Opel Astra Reviews from Belgium

2000 Opel Astra XE 'Edition 2000' 3-doors 1.4i 16v petrol

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4i 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 kilometres
Most recent distance121000 kilometres

Summary:

Fast, spacious car for a 1.4 hatchback

Faults:

Nothing severe actually.

When I bought it:

- Driving belt was too tight (previous owner), which caused a knocking sound. Easily fixed.

- Left mirror was broken. It's an electrical one, so you need to buy the whole mirror case with engine at once (except the colored cap and the mirror glass itself). Price 100€ (incl. cap & mirror glass & respray of the cap)

- A very little point of rust at the door just below the window. Seemed to be a known point and nothing to worry about.

When driving it:

- Getting the reverse gear isn't always easy. Giving a little bit of gas solves the problem.

- The warning light for the engine electronics flashes once in a while.

General Comments:

As my first own car, it is really good:

- The looks aren't out of date yet. People are surprised when I say it's 9 years old.

- You have a lot of space in the front (3-door version), even more than in my dad's Vectra (also 2000 version).

- Surprisingly big boot. Especially when folding down the rear seats.

- The 1.4i 16v is quick for a 1.4. 90hp makes you have power enough. Keep the car in high revs and you fly away! Runs at 150km/h (90miles/hour) without problems (except speeding tickets ;) ), but gets a bit noisy and would use a lot more petrol.

- Average fuel economy: 7.9l/100km or 29.8mpg (see: http://www.fuelly.com/driver/thibaut/astra-g) Could be less, but I like to push the pedal too much.

- Good sound system. I like the control buttons at the steering wheel.

- The rigid suspension makes you feel the road really good, which makes (high speed) cornering predictable.

Things not so good about the car:

- View backwards isn't that good when you're smaller like my girlfriend. Seat can't be set high enough. So parking backwards isn't that easy for her.

- Suspension is rigid, which is maybe not that comfortable for longer rides.

- Selecting the reverse gear isn't always easy.

- Small horn buttons. I'm just to slow finding them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2009

12th Nov 2009, 03:05

An update: The flashing motor electronics light seems to be a broken lambda sensor (exhaust). Replacing is not necessary, but it could lower the fuel consumption (so I was told).

1995 Opel Astra CL 1.7 diesel

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired143500 kilometres
Most recent distance162742 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

An economic, reliable good looker

Faults:

So far, nothing has gone wrong with the car, it still handles as when I just bought it. If I really have to find one thing to 'complain' about, it will be the lock of the left front-door, it feels a little like it's coming loose. This is the most reliable car I've ever owned.

General Comments:

Great handling both in the city as on the open roads. You're always completely aware of what you're doing. On the field of performance, it sure misses something, bud I bought the 1.7L diesel for it's low consumption, not for it's performance. I manage to keep an average of 5.8L/100Km.

The seats are comfortable. I was surprised by the improvements made in the Astra. It has enough space for 4 passengers. Notice: My previous car was a 1975 Kadett 1200N wich explains why I was surprised.

Engine noises are low, wind noise is low as well. I even love the way it looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2003

2001 Opel Astra Coupe Bertone 1.8 16v

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Good looking sports car with luxury!

Faults:

Nothing serious, only "small" things that could not be solved by the dealer.

Rattle in passenger door.

Rattle in dashboard.

Rattle in passenger seat.

When opening or closing the doors, the windows go down and up an inch to avoid scraping the rubbers. The passenger window did not always wanted to go back up automatically. This problem was solved by the dealer.

General Comments:

The car is a beauty!

The performance is really nice despite the 'low' 125 bhp.

When you do not drive it to its limits, the car has a very low fuel consumption.

The comfort is super, a real Gran Tourisme car for cruising lots of miles.

But unfortunately, some small rattles bother me, and the dealer cannot find anything, despite multiple attempts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2002

28th Jun 2002, 08:32

Yes I have a rattle in the drivers door when going over bumps and cannot resolve it. The door opens and closes very smoothly and nicely, but it's only when driving that it make a noise as though it's inside the bodywork.

10th Oct 2004, 11:59

Hello, I own the 2000's Astra Coupe Bertone and I'm proud to say that this car is brilliantly constructed. It's shape is so nice and the 125bhp are great. There is a moment when I feel like I'm flying. This is a great feeling for me. I love my car and this is the way that it should be driven- like a bird.

2nd Nov 2010, 10:20

I have this car for maybe 5 months now.

I had a problem with the clutch pump and had to replace it as well as the thermostat.

I do a lot of driving with four plus me in the car on very curvy roads and I'm really impressed with the handling and with the suspension as a whole. It drives pretty well and the feeling of full control over the car is wonderful. Indeed from time to time there are some squeaks from the dashboard, but this is a small price to pay for the pleasure of driving it.

Another thing is the smooth outlook and when you see people turning back just to have another glance at you...

This is a great car that gives you a great feeling and experience.

Greetings from Bulgaria. :)

2001 Opel Astra Coupe 1.8 (92kW)

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 (92kW) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Classy medium performance sports car!

Faults:

The electric window at the passenger side jammed after 100 km.

Clutch pedal is sticky.

CD-player malfunctioned from the start.

Water in the headlights.

General Comments:

Although suffering some minor faults since the beginning, the car is now perfectly in order. It runs very smooth and yet is very sporty and quick.

I'm very pleased with the car, and certainly the Caprie Yellow color is amazingly beautiful!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

1994 Opel Astra GL 1.7 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10

Faults:

- Bad tuning motor lead to pressure and starting problems after 30.000 km.

- Dynamo had to be repaired 4 times.

- Inside mirror fell off.

- Switch for warning lights could not be turned off.

- Motor gets overheated pulling a caravan over mountains.

- Small rust problems.

- Several leakages.

General Comments:

Positive :

- accelerating well with acceptable fuel consumption.

- rather silent.

Negative :

- Poor reliability (in 150.000 km, it let me down more than 5 times (compare to Mazda 626 that made me walk once (battery) in 200.000)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews