1991 Ford Sierra CLX 2.0i DOHC

Summary:

Cheap, fun and great, but be careful with the rust

Faults:

Not much. The clutch was worn when I bought the car, and blew during the first two weeks of ownership. This probably due to fact that the previous owner was an old grandad who probably used the clutch to adjust the speed.

MAP-sensor went mad, causing idling at 2500 RPM.

Changed the valve cover gasket as it was leaking.

Other than that - nothing.

General wear and tear; oil changes, oil filters, spark plugs, air filters and tires changed.

General Comments:

I have driven it for 30,000km now without problems. Really reliable, starts even in the coldest of winters.

Very comfortable for a 20+ year old car. I sometimes take trips more than 500km long without problems.

RWD, great looks and good performance. I have lowered it with sport springs and fitted a sport exhaust, LSD, 15" wheels with 205/50 tires. Really fun to drive, especially in snow :)

The 2.0i DOHC engine is strong and still gives you great fuel economy.

Easy to work on, I have done everything by myself. Parts are cheap and easy to find too.

Quality car that was ahead of its time when it was launched back in the 80's. Costs nothing these days, lots of car for the money. A recommendable choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2013

1984 Ford Sierra L 2.0

Summary:

Sporty and solid car

Faults:

The radiator cap had to be replaced.

The steering wheel position had to be adjusted. When you were driving straight, the wheel actually gave an impression that you are turning left.

The car did not always start when raining.

The battery had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Some faults yes, but in general the car was very solid, very well built. No rust whatsoever.

The car was way too light from the back, and it was a rear wheel drive, so you had to keep a heavy sandbag to prevent the car from skidding off the road.

The three door version of Sierra is a very sporty looking car.

Very spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2009

1987 Ford Sierra C 1.6

Summary:

Why did they even manufacture this car

Faults:

Camshaft worn, had to buy a new engine.

Strange sounds coming from in front of the car when steering wheel is being turned.

After a heavy rain, car always fills up with water up to my ankles. (No holes found and windows don't leak)

General Comments:

Slow and boring car, consumes too much of gasoline.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

6th Sep 2004, 11:07

Is it any surprise your camshaft was worn!..at almost 300 thousand kilometers I think it's a testament to this engine.

I had an old 1.6 Sierra for years, and with the exception of a clutch cable every few months, its never ever let me down.

18th Oct 2007, 17:23

This is huge mileage to get from a mass produced car. If you ask me you have done well!

22nd Nov 2007, 15:48

Who changes a whole engine because of a worn camshaft??

I agree that sierras are not the most economical of cars, older Fords never were noted for frugality.

1988 Ford Sierra GL 2.0 OHC Carburetted

Summary:

Good car, cheap to maintain

Faults:

Automatic choke went - I changed over to a manual one, as advised by other Sierra users. The ESC II electronic ignition system has been disabled because of this.

Clutch - was easy to replace. Also fixed a leak from the rear main seal at the same time.

The drive axles and the final drive are acting up now - due mainly to a a leaking oil seal and a mechanic who failed to refill the final unit after changing the oil seal. I have a replacement final drive, but in Finland the labour is quite expensive.

The front brake discs seem to have braked - from the other reviews, this seems to be a common problem on the Sierra.

General Comments:

The car is a basic model without any mod cons. Even so, it is very comfortable for motorway driving.

The car is quite torquey compared to the Mazda 626 1.6 that I had before. But the gearing is a bit too tall for city driving, and the car literally drinks petrol. Motorway driving returns a decent 7.5 l/100 km.

The rear wheel drive makes the rear end of the car a bit twitchy in wet weather. Special care required in icy conditions - I am thinking of putting a couple of sand bags in the rear to increase the weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

1984 Ford Sierra Laser 1.6 OHC

Summary:

A good vehicle for daily driving

Faults:

Rust on the top of rear springs. This seems to be usual in older Sierras.

Also the engine has a very bad sound, but that's OK as long as the engine runs.

General Comments:

Nice car, especially when the price was quite low when I bought it. Well, the performance is quite lame with the 1.6 "Taunus" engine, but I have a 2.0 EFI engine waiting in the back of the garage. Maybe some day...

By the way, if you wonder about the model "Laser", I don't know if it was on the lists in other countries, it has power windows OR electric door locks, GL type seats, door panels, body coloured mirrors and such.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2000

1988 Ford Sierra C Estate 1.6

Summary:

Good economical wagon

Faults:

Rear door glass broke up without any reason (car was in a garage). Door sides are rusting away. Oil pump disaster caused a totally destroyed engine (fortunately new replacement engine cost only 3000 Marks (=300pounds) with assembly).

General Comments:

I'm pleased with this wagon, at least there is enough room for almost everything. Thing I'm not very happy is the spartan equipment level, because the model C has even less standard equipment (I haven't ever had another car which don't have a clock or low-petrol alarm light). Rear-wheel drive is really enjoyable in winter (You can affect on every little movement unlike with front-wheel drive).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2000