Peugeot 405 Reviews from Dominican Republic

1993 Peugeot 405 GL 1.6 gasoline

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance142000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

The worst decision of my life

Faults:

Engine block was broken at 118000 kilometers.

Engine starter failed at 135000 kilometers.

Carburetor failed at 137000 kilometers.

Clutch has failed at 138000 kilometers.

Front brakes discs failed at 125000 kilometers.

And more.

General Comments:

It's the most unreliable car that I ever had.

In my country the dealers are thieves, because they sell the parts at the most expensive price and have a bad warranty.

There is not a reason for having a Peugeot in this country, because here Toyota has ten times more cheap parts and is five times more reliable. The Peugeot is a car that you can't trust. I don't know why the people buy a Peugeot in this country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

23rd Aug 2001, 05:19

Hmm, I don't understand how the carburetor on your 405 gave you problems... it doesn't have one, it is equipped with a Bosch injection system.

1st Oct 2001, 15:43

Well, I bought a Peugeot 405 GL 1.6 at 47 000 km on 20 Sept 2001. It's a very nice car and Peugeot make good motors.

25th Oct 2001, 08:03

I have a 1.8i GL and, other than wear and tear, I can't really complain.

28th Oct 2001, 02:50

I have 405 saloon (here in Indonesia we called STI model). It doesn't have carburetor. The really problem is my automatic transmission (difficult to find a good workshop to repair). Overall is OK with its price!

23rd Nov 2001, 16:24

At this age and this milage WHAT DO YOU EXPECT??? Its not going to be perfect with that amount of use especially if it has not been looked after very well. At least in the sunny Dominican republic you don't have rust to contend with.

2nd Nov 2002, 16:10

I think the peugeot 405 GL is one of the best cars I've ever had.

3rd Feb 2009, 16:06

I am going to buy a Peugeot 405 1.6 GR 1994. If anyone can help about how this car is, what has gone wrong with... please... now...

18th Dec 2009, 07:11

Peugeot 405 is a good car. The car has never stalled, never refused to run. It always says yes.

Mine is a GL Carburetor, consumption is satisfactory, 10km/l city drive and up to 14km/l highway drive. The car was well taken care of by the previous owner and I am keeping the legacy.

I have had to keep watch of the suspension system, bushes especially. They wear out quickly on rough road. Other than that, the other things I have changed were due to normal wear and tear with age.

The car is comfortable; even after six hours of driving it feels like I went to the shop and back.

3rd Jun 2010, 03:22

It's funny how you realised years later that the 405 is a very respectful car. Maybe you got one that was poorly maintained by the previous owner. If you had found one that was properly maintained, you wouldn't have even thought of selling it. :)

1993 Peugeot 405 GL 1.6 carburator

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 carburator Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres
Previous carIsuzu Impulse Turbo

Summary:

Strong chassis but not so electrically reliable

Faults:

Engine block broken at 11800 km (over heated), both disc brakes and pads, engine starter failed at 136000 km, water pump failed at 123000 km, and gas pump too.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and handles very well, has an strong chassis and the car height is very good for the holes in the road. This is because the Dominican Republic streets are like a safari rally. But this car is not as reliable as a Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2001

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 2 reviews