Daewoo Leganza Reviews from Belgium

1999 Daewoo Leganza 2.0

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Lack of quality, service and an up-to-date engine

Faults:

My Leganza is 2 years now and has about 26000 km on it. The good thing about this car is that it is very well equiped. Air conditioning, complete electric pack, and so on.

The very bad thing is that just all these features caused a lot of problems with my car. One of the power-window motors has been replaced already two times.

I don't use the remote control of the central locking system anymore since it only works sometimes.

The coolant for the air conditioning had to be refilled already after 10 months, and I heard in the meantime that most of the Leganza's have this problem. So much for the interior.

Now for the engine, it runs OK, but consumption is high. I only drive 8.4 km on a liter. Furthermore I had also quite some problems with the engine.

The ignition cables had to be replaced and also some kind of sensor has been replaced.

What unnerves me most is that until now most of these problems are solved for free (warranty), but the dealer tries each time to make me pay, and only after long discussions he plays the good guy who pays the bill himself.

General Comments:

My conclusion is that the Leganza has a lot of nice features, but they really lack quality, service and an up-to-date engine.

Unless they change course drastically I will never buy a Daewoo again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2000

1st May 2005, 18:45

I can't comment on all of your other points, but I can on the air conditioning. I am a mechanic (not for daewoo), but as a rule of thumb all air conditioning units on all cars should be run for at least 10 minutes every week, regardless of weather conditions. This helps keep the seals on the compressor 'lapped'. (air tight). Failing to do so will result in gas escaping. I live in Scotland, and know that as a lateral partner, in Belgium the last thing on you mind is running your air conditioning in January!!

So if you don't follow the rules, you're a/c will always fail regardless of what make and model of car you drive!! This is a good point to note, and will save you a fortune in the future. Best of regards.

25th Mar 2006, 16:23

The 2.2 Litre Engine was manufactured by Holden Australia in Melbourne. The Engines where then shipped to Korea and fitted to the Car. The engine is wholly a GM Holden Australian Design and build.

18th Mar 2007, 18:58

Mr. Mechainc, are you sure they let you work on cars? What are you talking about running for ten minutes in january, what happens when you run the defrost on a vehicle equipped with a/c? the compressor kicks on, and what does that do? It absorbs moisture, why would you have to run the a/c, if it runs on defrost, I hope no one followed what you said, they might of had some chilly mornings!

4th Apr 2009, 22:58

The logic in running the air condition once a week is to lubricate the seals in the air conditioning unit so they do not dry up and turn brittle. Once a seal becomes brittle, the seals will leak the a/c coolant and render the unit non working. The rule of thumb is to run it once a week. It is sound advice to the knowing and dumbfounded to the unknowing.

2000 Daewoo Leganza CDX 2.0

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Unreliable, thirsty, lazy

Faults:

Two times I've had problems with the electrical wiring for the window trim.

Broken gearbox after only 8000km which took nearly 3 weeks to be replaced!

Consumes 12.5 liter on 100km. The dealer refuses to do something about this because he thinks it is normal!!!

General Comments:

This car is for sure not reliable, it is very thirsty and has very poor performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2000

15th May 2001, 19:39

Why don't you consider Hyundai? Being a Hyundai owner (1998 Sonata 2.0L), and having an automatic, I never had any problems with the transmission or the gas mileage. It is a very nice car! If you don't like Daewoo, come on over to Hyundai. I'm sure you'll find something pleasing.

28th Jun 2001, 03:38

Humm... you said you are a Hyundai owner.. but sounds more like you work for Hyundai!!

The Leganza has the look and feel of a luxury car so I believe that's why a lot of people buy it...

How can that compare to a Hyundai??? Those cheesy little cars can't compare to the model of a Leganza.. it's looks very classy... even the 2001 Hyundai XG300 doesn't look half as nice..

I was very impressed by the style of the Daewoo and it's a lot cheaper than the Japanese style cars... so if he/she wants to switch to a another car don't choose Hynjuck... yuck...

We choose Daewoo because of the style and not really cause we favorite Korean cars...

Average review marks: 2.9 / 10, based on 2 reviews