1999 Opel Corsa CDI 1.6 16v Automatic


Average car


Overall, the car is very nice, but it has a lot of problems at 100000 kms. The EGR valve had problems, the engine pot had to be replaced, and the indicator would not work.

General Comments:

The acceleration of the car is quite good for an old model like this. It can go up to 200 km/h, which is amazing. However, sitting in this car can be uncomfortable for passengers, as there is little space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2010

2003 Opel Corsa CDTi 1.7 turbo diesel


Fast, Fun, Cheap to Run


Door panels scratch easily.

Problem With Battery Light Coming On.

Drivers door is mounted poorly with a large gap.

General Comments:

Great in snow, doesn't slide at all, will out drive anything else on the road when it ices over, very predictable if it does slide, very easy to catch.

Leg room can be a little lacking for taller drivers.

Wind noise at any speed. Opel problem.

Bad rear visibility; especially when pulling out of junctions.

Noisy engine. Quite primitive, but pulls well in each gear and gives amazing economy.

Good powerful lighting and fog lamps.

Surprisingly comfortable for a small car.

Handles like a go cart on continental - sport contacts; (factory issued) will corner at any speed safely, with little or no body roll.

Good Brakes, with ABS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

13th Aug 2004, 15:10

It is a wonderful car. I use it as a motoring school.

30th May 2006, 14:50

I Have a 1.3 CDTI I think it is great cheap to run quick off the mark, I would buy another, only fault with mine was a failed alternator, but Vauxhall repaired that free of charge great little car.

13th Oct 2006, 20:25

I have a Vauxhall Corsa 1.3 CDTI. It's superb. I love it. Very nippy for a 1.3 diesel.

19th Oct 2008, 03:09

Bought a Corsa 1.3 CDTi 5 weaaks ago. When in 2nd gear at about 10-15mph it makes a knocking noise. Vauxhall say their technicians can't hear it, and say it's fine.

Also the the light that looks like a car split in half by a spanner now comes on and stays on; it takes numerous attempts to start it. Again Vauxhall said there's nothing wrong.

It's going back in again overnight for them to do a cold start, so let's see what fob off story they come up with next.

One thing's for sure, I ain't stopping till its sorted. I've paid 5k for this car and honestly wished I'd kept my old 99 T reg 1.7tdi estate; at least I never had a grumble from it.

The turbo is very noisy on the Corsa too.


11th Jan 2009, 15:05

Just bought a Corsa 1.3 diesel 56 Dec first registered 17k genuine mileage, immaculate. Poor starting from cold horrible turbo whine in all gears. Wish I had kept my old 1.7 Astra. Junk is the word.

2003 Opel Corsa 1.2 petrol


High performance economical car, but so terribly noisy inside the cabin


No remarks.

General Comments:

Uncomfortable seats for long trips.

A high quality build car with a super economic engine, but SO terribly noisy engine + 3500 rpm. On top of that wind, road noise exceeding speed +100 km/h makes the trip uncomfortable. Are all cars of this size so noisy on the highway? Why do engineers do not pay more attention on this point!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2003

1989 Opel Corsa Swing 1.0


Economical, basic runner for DIY


Battery on the weak side, but that's normal, it lasted since 1990 so... Also found out that the rear window sprayer didn't work... it fact the liquid-tubing was broken where the boot opens. All the sprayer liquid leaked into the boot, doing no good knowing the rust problem of this car! the attachment of the boot piston lever is rusting and getting loose, I have to re-fix from time to time as I once got the whole boot door falling on my neck! Lucky me I did not feel anything!

General Comments:

Since this is my first car, I love it... OK, it's 'only' the 1.0litre (45hp) but it's a nice revvy engine and the gearbox shifts easily. Pity the fourth gear, which also is the last gear is much too long, you can already set it at 60 km/h... highway cruising is very noisy, gas mileage is about 6.2l/100km, interior very basic, but roomy (I'm 1.90m and don't touch the ceiling), good driving position... Braking: just enough, slamming in it with pulses works just good ;-)

Handling: car leans too much in curves, perhaps shock absorbers wearing...

Rust: rear arches, behind the rear bumper, in the front doors, and the battery compartement... all treated with anti-rust regularly and seems under control... since in my possession, no off. maintenance yet and still OK like that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2002

29th May 2004, 07:20

I was just wondering out of interest, does the '89 opel corsa have seat-belts fitted at the rear of the car.