Renault 4 Reviews from Croatia

1992 Renault 4 GTL 1.1 fuel

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.1 fuel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 kilometres
Most recent distance187000 kilometres
Previous carFiat 128

Summary:

High performance car

Faults:

At 170000 1 cylinder started to nock and fuel pump, fuel was liking in the oil, I've fixed that.

Only you need to look is tyres, oil and water and then your car will be OK.

I made a mistake, I didn't look for a oil.

General Comments:

This car has BIG acceleration, for example I counted 9.8 sec to 100km/h and top speed on the racing track 155km/h. He goes quietly at that speed, no shaking, like you are flowing. he handles corners better than some BMW or Fiat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2003

16th Dec 2004, 18:08

Maybe it's a really modified one. But normal Renault 4s do not fit the description above.

24th Jul 2005, 08:52

No way does a Renault 4 handle corners better than a BMW. Unless you just prefer the way it handles them.

14th Dec 2005, 14:06

Come on!!! maybe if it were a Clio, but a R4? I know lots of people love that car, but its never going to be better drive than a BMW, I am just glad you didn't say BMW M3.

27th Sep 2006, 17:18

I think he is refering to the old 3 series with 4 flat tyres in my back garden.

26th Dec 2006, 22:15

Maybe he hade a motor from renault 5 1.4 turbo!

20th May 2007, 15:42

Ye are you sure about that??

18th Aug 2007, 06:00

Just believe it!

Renault 4 can do it all.

I've got a '83 model, and just 3months ago I've driven it at 137km/h with old tires : (

And it's the best car on the road.

Just don't forget to change the oil again...

1990 Renault 4 GTL 1.1 petrol

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet has gone wrong, except some minor repairs (exhaust, brakes, changing oil, tires ....) after 100.000 km.

General Comments:

It is very good car for its class. I am very sorry it isn't possible to buy a new one. It is cheap to maintain, and it is a very economic car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 1999

10th Jun 2005, 08:27

The Renault 4 is lovely car with unique shape, little bit funny car possessed by local Don Juan. I heard (is it true or not) that, for example, hood of Renault 4 is same price like hood of Mercedes or BMW. Also I heard that this car is not good because things like mirrors, handle of gear lever...,can be easily broken and it is another expense for owner. Evil tongues said that floor of the car can be eaten off by rust and passengers can drop out!

30th Jun 2005, 12:03

The original French parts are quite expensive, but they're still worth using, since Italian parts are of lower quality and tend not to fit properly.

True, rust can be a problem, but I've never heard of anyone falling out of it. Nobody's fallen out of mine, and I've managed to squeeze eight people into it once. Got a ticket for doing it, too. :)

27th Jun 2006, 01:18

I do not really agree with your comment: the hood of the R4 has got the same price than Mercedes, or BMW's. I am living in Germany and if you look for spare parts for BMW and Mercedes they are REALLY expensive. As for the mirrors and so on... they can always break, but not easily, though remember you DO NOT NEED special tool to replace them :-)

20th Oct 2006, 10:14

You can't fall out of it through the floor because the floor is a part of the frame. That's malicious.

Average review marks: 8.8 / 10, based on 2 reviews