything in the time that I've owned it, excluding the A/C compressor and the windows.

Typically, the timing chain slackened off, the diff-centre needed to be rebuilt and with the performance options that I made for the vehicle, the starter motor needed to be replaced a few times. With the compression ratio being higher than standard, I switched to a Bosch reduction-drive starter, the one used out of the TN and TP Magna.

General Comments:

Without modifications, this car was powerful and very comfortable to drive, and not bad for blowing off other 4 cylinder vehicles of smaller stature (with the occasional straight-6 falling victim to its power).

With modifications (and this is a very modifiable car, with some parts harder to find than others), Twin Weber carburettors, Genie Extractors, sports exhaust, lowered 1.25" all round (and those are just for starters), it handles better than on rails and can take sweeping bends at well over 100 km/h without even thinking of stepping the rear wheels out. It brakes like a dream, the take-off is superb (especially with a modified cam) and it doesn't spin the wheels unless you want it to.

To date, this car has dragged off 10 consecutive VL-Commodores (some stock, most modified - automatics are a little harder to beat and throw in a greater challenge). This car hasn't done any quarter-mile times as yet, but it has gone from 0-100 km/h in 7.5 seconds in 2nd gear @ 5900 RPM.

All in all, this is a very reliable car, which cost a bit to modify (about $15,000), but once the goals were achieved, the results have more than paid off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2002

3rd Nov 2002, 18:28

0-120 km/h in 8.0 seconds in 2nd gear @ 5900 RPM.

No modifications to my scorpion btw ;)

9th Apr 2003, 21:33

My 2.6 sigma astron goes 0-100km/h in 4 seconds flat, 3 speed auto with a 2.0 inch exhaust.

But my scorpion does it in under 4.0 seconds easily without even an exhaust kit. The 2.6 astron motor is such a revvy motor I cannot believe it. The technology is amazing, sigmas are the best sports cars to ever come out of Japan. A sigma would easily beat an R33/4 GTR Skyline or VL Turbo.

I haven't ran my sigmas down the 1/4 yet, but I'd guess they'd make low 11 second passes easily. Wow. Sigma power.

4th Sep 2003, 07:39

11seconds you are dreaming!!!

All I have is cam, extractors, modified carby and re-graphed dizzy and I pull 16.8sec at 138mph on bold street tires.

1980 Mitsubishi Scorpion GJ 2.6 petrol

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

New starter motor.

Ring kit and bottom ends.

Half of the dash was missing.

General Comments:

Great first car, not much work to be done to beat Commodores or Fords.

Needs more room in the back seat, but nice in the front.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

1983 Mitsubishi Scorpion GJ 2.6 litre 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6 litre 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance156500 kilometres

Summary:

A cheap, under-estimated, bargain car

Faults:

Only thing that has gone wrong with the car was a blown motor. I blew the big-end bearing required a complete rebuild. That was my fault, in no way the cars.

The car is now in perfect condition and has had a lot of money spent on it recently. $2500 for motor rebuild, $500 of new tyres last week, $200 on brake pads, $500 of tuning.

Modifications start tommorow with the car being lowered and an exhaust fitted. Only problem with the car is it's grey and needs a new paint job.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable, quick for what it is. I've managed to drag off some VL Commodores, one Civic, a Lancer VR-X, 12A RX7 and more. All drivers of other cars were stunned.

It handles well, has brilliant brakes, is very comfortable, good looking, and a quick car. Pity it doesn't like to rev... With my new motor I have run a 17.5 second quarter mile time at 124 km/h. The engine was only 1500 km's old at the time and very tight. With more km's, a better launch and an exhaust I might be able to pull of a 17.0 or so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

25th May 2001, 20:55

Have you got your exhaust yet? If so, what times are you doing now? What mods do you have planned for the future?

4th Jun 2001, 03:43

Yer I've got a 2.25 inch exhaust with one muffler and a 4 inch chrome dump style tip. Its LOUD - I'd guess between 115 and 120 dB (legal limit is 90...). I also have 4-2-1 extractors but due to a slipping clutch I haven't had a chance to run the car yet. With a good launch a 16.99 might be possible I think.

The paint on mine is dodgy too, as are all the grey ones I've seen. I can get spin into second sometimes with the slipping clutch. With my old motor, smaller tyres and when the clutch didn't slip I could lay some big lines when shifting into second! FUN!

What kind of working are you planning on doing? I'm planning to save $15,000 and make my car the maddest Scorpion in Australia one day.

8th Jul 2001, 07:15

Supp all, I've had my scorpion for about a year and a half now. I have done some work to it, like just 4-2-1 extractors, a 2" exhaust and a Magnaflow resinator with a 4" dumper. I have also got a 32-36 Downdraught Webber off a 2.0 Ltr escort, and a mild cam, and she Flys. I Have Plans for it, to put a VR4 Turbo Motor in it, which will set me back about 8,500 all installed, transmission, motor, computer. If Anyone wants to talk to me about Scorpions, I got ICQ and my number is 74380840 or my email is.

Scorpz@hotmail.com.

Hope to Hear from Yall!!!

20th Sep 2001, 05:07

I have a 84 Scorpion auto. So far mods are 2 inch 4-2-1 extractors - gained 2kw, and 17 inch wheels and lowered springs. I have found that with my old tires that I could lay down some good black ones and that sideways action was never far away in the wet. Future mods are a five speed and a 30l V6 with 183kw stock.

21st Sep 2001, 02:59

I have an 82 GK Scorpion (auto) and have been told that the blocks are different on the autos than the manuals. Is there any truth in this? Also, anyone that can tell me how to drop in something bigger than a 2.6, it would be great to know how. Just for the record - after having my Scorp attacked by a Pajero, I can tell you they are as tough as old Volvos!!!

Anyone that can give me any info can email me at GOLTZCS@HOTMAIL.COM

10th Apr 2006, 23:45

The guy said a LANCER VRX not a Magna... whose head needs a pulling out?

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews