Hyundai Galloper Review from Bosnia and Herzegovina

1997 Hyundai Galloper I 2.5 diesel (non-turbo)

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 diesel (non-turbo) Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance44000 kilometres

Summary:

It was a good value for the money

Faults:

Air-conditioning failed at 30k. Struts had to be replaced at 40k.

General Comments:

This is a rare car, Galloper I is a replica of a pre - 1989 Mitsubishi Pajero, basically a design that fully originates from about year 1980, even though the car has been made in 1997.

It is more boxy than Galloper 2 - which has somewhat rounder looks. It is SWB, pretty uncomfortable for long rides.

It has been reliable so far (purchased it almost new, with 9000 km) except the struts were gone before 40k and air-conditioning clutch failed at 30k.

Off road is good, however on road handling is poor.

80 HP diesel engine (non-turbo) is underpowered by all means for a car that is about 1750 kg.

Parts are unreasonably expensive at local Hyundai dealership (oil filter is 25 EURO) and most parts are not available - require ordering from Korea and long waiting time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2004

7th Mar 2005, 14:12

I need a service manual for a Hyundai galloper 2,5 td.

22nd Mar 2006, 15:42

Just bought one for a song, only problem is that there are two glow plugs out of order and need to replace them.

Which is turning out to be rather difficult.

Any ideas where to purchase these 12v glow plugs.

Thanks.

30th Mar 2006, 11:37

You do not need original Hyundai glow plugs. I had the same problem on mine, all 4 plugs were gone, replaced it with generic ones (about 4 times cheaper than original), just make sure that the tread is the same and that the lenght that goes inside the cylinder is the same. What sticks outside could be lower or higher. Remove one and go to an after market store which sales parts for Japanese cars and you will find one.

27th Apr 2006, 14:25

I put 2 11v glow plugs and it works fine, by the way does anyone have a service Manual for a Hyundai galloper D4BA engine.

Many thanks.

9th May 2006, 02:53

A little help needed, I have a 1997 Galloper 2.5 non turbo, I need to know the weight of the jeep, its the 7 seater version, weight for front and rear axle, many thanks, RL.

13th Nov 2008, 16:33

I have a Hyundai Galloper, problems with the Glow plugs not working from the ignition key, had new glow plugs 1 month ago and a new battery last week, tic noise on starting could it be the relay. As I am in Spain and do not speak fluent Spanish it is hard to know which relay is the correct one. Can anyone help.

8th Aug 2009, 17:44

Hello.

I need to find a good Auto Mech. in Cartago Costa Rica for my 1997 Galloper, and where to get rebuilt parts? Rob.

8th Feb 2013, 04:53

I'm planning to buy a Galloper 2.5 Tci 2001. What are the most frequent problems of this jeep?

It will be used in Sierra Leone, a West Africa country. Please can you advise?

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 1 review