1982 Toyota T18 SE 1.6 twin cam turbo


It's a great car for all people


Cracks in the dash.

Back tyres worn heaps.

Blown three diffs.

Blown three engines.

Seats started lean to one side (replaced with bucket seats).

General Comments:

This car handles a lot better if it's lowered heaps; it handles like a go kart.

The 3t engines don't like to rev, so I put a 2tg twin cam in mine and it loves it now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th January, 2008

31st Oct 2008, 00:05

I would have to agree, I did the same thing, but I am having problems with getting my 2tg to run.

27th Jan 2009, 05:23

They rev fine when they've got a crow cam in.

1982 Toyota T18




Radiator rotted out 2 years ago.

Cabin interior leaks.

Rust in tailgate and front roof, faded paint.

General Comments:

This car is incredible.

It is used in a 40 km. round trip to work through the city 5 days a week. Has never failed to start, and never let me down.

It is economical and still fairly quick.

Doesn't blow smoke and everything inside and out still works.

6 years trouble free transport for $1800--beat that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

9th Mar 2011, 22:23

Yeah, mine rusted a bit but it was a great car. Drove it from Perth up to Broome and back with 200,000 kms already on the clock and ran like a dream with great economy. Was a fun car to drive in it's own way too. No regrets.

1979 Toyota T18 SE 1.8 petrol


Cheap and Reliable


Re co gearbox at 260K

New rear bearings at 280K

New alternator at 180K and 285K

New Idler & Pitman arm 240K

Valve guides are worn (gives puff of smoke at start up) no big deal been doing this for 150K.

Uses 400ml of oil every 5K.

General Comments:

Have had the car for 20years, never broken down and always starts first go.

Fuel economy is still good at approx 9L/100km.

Drove it non stop for(8hrs/ 700Km) no problem at all.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2005

1980 Toyota T18 SE 1.8Ltr


It is a reliable beast


Too, many sets of rear tires to count (due to too many burnouts).

The clutch wore out at about 250,000 kms (also due to burnouts).

The alternator bearings needed replacing at 262,000 kms (possibly from burnouts).

The two rear welsh plugs had holes in them, but I couldn't be bothered pulling the clutch out to get to them, so some iron tight has fixed the problem nicely.

Finally, the valve stem seals cracked at about 295,000 kms. These were replaced along with a new high compression head.

General Comments:

Burnouts can be hazardous to your wallet, the car itself runs well, I will probably die before it does. Needs new suspension, but still hangs out sideways (the body roll looks cool anyway)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2005

1979 Toyota T18 SE 1.6 bog stock


The bright yellow pocket rocket


Lots of rear tyres, starter motor, alternater, the diff is making very bad nosies,

General Comments:

My beast has had a full custom interior,141db of stereo,14inch mags, lowed,4inch dump pipe out the back, tinted windows/tail lights, I am looking at a new engine for it, but haven't had much luck so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2005

1980 Toyota T18 1.8 litre


Just keeps running


Radiator had to be replaced.

New master cylinder at about 70 000kms.

New clutch within about 3 months of ownership, (due to excessive burnouts)

Head gasget blew.

Boot lever broke and has to be opened with a key.

General Comments:

Car is extremely reliable and runs pretty well for a car of its age.

Handles well, rear wheel drive means some good side ways action.

Overheats when the weather gets hot or sometimes when stuck in traffic. Running the heater usually brings it back down, but can be very uncomfortable.

Coupe is handy for folding down seats and whacking in the surfboards.

Top speed of about 170 isn't too bad, but the acceleration is pretty ordinary, especially with a loaded car.

All in all its been good to me and gets me where I need to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

1980 Toyota T18 SE 1.8


Reliably,but hard to get parts


Had to get the radiator recoiled and rust cut out, dashboard is cracked and a few leaks.

General Comments:

Runs extremely well and is a very reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2002