Proton Gen-2 Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

2007 Proton Gen-2 H

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance11000 kilometres
Previous carProton Gen-2

Summary:

It's not the car that is the problem, it's the chief designer

Faults:

Staff member on the freeway, took the exit ramp and engine stopped. Towed car to dealership, they advised engine was seized, they tried to blame the driver.

Mechanics found faulty thermo fan, which caused damage to the radiator, and motor. They fixed and replaced under warranty the thermo fan and the radiator, but did not fix the motor, so now I am stuck with a $30000.00au Proton under finance and I can't drive it. I have 3 other Proton Gen IIs.

The new fan and radiator are not the same ones that were in it. :(

General Comments:

The car is comfortable.

The car looks good.

The car is economical.

My other 3 Protons had many problems, not really sure how they passed to be allowed into Australia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2009

3rd Nov 2009, 21:00

A$30K for a broken Proton with zero resale value? Major ouch! Talk to ACA or Today Tonight, try publicly embarrassing them into a replacement engine.

18th May 2011, 15:23

Don't your staff members ever look at the temperature gauge? The fan thermostat is irrelevant unless there's a traffic jam.

2006 Proton Gen-2 H-Line 1.6

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance1800 kilometres
Previous carFord Cortina

Summary:

A very lovely car, but if I buy from Proton again I might go for the Savvy

Faults:

The car has been quite good, however some minor small points:

Left side taillight had a small crack from the inside, will be replaced on warranty.

Front left window Bailey channel wasn't put on right, was fixed on warranty.

When I go up or reverse down steep hills/ramps (like my carport) I hear a squeaking or scraping sound, though nothing is actually touching the ground. Service guys found no problem with the suspension so I don't know what it is.

Fuel light comes on when I have done about 410 kilometers and gauge reads dead empty at about 440 kilometers, however if I did run it dry I'd get about 550 kilometers to the tank, so gauge is a little inaccurate. I will enquire about this.

I think everyone has the central locking remote issues. Half the time when I press it, it beeps twice and I have to lock it using the key. My Mannix car alarm system I have on my Cortina can work 500 meters away line of sight.

General Comments:

I have had the car for almost 3 months and I am very happy with it. My particular Gen 2 is the high line model with leather trim and 17 inch mag wheels and is Midnight Blue in colour. Some points I really like:

The two toned black/beige interior, much nicer touch then the original one toned beige colour.

Boot space is very good and nice and deep.

Compared with my Ford Cortina this Gen 2 really soaks up the bumps and steers so smoothly.

I am getting about 11 kilometers per litre city driving which I think is reasonably good.

Seats are comfortable and I find sitting in the rear seat no problems for head room and I am 5'10. Some points I think could be improved:

Door pockets could be just that little bit longer in length, so my map booklet could sit more comfortably.

They could have made door pockets on the rear doors as there is plenty of room to add them there.

I don't mind about not having a glove box, but the shelf they give you could be a little bit deeper. I can't stick a folded A4 piece of paper without it sticking out from the shelf.

You can't really place anything on top of the dash as it all slopes down.

When you turn the lights on, everything glows red (instrument clusters, environmental controls, audio system and clock). Suggest they break it up and have say the environmental controls blue, the clock yellow or something to break it up and not be so bland.

I don't like how the boot has to 'slam' shut to lock. For safety reasons I think the remote boot release feature should come as standard in case you got your fingers caught.

Overall I am very happy to have bought it, performance wise its very good, might get it lowered so cornering will be better. I love the look and style of the car, and the instrument cluster layout and the fonts I find on Protons much more interesting then the standard Ford and Holden designs, which most of them look pretty boring. Highway driving very nice, and the car seems to kick in to a more responsive mode after fifteen to twenty minutes on the highway.

I would give this car one and a half thumbs up for the Gen 2.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2006

28th Aug 2006, 13:13

Of course, anything compared to a ford cortina would be centuries ahead?

13th Oct 2006, 23:04

Just when Proton emerges from 'badge engineering' as Mahathir and Mahaleel promised it would, Malaysians fail to witness the gems in the Neo, Gen-2 and Savvy evolving before them. Pause a second look folks. Originality, which always held the higher ground, appears to be the mantra, henceforth. Tommy Peters, Kuala Lumpur.

2004 Proton Gen-2 1.6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance100 kilometres

Summary:

Brilliant. I'd buy another Proton

Faults:

So far, this car has been brilliant.

I can't say that anything mechanical has gone wrong.

It gives the appearance and feel of a reliable, solid vehicle.

General Comments:

Although I have only had the car a short while, it would seem to be the most comfortable car that I have come across recently.

The seats, especially the front passenger side, are extremely comfortable, with ample leg room - even for the tallest of passengers. The absence of a glove-box in the front passenger side is added room, without losing any significant storage space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

19th Nov 2004, 02:55

Still early to conclude;a lot of things to share especially what happen in Malaysia. Proton must have good quality control for national and international market.

29th Jan 2005, 03:05

Very early to say gen 2. the sales have staggered in november to december.

14th Mar 2005, 17:41

Don't jump into conclusion too fast. Test the Gen2 for a year until you reach 50k km (Warranty expired). Then come back with comments. Anything new, most of the time is good.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 3 reviews