1994 Toyota Corona GL 2.0

Summary:

Not fast or flash, but damn reliable

Faults:

Radiator needed to be replaced at 150,000 K's.

Head gasket leak killed it at 283,000 K's, which killed it at the end.

General Comments:

Possibly the best car I've owned.

Had owned it for 18 years, and was driven every day and everywhere, and tackled all challenges like a champ.

Found it able to go 550-600 K's on a full tank of petrol. Which is pretty economical.

Body was hard and didn't pick up scratches / dings / dents easily.

Parts were cheaper to come by later on, as people sent them off to the scrap heap.

Easy car to learn how to do basic maintenance on - oil, spark plugs etc.

Wish they still built this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2012

11th Jan 2013, 22:48

I agree with everything said in the previous review. I have had my 1994 2.0 GL Toyota Corona for about 7 years now, and it has been great. It's done over 205,000 kms now, always starts first pop, tows well, and has a good paint finish that still looks good. I would definitely recommend this car.

1994 Toyota Corona 1.8

Summary:

Nice car

Faults:

I bought the car last year and I haven't had any problems with it so far.

Previous owner said there weren't any problems with the car and it was a good drive. And it certainly is.

General Comments:

Does anyone know if there are any modified Corona's (1994) out there? If so, please leave a comment.

I'm interested in tweaking my car for performance and style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

24th Dec 2003, 14:49

Hi.. I was just wondering if anyone has the user manual/literature for the 1994 Toyota Corona?

Ours is a 4wd vehicle.. just in case..

Please reply to rera1@hotmail.com.

Thank you!

30th Jul 2004, 00:26

Here is a link I constantly visit. You may limit your search according to car make (in this case, Toyota) then model -- Corona. You can then specify your search further by year (1994) and... VOILA!

Be creative =) Enjoy.

http://www.cardomain.com

Martin Perry

Cebu City, Philippines.

1994 Toyota Corona Select Saloon 1.8

Summary:

Typical Toyota reliability

Faults:

100% reliable. The only parts that have been replaced are the front sway bar bushes and front strut bushes (didn't cost much).

General Comments:

This car was a used Japanese import. Has the 1838cc (4S-FE) petrol engine.

Cheap to buy and cheap to own. Faultless reliability, excellent build quality, very economical on fuel (6.9 liters per 100km travelling at 120km/h with a full load of passengers and luggage, and the air conditioning running).

Interior is very roomy (biggest in its class?) - plenty of space for four 6 foot plus passengers. The only complaints are a lack of sound proofing (higher spec'ed models are much more refined), a few minor dashboard creaks and rattles, and the Japanese suspension setup is far from perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2000

2nd Apr 2003, 05:48

I have a Toyota Corona from 1994. The reliability is perfect! But in Belgium the name Corona doesn't exist, they call it a Carina-E.

Friendly greetings.

Staf Andries.

7th May 2003, 03:15

Is the '94 Corona available in the US? And do you people know where to find websites that have modified '94 Corona's. I have one myself.

3rd Aug 2003, 05:52

I bought my Corona in February 1994 and what I would like to say is that this car is perfect. Most of the time this car engine starts up faster than most other cars at the traffic light when it turns green. The only car on the road that has the fastest startup and speed is the BMW cars.

7th Sep 2005, 22:49

The Toyota Corona is indeed a solid and reliable car. Here in the Philippines, there are a group of Corona enthusiasts wherein the majority of the group members own the ST191 variant. Try to visit the URL http://clubcorona.forumer.com.

3rd Dec 2005, 04:41

Hi,

I am a Toyota Corona (1994) car owner from India. I do most of the repair myself. I request to help me to get a workshop Manual for the car. Someone please help me. my email is write2sathish@hotmail.com.

Thanks

George.

16th Mar 2006, 23:20

Hie I own a Toyota Corona 94 Zimbabwe it's a superb car that I have in my life fuel consumption is super speed and stability I love it, can you please sent the manual st190. Thank you Prosper Murindi.

22nd Nov 2009, 20:45

I am the owner of a 1994 Toyota Corona 1.8 Select Saloon. Bought from my son 2007 with 200.000 on the clock. After two years of driving while this is only 8.000 km, it has been a great pleasure to drive. It has absolutely had no problems, and the mileage I get out of the car per litre is fantastic compared to other cars I have driven over the years. The take off reaction is excellent.

F Warner, Pukekohe, New Zealand.