Renault Clio Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 3

2001 Renault Clio Sport 172 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance8537 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Best performance for money!!

Faults:

A "knock" noise has appeared in the right rear suspension. This noise occurs when releasing the clutch after changing gear.

Except for this noise, it's a perfect car!!

General Comments:

A very reliable car with exceptional performance.

Modern interior styling.

Interior could be improved by better build quality. eg nicer fitting components.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

30th May 2001, 13:47

Hi.

I just got a 172, the rear wheel liner knocks under certain conditions?

15th Dec 2001, 12:23

Hi, I have a 172 and have the same problem, especially under wheel spin - easily attained accidently in the wet. It sounds like the exhaust is banging onto a bracket or possibly the fuel tank? I had the same problem with my scirocco.

2000 Renault Clio RS Sport 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance800 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Faults:

Left rear brake disc caliper bolt fell out and the brake hose sheared off - lost the brakes completely!

General Comments:

Great car, but someone screwed up at the factory which could have cost me my life. Guess it could happen anywhere?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2001

12th Feb 2001, 05:08

Never heard of an RS Clio Sport, is this the 172 Sport from Europe. If it is I would love to know how you got your hands one.

Thanks,

Paul, Sydney, Australia

30th Mar 2001, 13:13

The "RS" he mentions refers to RenaultSport I think... Bit of a mouthful - RenaultSport Clio Sport 172. Doesn't exactly roll off the tongue that easily. Anyway, great car, I'm buying the Exclusive version this week (only 172 made)...Which means I'll be the owner of a "RenaultSport Clio Sport 172 Exclusive". Phew. That's even harder to say in one breath - but who cares?!

Al.

16th May 2001, 22:45

Just wondering how Al went with his RenaultSport Clio Sport 172 Exclusive- any comments on dealer/insurance costs. I am looking to buy one, but can't get anyone to quote to insure it for me yet!! The dealers have not been particularly helpful to date.

TL, Sydney.

2000 Renault Clio RT 1.4

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance8700 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic 1.5

Summary:

Top value small car

Faults:

Electric window switch replaced under warranty as a LED bulb in it wasn't lit up at night.

General Comments:

Great value: lots of equipment for the price, excellent ride and fairly spacious.

Driving position can be tricky at first.

Engine is good although A/C saps power a bit.

Very reliable and trouble-free so far, especially compared to the Civic which had constant small niggles.

Not very well known in NZ but people are missing out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews