2001 Peugeot 206 XS 1.6 petrol


The stylish exterior hides a mechanical 'can of worms'


Left rear suspension replaced (great expense).

Exhaust system replaced (great expense).

Worn power steering belt replaced (expensive).

Right front steering rack end replaced (expensive).

Intermittent starting problems ($70 NZ just to plug into a diagnostic computer).

Left rear lens leaks and fills with water every time it rains - metal contacts rusted and rear lights, indicators only work intermittently. Always having to remove the light to drain it. No indication of where the water is entering.

Erratic auto gearbox.

Drinks petrol.

General Comments:

Pretty looking car, but starting to become unreliable.

Suspension and steering components wear quickly even after light use.

Nice and smooth when it's running (which is not often), but too scared to drive too far in case it decides not to start (again).

Unrefined, clunky auto transmission.

All the problems listed occurred after 18 months of ownership and careful, light use.

I'm not able to recommend this vehicle unless you don't mind always having to repair or replace something (usually at considerable expense).

Mechanics, auto electricians and other motor professionals groan when you mention you have a Peugeot.

Parts are hideously expensive 'just because it's a Peugeot'.

Yes, the Pug 206 is an attractive looking car, but underneath that stylish body lurks many problems. Best avoided - save yourself the heartache and expense, and go for a Japanese car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th October, 2013

18th Oct 2013, 19:31

Clearly you were unaware that Peugeot stands for Poorly Engineered Useless Gallic Excuse Of Transport.

22nd May 2014, 06:39

It may stand for it today, but Peugeot used to make good, tough, reliable, bullet proof vehicles.

15th Jun 2014, 02:47

Rule number 1: don't buy a French automatic. Oops...

2001 Peugeot 206 1.6


Nice, but too expensive to run


Reliable car, but every time you go to a scheduled service, I had to leave an arm and a leg there. Last time I was hit with a 3,000 dollar bill, as the head gasket had it. Too much really for what the car is.

General Comments:

No more Peugeots for me, dealers in NZ are dodgy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2009

2001 Peugeot 206 LX 1.4


Nice car once the faults were rectified


Knock sound from engine bay from new until engine mounts replaced at about 20,000km.

Wheel alignment slightly out - a pain.

General Comments:

Good handling on difficult roads.

Fantastic looks and design effort.

Performance reasonable - could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

26th Dec 2005, 18:12

I have seen many cars with the tops of the doors being bent back, and they are not just 206's! Cars are made a lot cheaper these days, as we all want cheaper cars, so something has to give!

2001 Peugeot 206 XR 1.6 petrol


Great performance at a good price


I have not encountered anything that could be seen as a fault in the car.

General Comments:

The 1.6 litre engine with the manual has plenty of performance. The Peugeot dealer is left scratching his head to the fact that my car has the better performance over his 206 CC.

Handling is great, especially on the long windy roads and hills.

Road noise can be a bit excessive at times, even with standard 14 inch tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

3rd Apr 2003, 23:07

They are great. I recently drove a 206 1.4 auto up through the Black Spur in Vic, and up some pretty steep mountains. It had excelent handling and steering feel. The engine just wanted to keep giving all it had (about 50 kw I believe), and the auto is one of the smoothest (albiet has slow changes).

Great little car.