2000 Proton Satria GLi 1.3 GLi petrol


Reliable little Gem


Nothing went wrong except a flat battery.

Changed before they went:

CV joints $300 at 90000kms.

Changed timing belt at 95000kms.

Clutch needs changing from today at 106000kms, July 2011, $600.

General Comments:

Serviced every 5000km and according to book on my own, sourcing parts from ebay and online.

Brakes, belts etc all very cheap.

Not the most comfortable car, but the best and most reliable car ever, and my missus has also owned a 2007 Satria Neo with no problems since 2007.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2011

1998 Proton Satria Gli 1.5L


Good car that lacked in quality


New radiator at 130,000kms.

Rust wherever glue had been used ie all through the roof where the braces attacked.

Some weird thing where the accelerator wouldn't work (fuel inlet related).

Batteries would last about a year.

General Comments:

This was my first car, and despite its continual need for repairs, I loved it.

The back seat is quite small for a tall person.

Had a build up of wax in the injectors due to supermarket fuel. I really suggest using Vortex98 with the added efficiency; it worked out cheaper for me.

I wouldn't buy another because this one caught fire at a petrol station while I was inside it. This was caused by leaking O rings.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2009

1997 Proton Satria GLi 1.5 SOHC


Small, fast and cheap to run!


I got the car with a cracked bumper (it's got a body kit), brown coolant (looked as though it had been through some red dirt) and a scratched dash insert and they were all easily fixed.

General Comments:

This car handles awesomely, has firm suspension which means there is little body roll around corners (took a 90* corner the other week at 60km/h with no complaints from the engine or tyres).

The engine on mine is fairly gutsy for a 1.5, but this could be due to the K&N Air Filter, extractor and larger exhaust. Also, it runs nicely, uses no oil or coolant, but doesn't really like high revs.

On the inside there is a real drop in quality, several rattles and squeaks that will drive some people nuts, but they don't really bother me. The air conditioner is nice and cold even during 35*C days. The visibility is great with nice big windows all round.

So to finish up, the car handles and look good, good on fuel and maintenance, but a cheap interior does ruin a potentially great little package.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2008

1997 Proton Satria GLi 1.5 SOHC


Mitsubishi design... Proton quality and improvement


The radiator cracked at about 100,000 which is normal wear & tear... that's it! The car has been of fantastic quality.

Small engine... but that's why the 1.8 DOHC exists.

Needed a bit of work (lowering + wider tires) to get the car's handling to emerge powerfully.

General Comments:

Quick, fast, cheap!

Everything you would expect from a FF with wear and tear.

Good cornering ability.

Good fuel economy.

Engine sounds ruff, but has powerful acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

2002 Proton Satria GTi 1.8L petrol


Great fun, but unreliable!


From new, the stabilizer bar came loose and took 3 weeks to repair.

At 16000 kilometers, a short developed in an electrical circuit (did not find out where) and was off the road for 2 weeks.

At 62000 kilometers, spark plug leads shorted and blew ignition coil. New leads took 3 1/2 weeks to come from Proton.

Developed many rattles in trim constantly requiring rectification.

Steering wheel vibrates during idle.

Front and rear decals (badges) peeled off.

Many other parts including rear view mirror, dimmer switch, plastic stereo surround, etc... have been replaced.

All has been repaired under warranty thankfully, but I would not say enthusiastically.

General Comments:

I have thoroughly enjoyed driving the car, on long and short drives. Around the city, it is able to set the pace, in the country and on winding roads the car is completely at home. Rough roads can be a little choppy though.

The car is quick and handles like a go-kart. This is by far its best feature and I couldn't rave about this aspect enough. Very few roads I have found can really do it justice.

The Mitsubishi engine is reliable and strong, but the overall build quality does let the car down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

26th May 2005, 03:54

The car is under powered and toooooooo heavy to be classed as a Hot Hatch.

Its quite slow really.

26th May 2005, 03:56

Good handling, but "oh so slow".

1st Jun 2005, 05:22

Everyone says its really slow, but I don't understand? I have a year 2002 model and it is quick especially when launched at 5k rpm. Try driving it with full throttle shifts (accelerate hard then change gear without taking your foot off the accelerator). Warp speed!

29th Oct 2005, 07:03

Yes it is seriously a very slow car, but makes up for it in handling.

11.1 seconds to 100km/h is quite bad, my 1.5l echo can do it in 9 seconds.

20th May 2006, 18:32

Have a year 2001 model. Handles great around corners. Initially was impressed with the power (used to own a ford laser) but later found it a little low in the power stakes. Put a power chip in for $1000 bucks and use 98 octane found a nice power boost to keep me satisfied for a little longer. Until I get used to the power once again...

Tom Z

26th Oct 2006, 01:15

0-100km/h in 11.1 seconds??? are you sure or are you just doing a "GTI-Bashing"??? The GTI has 150 ponies under its hood stock standard with no mods... ermmm!!! With that kind of ponies & power-to-weight ratio, it should be under 8 seconds, unless the Law of Physics has changed...

22nd Nov 2006, 07:14

Yer the 0-60 time is actually 7.8seconds, where the hell did you get 11 from lol.

29th May 2008, 05:19

I have a Proton Satria GTi non turbo. How many seconds do they do the 1/4 mile in?

2002 Proton Satria GTi 1.8


Overpriced and overrated non performance car


The delivery of the car from the Proton dealer was terrible.

It took 4/5 weeks to get the car after many promises the car would arrive "tomorrow."

After 6,000 kilometers a spark plug blew out of the engine into the bonnet causing the head gasket to blow.

The engine had to be rebuilt.

The engine is noisy and on the initial delivery the CV joints had to be replaced.

Terrible cold starts - the car will not accelerate for at least 5 minutes.

General Comments:

The handling of this car is good.

The Recaro seats are great.

The interior is substandard and looks very poor for what the car costs.

The GTi has been marketed as a "performance car" but it certainly is not.

If you were going to purchase a Proton the XLS represents better value for money than the GTi.

The GTi is an overpriced, under performed vehicle not worth the amount they are sold for.

Proton's lack of service is as overrated as the GTi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2003

11th Jul 2004, 11:39

This particualr car was either made last thing on a friday afternoon or owned and driven by a complete cretin!.You Decide!

27th May 2007, 08:24

Pretty sure you shouldn't be expecting that much from acceleration on a cold start. And why would you want to, you can do serious damage to the engine, perhaps why the engine had to be rebuilt, unless it was an absolute lemon.