Renault Laguna Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 3

2002 Renault Laguna Privilege 3.0V6

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22400 kilometres
Most recent distance56350 kilometres
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

A delight to drive and own; grossly underrated in this country!

Faults:

The hazard flasher switch sometimes wouldn't turn off (I got bored one day waiting for my wife and started pushing buttons!). I wish that the fresh air ventilation could be routed away from the hotter parts of the engine so that fresh air was available without running the air conditioning, but other Eurpoeans are similar with this.

General Comments:

I have owned cars for over 30 years and this is the first one that after 2 yrs ownership still impresses me with its comfort, performance, style and composure. If I was to offer a criticism it would be that the automatic transmission calibration could be a bit smarter; but I've adjusted to it and its change points aren't an issue any more. I guess I bought it because it was a bit different and this is just one of the differences! I'm reassured by most of the mechanicals being by Nissan as I can get service most places. Style that still turns heads and lots of features that aren't immediately obvious. A delight to drive and impressive fuel economy. Very reassuring safety credentials that make me cringe when I have to drive a rental Toyota / Ford etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2005

2002 Renault Laguna Authentique 3.0L V6

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance37000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Back to the drawing board

Faults:

Excessive wear of tyres.

Automatic transmission valve body replaced.

High tension coils replaced twice due to misfiring.

Driver window does not close properly.

Body trim discolored.

Interior rattles.

Faulty remote control (2x)

General Comments:

Auto transmission is indecisive. Never seems to pick the right gear ratio.

Engine must be revved high to have good performance, which is a little odd for a 3.0L.

Drives really nicely.

If it wasn't for all the technical problems I even like it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2004

17th Sep 2005, 03:31

Hi - I am in Australia and read your comments with interest. I have an '02 Laguna Privilege (also 3.0l V6). My report is at the top of the column and I guess you can see that we are very happy with the car. The tyre wear issue I also struck, but it turned out to be die to alignment being done by a regualr tyre shop. Take it to your Renault dealer (mine has the equipment in house) and the problem disappears! It costs the same as your local shop so I guess it just comes down to some tyre jockeys not paying attention to what they are doing!

1995 Renault Laguna V6 3.0 Injection

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Injection Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance153000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

Beauty and the beast combined

Faults:

I had this car for a week and it broke an engine mount. I got a 3 year warranty with it, so I can't tell how much it was, but I had to wait for 2 weeks for the part because they had to order it from France. These cars are really rare in Australia and it's hard to find parts for them.

I have to take it back to the shop in a few days because the sunroof got stuck.

General Comments:

Value for money. It's full of electronics and little things that make it easier and more enjoyable for driving.

Leather on the seats is like new, it handles really good and people don't believe that this car is as fast as it is.

It doesn't take much petrol having in mind that it has a 3 litre V6 engine. It takes about 8L/100km freeway driving and between 10 and 11L/100km in the city.

ABS brakes amazed me. This car has better brakes than most of the Japanese and Australian cars I have driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2003

8th Aug 2004, 22:56

Parts availability for Renaults in Australia is (generally) not now a problem since the brand was relaunched in May 01. Call 039 797 4111 for your nearest dealer.

1995 Renault Laguna V6 3.0 petrol

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64 kilometres
Most recent distance49000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 306 XR

Faults:

At 25000km, worn lobes on the camshaft meant a replacement under warranty.

At 34000km the auto trans failed - another warranty repair.

At 46000 km a relay in the engine cooling fan gave up.

At 48900km the fan unit in the aircon has given up - a cost of $NZ5000 to repair.

The agents are no longer interested. Court action is proceeding

General Comments:

A gorgeous car to drive, but utterly unreliable. So far repairs have cost in the vicinity of $NZ12000.

The manufacturers should be ashamed of themselves for producing such rubbish.

No way would I recommend a Renault to anyone.

The French invented the word honour. A shame they do not follow their own precepts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2000

23rd Dec 2000, 08:32

Renault have and do make really good and very reliable cars!!! I've had a few and nothing has ever gone wrong for me, about the worst thing was my alternator went and that was my fault!!!!!

Martyn84@aol.com

30th Jul 2001, 14:43

I've had a Laguna RTI V6 for about 2 years now and it has been totally reliable. The performance is incredible and in the traffic light grand prix it is unbeatable. No other V6 saloon can touch it for acceleration and it eats Golf GTi's for breakfast. It's a pity that the latest Laguna is only available as an automatic in V6 guise in the UK otherwise I would have another one.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews