2005 Volvo XC70 D5 2.5 turbo diesel

Faults:

Transmission failure at 120000 km. So many XC70's with the same problem. Clearly a known issue with these cars. Volvo paid 50% of the $8000 cost to replace.

General Comments:

Lovely car, but transmissions are a problem. Check comments all over the Internet on Volvo's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th March, 2013

2002 Volvo XC70 2.5 petrol

Summary:

Well marketed lemon in 2002 in the AWD arena for Volvo. I want my 850r back..

Faults:

In the end, everything - front end, tyres, engine mounts, aircon, transmission; it all got too much.

Leather soft, interior very flimsy, and the plastic on all contact points (arm rest and door) wears away.

General Comments:

Over engineered, excessive running costs, bad performance, little idea of the real damage to the brand with such a badly made vehicle.

Side vision when turning, the worst, the glare from the dash reflection onto the windscreen is the absolute worst in the world.

Chews through tyres and front ends.

Automatic transmission is a serious problem (yes I know it's the valve body).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2010

1st Sep 2010, 20:12

I agree totally. My 2002 XC 70 had solenoids replaced in the gearbox at 70,000km, and now at 142,000 the gearbox is playing up again, needing a total recondition.

In addition, alternator has been replaced, front left driveshaft is shuddering, and yes, it chews tyres.

Engine mounts need replacing for the second time.

I agree the glare from the dashboard is blinding in some situations, and yes, there is a huge blindspot when changing lanes to the right etc.

I love this car, it's practical for my purposes size-wise, rides beautifully and is a pleasure to drive (when it's all working), but I am seriously considering changing to something more reliable and cheaper to maintain.

1999 Volvo XC70 V70XC Cross Country

Summary:

Not recommended

Faults:

I have already spent AUD2500, now mechanic says engine mounts are out, hence vibration while driving.

Too many problems for the age.

Parts in Australia are a big headache. I am not confident if it will be still alright.

Leather seats for this model get cracks, comfy though.

Too much rattle noise. Tail shaft is noisy too.

Contact 0403317647

General Comments:

As above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2010

2006 Volvo XC70 LE 2.5 turbo

Summary:

A great alternative to an SUV

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Love:

Engine.

Practicality.

AWD.

Interior quality.

Passenger space.

Integrated booster seats for 3-8 year olds.

Safety.

Like:

Volvo image in the country.

Dislike:

Interior storage space pockets/ console etc not up with a Ford Territory.

Volvo image in Sydney’s North Shore.

Rear vision (needs a minimum of sensors, and a camera would be great).

Turning circle.

Hate:

People who run into parked cars.

First Impression:

Smooth, solid and “that’s more power than I thought a Volvo had”.

Noticed some chop in the suspension on the speed humps at the office.

Who said they would buy one:

Pregnant friend living in eastern Suburbs (currently looking at 2nd hand BMW wagon).

Friend with 2 kids and a Ford Territory.

The office Volvo driver.

The Boss (also looking at the Ford Territory and Toyota Prado).

Who said they wouldn’t:

Most single people.

People who said it was nice, but not sexy

Drive to work:

Very pleasant and refined, plenty of power when required and an above average stereo. Needs Sat Nav and a Bluetooth car kit to turn it into my mobile office. Why is every driver in St Ives cutting me off? (It’s like Volvo’s are invisible). I quickly became a Volvo activist

Weekend in the Country:

The XC70 cruised beautifully along the M2, M7 and M4 before climbing up the Blue Mountains and proceeding on to the Central West town of Orange. The cruise control has a tendency to let the speed creep up a little on downhill runs, which can cost you your license in this highly policed state.

This is where I felt most at home in the Volvo. The car still has respect in the country, where it is viewed as a rock solid, reliable and safe luxury vehicle. The North Shore Mum’s taxi, or doddering old fool image seemingly hasn’t crossed the Great Dividing Range.

The XC70 stands proud in the car parks of local wineries, the golf club and my motel. Unfortunately someone didn’t think so, as they left a nice gouge in the front mudguard. This incident aside, it was a great weekend, and the car was faultless on a variety of road surfaces.

Work trip to Wollongong:

An uneventful trip thanks to the XC70. Thick fog and torrential rain between Sydney and Wollongong usually induces a little nervousness as everyone rushes blindly into the haze. The combination of AWD, solid chassis, front and rear fog lamps and good all round demisting features are impressive.

The car is again at home on the open road.

Detour in a National Park:

The opportunity to take an AWD turbo car up a twisty hill in a national park was too good to miss. The XC70 performed beautifully for a car of its size and weight, climbing effortlessly up the steepest of gradients. It’s not a WRX, but few family wagons/ SUV’s could match the grace and poise of the Volvo, which even provides smile inducing power oversteer on sweeping corners. Yes, I would prefer the Subaru Liberty 3.0RB or GT for this job, but their lack of rear leg room prohibits me from buying one.

Research:

Had a look at www.volvocars.com.au, it provides the basic information, but is not overly exciting. A quick look at car review web sites show that some customers have had electrical issues, but as a whole the cars are reliable. One reviewer stated he would not be alive had he been driving any other car (hit by an SUV on a US freeway). Australian reviews were also kind, apart from some questions raised about the suspension performance on dirt roads.

Summary:

A great car family car with a bit of mongrel when required. Definitely have a drive if you are looking at a Territory, Falcadore wagon, Touareg, XC90, Liberty Wagon, Mazda 6 Wagon or similar.

Given that recent price drops make the XC70 good value for money, it will only take an image change from Volvo to have us all driving one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2006

18th Aug 2010, 01:20

I am on the threshold of buying a second hand '05 XC70, given that time has passed since your review, were you/are you still satisfied with the XC70?

I was keen on the Ford Territory as an alternative but the weekly fuel expectation appears to be higher when running a Territory.

Volvo repair costs frighten me, but I can't help but want one.

Any impressions on the Volvo would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

7th Mar 2012, 22:43

I bought a 2007 (last of this shape) XC70 with 30k a year ago, and it has performed beautifully.

I bought from a Volvo dealer, so I paid a little more, but the quality is there. I drove a few others from standard car yards and they showed they were abused or not cared for. I recommend, that whatever model you buy, you drive it first.

My car stood out from the crowed as soon as I sat in the driver's seat; I could tell it had been cared for, and it drove like new.

I have had no issues with it at all. If I had to pick a fault, it would be the fuel consumption, however my previous vehicle was a BA Falcon, and the Volvo is about par. It could be my driving too, as I'm addicted to the turbo...

On a long trip, the fuel consumption is excellent. Driving on gravel roads, it is unbelievably smooth.

Every time I get in the car, the smell of leather, the class and the quality just hit me in the face. I love driving this car.

As far as maintenance, there are plenty of good Volvo mechanics around running their own little businesses, and they're reasonably priced with solutions to expensive fixes.

There is also a good network of spare parts in Europe and the US; it's freighting to Oz that costs.

Good luck.