Citroen AX Reviews from Denmark

1992 Citroen AX 1.1i

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen 2CV

Summary:

My best friend when it rains!

Faults:

I've had a lot of problems with the brake disks, but after having them changed a few times they are now working perfectly.

Right and left "front-arm" changed (the one who holds the front wheels).

The generator was changed at approx. 95000 km.

General Comments:

It may not be the most fancy or high-tech car in the world, but it runs smoothly and I haven't faced any major problems that couldn't be found in any other car at the age of 11!

And it has absolutely NO corrosion apart from small cracks and bumps here and there.

I believe that it is a good and rather swift little car, and it brings me safe and sound from A to B.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

28th Jul 2006, 13:13

I have an AX and would love to put a body kit in it, amongst other customisable parts, however I just bought it 6 months ago, and it's already 12 years old. Only 70,000 miles on it though. My problem is that I haven't got a clue how long it will last.

2nd Feb 2007, 16:39

I have a k-reg ax debut my first car and had nothing, but hassle with it the last 6 months, the biggest job was the matrix heater had to be replaced. I'm busy getting her modified its half way to been finished just the low profile front bumper to go on and then re-sprayed! I just hope she doesn't end up on the scrap heap before then!!

1989 Citroen AX 11TRE petrol

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

Very comfortable

Faults:

Master cylinder broke down.

Drive-shafts cracked.

Minor heat problems.

General Comments:

This is my first car and I simply love it. The seats are extremely comfortable. They are very soft, but support very well anyway.

The only problem is the maximam speed (approx. 140 km/h), but it has a great acceleration.

As far as I can tell the three problems listed above are very frequently occurring problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

1993 Citroen AX Attraction 1.1i 60bhp

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.1i 60bhp
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10

Faults:

The front brake discs are too fragile. They last for only app. 10000kms.

Engine has "hiccups" but no mechanics are able to figure out why.

Many minor faults.

General Comments:

Good car when trouble free. Too many annoying faults. However this is a cheap car so that is to be expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

17th Dec 2000, 10:22

My '94 AX 1.1 also had those "hiccups" you told us about, and the mechanics couldn't find out what was it either...

18th Jul 2001, 20:35

It's not well received in Malaysia as it is branded under the name Proton Tiara (1.1GL). Lots of engine problems mostly and costly spare parts and difficulties in getting spare parts caused Proton to discontinue the model after several years from it's launch.

Also the resale value is very poor; The car worth RM 32K when new, now a 1995 model is worth RM 16,500 in Malaysia.

9th Dec 2001, 09:33

I had a 1989 F reg AX 1.1RE, and it also hiccuped. It was never cured and I got so annoyed driving it that it got sold after less than a year of having it.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 3 reviews