Toyota Corolla Reviews from Costa Rica

1990 Toyota Corolla LX 1.3L Carb

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3L Carb Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Best car I had ever!!!

Faults:

I had to change the suspension system of the car. Spare parts for Toyotas in Costa Rica are easy to find, and the replacement of these parts was no problem at all.

I also did a tune up on this car a couple of months ago, and now the car is running very good.

General Comments:

Excellent performance.

Fuel economy is around 11 L per 100 km, which is in the range of Toyota's technical info.

Engine has more power than expected for a 1.3 L carb.

However a problem is the installation of seat belts in the back seat. They were not installed in 1990, so two point seat belts are the only chance I have so far.

I'm planning to keep this car as long as I can. Excellent car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2008

1971 Toyota Corolla Deluxe 1.2

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired184000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Sidekick

Summary:

Most reliable and cheap to run car ever made

Faults:

Dirt went inside the carburetor after 100 km in gravel roads.

One headlamp came off after a rally session.

General Comments:

The engine in this car is just bulletproof.

It is bigger inside than you would think when looking at it from the outside.

Changes direction like a dream.

After 36 years in the road it still has not develop rattles.

Back seat is a bit uncomfortable.

Noisy at highway speeds.

Anyone with a wrench and screwdriver can fix it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2007

3rd Oct 2007, 14:59

"Anyone with a wrench and screwdriver can fix it."

- That's understandable...it's like an oxcart by today's standards.

12th Oct 2007, 06:20

What an awesome car. I'd love to have one.

1995 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8 7AFE

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 7AFE Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Reliable basic transportation

Faults:

Clutch began to slip at 115,000 miles.

Fuel pump stopped working at 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car still provides a smooth ride. Leg room in the back seat is OK. Accommodates five adults comfortably.

Other than replacing the clutch and the fuel pump this car has been trouble-free.

There may be other cars more fun to drive, but this is a highly reliable and fuel thrifty car.

Before this one, I had a 1989 Corolla. It had 198,000 miles when I sold it and still was running great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2007

1988 Toyota Corolla XL 1.3 petrol

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres

Summary:

Basic, but hyper-reliable transportation tool

Faults:

Normal wear and tear. However, the interior shows almost no visible signs of tear whatsoever.

A couple of years ago, power door locks sometimes refused to work - the problem disappeared by itself. One of the ventilation controls broke - but that was my fault.

The air conditioner seems too much of a burden for the tiny 1.3 liter, feels kind of like cutting off a couple of cylinders. It has always been like that, since new. That said, it should also be noted that the gearing is chosen to extract the best possible performance out of the little thing, so when the air is off, the car ends up feeling quicker than it really is.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

It's a basic transportation tool and it fulfills its job without drama and without pretense. Great basic design, good choice of materials.

It's just so frigging R E L I A B L E that you would not believe, more so than any other car that comes to mind, except possibly other Toyotas (my father's Land Cruiser for example).

I am also the very happy owner of a 2001 Audi A6; however, I deem the reliability of the Corolla as far superior. I don't know if the Audi will be still with me in one piece 17 years from now, like the Corolla.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

1988 Toyota Corolla XL 1.3

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Patrol

Summary:

Superb family-sporty sedan

Faults:

I had to repair the air conditioning system three times. Minor leaks and seals that failed.

I had to rebuild the engine after 250000kms of hard work.

Besides that, only scheduled maintenance.

I had to change the front seats cover, after 225000kms of having people on them.

General Comments:

This car is the best I ever had. I bought it like new and still like new. I have no complaints.

It is a very fast car and totally reliable. It has never let me down.

We raced about 2 years, like 4 years ago and it has a stunning performance. This is the main reason I had to rebuild the engine.

My wife and I are in love with this car and probably we won't let this baby go ever. As a matter of fact if I will like to buy another Corolla like '95 or so.

This car looks good and feels good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

2nd Sep 2004, 14:15

I have a 1988 corolla gt-s with 120,000 miles. does it have a fuel injection.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews