1992 Subaru Liberty Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 3 of 4

1992 Subaru Liberty GX 2.2 EFI

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 EFI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance154000 kilometres
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Rock solid reliability in a balanced package

Faults:

Replaced air suspension system at around 120,000km with conventional struts; the car handles much better and I don't miss the ability to raise and lower the suspension.

Replaced steering rack at around 130,000km.

Replaced all boots on front axles by 120,000km.

Top radiator hose blew at 150,000km - my fault for not replacing it when I first noticed a small leak. I managed to pull over before the engine got too hot and made quick repair, topped up fluids and pressed on.

General Comments:

This car, apart from those minor problems (the air suspension was always the Achilles heel of these models and fortunately Subaru discontinued it) is fabulously reliable and a joy to drive.

Things like the power steering, cruise control, air conditioning, electric windows, central locking, etc, work really well and unobtrusively so it is easy to take them for granted.

The car is very comfortable on trips and has a great torque curve; on most highway journeys I rarely get out of 5th gear. Consequently, fuel consumption is very reasonable.

Handling is quite good for a family vehicle and the all wheel drive (AWD) is very reassuring in marginal traction situations.

I have been eyeing off SAABs lately and even had a few test drives, but I think I'll stick with the modest luxury and bullet-proof reliability of the Subaru. A later model GX is definitely attractive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2004

3rd Dec 2005, 10:02

I've just bought a 1991 Liberty that's had the airbag suspension replaced with regular struts (?).

While this would seem to be a good thing by all accounts here, the car seems to be a little lower than other examples I've seen - especially the back. Is this just a matter of adjustment or is this lowering an unavoidable result of the conversion?

Thanks in advance for any advice/help.

Sean.

13th Mar 2006, 23:44

I love my 1990 Liberty Wagon, but the airbag suspension has died now. The Compressor is worn out internally and I'm going to replace the suspension with coils and shocks. It'll cost me $1000, but I need to do it.

Selling it in a month or 2 as I'm picking up a Turbo Diesel Patrol (MK) this week.

24th Apr 2009, 20:14

I have a 1991 Liberty wagon, front wheel drive, I want to lower the back but I can't get springs for it to do so, any idea?

1992 Subaru Liberty GX Wagon 2.2 petrol

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired194000 kilometres
Most recent distance287000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A reliable and comfortable cruiser

Faults:

Right Radiator tank (plastic) split at about 260,000 km. Replaced with a locally made part (Natrad).

Alternator replaced at 265,000km.

Exhaust muffler.

Several suspension bushes need replacing.

General Comments:

This is by way of an update on earlier review. Stlll have the car and love it.

Another review noted expense of replacing tailshaft and air suspension: mine is two wheel drive and has no tailshaft and has normal strut suspension.

A friend has a 4wd and has had to replace all four corners of the air suspension. He also has the "whistling window" problem as does my car. It seems to be seals shrinking with age where the mirror mounts.

The twin outlet mufflers are expensive, mine was replaced with a local "sports" muffler and now has a throaty growl, not especially loud or offensive.

My automatic gearbox is getting a little "tired" and may need replacing in the near future. Prices for "exchange reconditioned" boxes are ludicrous, so I might look for a 'box out of an import.

Over six years of ownership now, still think it's a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2004

1992 Subaru Liberty GX 2.2

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 kilometres
Most recent distance66014 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Liberty

Summary:

The perfect powerful car

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

This car is seriously powerful and handles perfect even looks great for a 10 year old car!

You have got to get one it bets Ford!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2002

21st Oct 2002, 21:16

Have to agree with you.

I am running a 92 GX in Brisbane that has done 185000kms which I picked up at 165,000kms in Dec 2000. Only replacements have been a new Camry air conditioner (cheaper than buying a Subaru equivalent part) and had to get the alternator rebuilt. I also added USA-made Uniroyal Tiger Paw GTS tyres and these have improved the ride further.

7th Oct 2003, 19:15

I think that I have scored a a good vehicle. I picked up, in Brisbane, a 1992 Liberty GX with 150,000 kilometers and a full Subaru service history. I have had Honda vehicles in the past, but their performance now seems perfunctory compared to the GX.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews