Renault Scenic Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 2

2001 Renault Scenic Privelege 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carHolden Astra

Summary:

Innovative design, poorly executed quality control and non existent after sales care

Faults:

Within weeks of delivery the engine emitted a howling noise when the gears shifted from 3rd to 2nd gear. By the second mandatory service, the car was deemed unsafe to drive and a loose "bolt" was removed from within the engine and replaced. The dealer was sketchy on the details.

The rear shock absorber experienced significant wear and tear and was replaced. In Australia obtaining parts proved challenging.

In late 2003, the vehicle engine exploded and caught fire, the car has subsequently been written off, the cause of the fire is not clear although it would appear the fuel line broke. From what I understand this is not a common occurence.

General Comments:

Prior to the fire, the vehicle was great to drive and a perfect family car, innovative design, comfortable, excellent brakes, good safety features and reasonably economical. Unfortunately the after sale support and care does not live up to expectations.

After the fire I would describe the vehicle as a great design, but with obvious quality control issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th January, 2004

24th Feb 2006, 16:57

Surely you meant to say :

"After the fire I danced happily in the ashes while thinking about which non - Renault to purchase with the insurance payout."

2002 Renault Scenic RX4 2 lt

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2 lt Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance13000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Lantra

Summary:

An underpowered vehicle

Faults:

I bought the Renault Scenic RX4 because it seemed like a safe, reliable car.

So far it has lived up to expectations except for the fact that it shudders in second gear.

When I advised the car dealer about this matter, I was told that the gears were tight and that it would sort itself out once the car had done more than 10,000 kilometres.

The car has now done more than 12,000k.

When I returned to the car dealer I was told that these cars "sludge" a bit in second gear!?

The problem only seems to occur when changing down in gears i.e. from third to second, and when going round a round-about or corner whilst needing to slow down.

General Comments:

Is there anyone out there with a similar problem, and can it be fixed?

My main concern is that this shudder is hurting the engine and I wonder how long the engine will last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

28th Apr 2003, 03:59

That sounds like my Scenic has the same fault, although I have found it more apparent when approaching a roundabout in third, but then have quick change to second... while still moving, the clutch judders - badly.

I have yet to take my to a my main dealer... which won't be the first visit - who'll probably have some lame excuse, why it's doing it. The issue being it should not.

A clutch will allow OR should allow for fast down changes at say 10-20 mph, or third to second, with a "SMALL" amount of clutch judder.

Mine feels like it is going to pop right out of the gearbox... it's far from right.

But then it is a Renualt... a make I WILL NOT be buying again.

I hope this has been of some help, I can only surmise that this is what is happening to your car, although it could be a sticky throttle cable, which might need lubrication...... it might your hot climate ? ..... not like here in "sunny" England ( not )

Andy

2001 Renault Scenic rx4 2.0

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Perfect Family Car, pity about the engine

Faults:

Whole Transmission was replaced with 44000 KM.

Air Bag Warning stickers cannot handle Australia Heat.

General Comments:

I was looking for a Family Car (have two your kids) with some 4WD capabilities. I do like European cars since they do handle better than Japanese ones. The vehicle is almost perfect in that sense, pity about the engine. The engine cannot handle even soft 4WD work (like sand/dunes), the lack of low range makes the whole issue worse.

The 4WD System is not really all time, it drives the front and will engage the rear via a Viscous LSD after the front skids (which does not happen because of the traction control)..so it does not give the same assurance as for example the All Wheel Drive System from Subaru.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2003

27th May 2003, 10:58

I see your Point your better off with a 1.6L Scenic Experssion + as it's Quicker than the 2.0l Rx4 I've raced one and I beat it. the 4x4 mode really sucks power. go for a 1.6/1.8L/2.0L Expression+ and my scenic's only a 1.6L.

2000 Renault Scenic RXE 1.6

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

Best vehicle I've ever owned

Faults:

Driver's seat replaced under warranty because the stitching came apart.

Right-hand headlight replaced under warranty. A spider had spun a web in the internal light bulb housing! This could not be removed without causing damage.

General Comments:

The Scenic is an excellent family vehicle. Perfect for young children.

This is the first European car I've owned (previously all Japanese). One of my concerns when making the decision to buy was reliability. Thus far the Scenic has exceeded my expectation in this regard. The engine and other mechanicals have been completely trouble free.

I'm also impressed with the 1.6 engine, which is very capable for its 'small' size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

2001 Renault Scenic RX4 2.0 petrol

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Best looking soft 4WD around town

Faults:

Air Bags warning stickers on both sun visors were not made to resist the Australian hot summer.

When first start in the morning (cold) very difficult to engage reverse gear.

General Comments:

Better of both words. Flexible enough to take the family and allow you to adventure in some trails (soft).

The dual sunroof is must.

The 4WD System is not really All Wheel Drive like the Subaru, it works well, but on wet roads I would feel better using the Subaru system.

What happen to the 101 Kw? It does not show...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2002

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews