Nissan NX2000 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

1991 Nissan NX2000 NXR SR20 2.0 Litre

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission SR20 2.0 Litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired164000 kilometres
Most recent distance165500 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Triton

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

I purchased the car a little over a week ago from a second hand car dealership in Sydney, NSW, so the car wasn't in perfect working order. I have replaced the rocker cover gasket and a few wheel nuts, but other wise mechanically the car is excellent. the parcel shelf lining is worn a little bit and the roof lining has started to come away on the passenger side targa top.

General Comments:

The car has been professionally lowered, so the handling is great, fuel consumption is about what I expected.

The acceleration of the car is excellent, all though it can be a bit sluggish if it is cold. The seats are comfortable, but with the aftermarket suspension I have, it can get a little bumpy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2007

1994 Nissan NX2000 NX-R 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Capable of surprising a fair few bigger cars

Faults:

Problems with the rear window wiper not working just after I bought it, but very cheap to fix.

General Comments:

Fantastic little car with great pick up.

Capable of surprising a fair few bigger cars when getting away at lights - most people thinks it's only the 1.6L version.

Ride quality is a little poor, but I have a feeling that has more to do with the fact it's now 12 years old, rather than any inherant fault on the part of Nissan. I wouldn't recommend using this car for a long trip (especially if you're stuck in the back seat)

Targa top makes summer that much cooler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2005

2nd Jan 2009, 00:55

I'm thinking of buying an NX R, but I don't want a car that's going too many problems like my first car Nissan Pulsar SSS N14; the other owner fully damaged the car putting after market computer EMS and wiring in the CD player was so crap and poor. Do you have many problems with your car, and what should I look for when looking for an NX R?

1993 Nissan NX2000 SR20 petrol Non-turbo

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission SR20 petrol Non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 kilometres
Most recent distance154000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Roaring SR20 Engine, awesome car

Faults:

When I got the car inspected prior to purchase, the mechanic outlined a few things, these included:

1) Front brake disks had developed grooves

2) Rear dust boots had started to crack

3) All the belts in the engine needed replacement, which is expected at 153,000 km

4) The air-conditioning fan switch only operated on Level 4, and not on Levels 1,2,3. Problem being the control resistor, which costs about $70.

General Comments:

After owning a Mitsubishi Lancer 98 Model, which was also an immaculate car in terms of maintenance and looks, this car still managed to satisfy my "Rev-thirsty" soul.

The SR20-DE engines are quite powerful, even with the air-conditioning on. The car can easily beat most other non-turbo sports cars at a drag. The engine does not seem to complain about revving up to even 5,500 rpm. With a larger exhaust, noise becomes very solid yet toned.

The interior is in surprisingly good condition after 12 years of usage.

Fuel economy seems OK, I've done about 265 kilometres on 3/5 of a tank which would mean about 10-11 kilometres to a liter, which is not bad at all.

Overall, I think it's a very good buy, I would definitely recommend this car to anyone seeking an economical sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2005

1993 Nissan NX2000 nxr 2.0L SR20

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L SR20 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33

Summary:

Great Zippy sports/targa top car for the price

Faults:

Nothing too much, Since the car is lowered the electric windows rattle when down.

Air conditioning needs to be re-gassed.

Idle seems to drop every now and then.

General Comments:

I'm very impressed with the car. The SR20 motor holds up well and really picks up and goes around 4,000rpm.

Has a nice sound when the revs increase and the car jumps to 100km/h.

Brand new the nx2000 (NXR in Australia) were around the $38,000. So the build quality is pretty sturdy.

After 10yrs + you do have to expect a few rattles here and there.

The targa top is great for summer. Neat little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2004

1992 Nissan NX2000 2.0 twin cam

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 twin cam Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Racer

Summary:

Very quick acceleration and reliability combination

Faults:

The clutch got worn from too much hard driving, but fair enough, it took a year to happen.

General Comments:

Ultra reliable, strangely keeps going strong although I mistreat her.

Good interior, targo-top roof, comfortable seats.

Very quick acceleration, can beat anything over 75 meters, but hasn't got the power out of 3rd gear.

Love to see this car with a turbo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2001

3rd Jan 2004, 22:22

This car has a big brother. the same sr20 with a turbo, v rated tires and moves.

26th May 2004, 02:56

My wife's nx2000 beats most everything too!

Graeme.

8th Aug 2006, 19:02

Does anyone know the safety information for the NX2000? We love it, but feel skittish about a side impact with huge Hummers and SUV's on the freeway.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 5 reviews