2009 Toyota Corolla Review from Australia and New Zealand

2009 Toyota Corolla G 1.8

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Previous carHolden Zafira

Summary:

Yaris sedan is better!

Faults:

Nothing, it's a Toyota.

General Comments:

I don't like my Corolla. Hope I can trade this car with Civic. It's not comfortable, the cabin is not quiet (the commercial said it's really quiet), and the most disappointing thing is the handling.

It cost more than Yaris sedan, so it should be better, but I was wrong, I hate it! Yaris sedan's leg room is only like 5 cm shorter than Corolla.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2009

18th Jul 2009, 10:56

I don't want to be rude but couldn't you have determined all this on the test drive?

18th Jul 2009, 18:20

So why did you end up buying it? Didn't you take it for a test drive?

18th Jul 2009, 20:44

And that is what Test Drives are for. Maybe you should have driven one before you bought it.

9th Aug 2009, 06:22

I'm the original poster of this. I never test drove it before because I borrowed this car from my company, so it's not really my car, but it will become my car after 7 years of owning it.

4th Sep 2009, 05:35

Hi, it's me, the real poster, I also found out that the rear seats at the right are uncomfortable. The weird structure makes your shoulders feel tired.

26th Oct 2009, 04:42

I got mine a year ago. Superb car. Far more advanced than most other cars. Was looking to buy another car, but most models seem like 10 years behind in technology of the new Corolla. I am not talking about luxury cars here of course, but about cars like Honda, Mitsu, etc.

4th May 2010, 08:51

You have got to be kidding; more advanced than what exactly?

I had one of these as a hire car in Adelaide with only 5,000 KMs roughly on the odometer; total piece of crap.

Handles like a tin can on wheels, the seats feel comfortable when you first jump into them, but later your back starts to ache, and I am only 30.

The handling is boat like, and it feels every bump in the road. The brakes are horrible.

If I was in the market for a small car, I'd steer clear of these; shut the doors on these, and they have no solid thud, unlike other small cars that have a solid feel, and are built more solidly.

There is much better out there; try a VW Polo or something else.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 1 review