Toyota Cavalier Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 3

1999 Toyota Cavalier tz 2.4

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Zafira

Summary:

Looks good, performs well,great value!!

Faults:

The floor mat moved up under accelerator pedal and jammed it on full throttle.

The cause of the throttle jam wasn't immediately obvious.

General Comments:

Handles well.

Brakes OK, but really had to jump on them in an emergency compared to the Zafira.

Not much headroom.

Heard from a Toyota dealer here in New Zealand that they have repaired many with burnt wiring loom. The problem stems from a faulty water pump. He reccomends keep an eye on the water pump for small leaks which is the precursor to large problems. He otherwise say that owners invaribly hang on to the vehicles even after the expensive repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2005

14th Dec 2005, 20:32

I have found that you have to use the original key in the ignition or the wiring system fails (eventually).

9th Oct 2007, 09:44

I find it rather interesting how people praise the Toyota Cavalier will rag on the Chevrolet Cavalier even though they are made in the same factories. It just goes to show how personal perceptions influence attitudes and how people respond to good customer service. And MY toyota service experiences have been FAR less than positive. That being said, I test drove a Hyundai Excel, a Nissan Sentra, Toyota Yaris and a Chevrolet Cobalt this spring when I had to buy a car after mine was wrecked. I looked at the paint, the interior materials, the build quality and how well each car drove and how quiet it was and me and the wife both picked the Cobalt.

1996 Toyota Cavalier NZ 2.4 G

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 G Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 kilometres
Most recent distance118000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

I wouldn't bother buying unless you buy mine!

Faults:

Drivers side window winds down, but fails to wind up without much encouragement.

Rear wheel brake cylinders needed replacing. over $100 each.

Windowscreen cracked and cost $3000 to replace.

Transmission service cost over $300.

Wheel alignment constantly out and burns tyres like nothing on earth.

ABS unit failing and oil lights on.

General Comments:

I use this car regularly and drive very safely. However it just costs so much to repair that I think I will get more for selling it to the parts people than selling it as a working car.

It is great for overtaking as packs some grunt, but your petrol tank get very much lighter much quicker. Handles nicely, but does have a bit of body role.

Very comfortable and good sounds.

Good car if you can get the parts at a good price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2005

4th Oct 2005, 00:12

I hate to tell you this, but save for your windscreen and ABS unit, which are expensive enough, you stil haven't encountered the water pump failure. Ask mechanics around about it. Then sell the car. Shame, because the car accelerates very well and runs nicely.

8th Dec 2005, 22:02

So far so good, but my 96 model has only done 52000km, and is mint. Goes like a rocket when you need the power, but as economical as a japper if driven easily, and very smooth trans. Only problem I have is quite a nasty 'clank' into drive if you don't hold your mouth right. It may just be soggy bushes in the torque reaction rod between trans and chassis..but where do I get one in New Zealand?..parts are still problem here.

1996 Toyota Cavalier

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance77320 miles
Previous carNissan Laurel

Summary:

Great car!!

Faults:

Driver's door's window winder failed, but repaired by screw-fixed the 'thermal plates' together (not a recommended manufacturer's method - but the cheapest way to fix it). This only removes the feature of automatic upward winding. No need to replace the motor!!

Water pump starts leaking at 77000 km. Replaced for NZ$500 but in the process timing-chain got out of adjustment.

Dashboard installed with no tolerance with respect to proximity with windscreen and caused a crack on the dashboard.

General Comments:

Great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

14th Sep 2005, 05:00

The general consensus on this car seems to be that it is a Lemon over 100,000Ks. That it can be a gorgeous car to look at, but it's a honey trap.

In the Dog and Lemon Guide, a car consumers guide - mainly on cars available in New Zealand, the Toyota Cavalier had an overall rating of - quote - Avoid like the plague.

For more comments check out those for the CHEVROLET CAVALIER as it's the same car - only re-badged Toyota with Right Hand Steering.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews