Mercedes-Benz C-Class Reviews from Germany

1995 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 136ps/hp

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 136ps/hp Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired183000 miles
Most recent distance184500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Great vehicle from the 90's

Faults:

The door locking mechanism seems to be going, but other than that, I cannot say anything else is going or has gone wrong since I just purchased it about a month ago.

General Comments:

This is the second older Mercedes I have owned... the former being a 1990 E320 TD Wagon/Kombi, which unfortunately I had to sell due to an overseas move, and I have since said I will buy no other car than a Mercedes.

I love the car as it handles great, looks wonderful and is overall a great driving experience. I am looking to upgrade it, yet keeps its original form and style... need a bit more horses under the hood though, so performance tuning here I come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2009

2006 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C230T 2.5

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Love it!

Faults:

Nothing broke so far, only drove it for 17K though. Touch wood.

General Comments:

Comfy, spacious, quick enough for me.

Bought it second hand, pretty expensive new, especially with all the extras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2009

1994 Mercedes-Benz C-Class 200D 2.0 diesel

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 100NX

Summary:

As good as a Mercedes should be

Faults:

Slave cylinder in the 1st month.

Broken bleed nipple on service, required new caliper.

The MB stereo cassette occasionally effects the functioning of the instruments, namely: fuel display, temperature display, rev counter and speedo. A new stereo has reduced this fault to just the speedo and this happens each time the stereo is used. Intention is to have Mercedes examine the wiring for a suspected short, meantime do not use the stereo.

General Comments:

The car has been superb, the build quality is as expected and the engine, although slow is excellent, I easily get 1100km from 60 litres of diesel.

The car drives well and has more room than the present generation C-class.

Running costs are very low except for the dealer servicing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2006

1998 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C180 Esprit 1.8

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

A comfortable, well built wagon that's fun to drive

Faults:

At about 20,000km the aircon was leaking gas. The problem was fixed under warranty with no questions asked.

General Comments:

A very well built, luxurious, comfortable station wagon with fantastic brakes, fairly good performance, state of the art safety features and heaps of driving pleasure. In other words: A Mercedes-Benz!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

1994 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Elegance 2.0

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Very comfortable, reliable car, of old Mercedes-Benz quality

Faults:

I own the car for roughly nine months only, so to date no major faults occurred.

Windshield wiper (has that giant one-arm wiper) got stuck at around 160,000 km, which was a rather uncomfortable feeling, driving on the autobahn at about 80 mph. Good luck the rain wasn't that heavy. Roadside assistance fixed the problem quickly, as the wiper suspension just needed a little oil.

ABS warning lamp goes on when starting engine under higher outside temperatures. Probably has something to do with the sensors, since the ABS works perfectly well.

General Comments:

Those old C-class Mercedes are extremely reliable, compared to the current versions.

The 2.0 with 136hp is a little sluggish with the automatic transmission, but goes up to about 130mph. Acceleration at higher speeds is rather good.

I don't know if this is true for all C-classes with automatic transmission, but my accelerator is a little stiff, especially from standstill.

The trunk is huge for a saloon. The seats are as new, considering the age (11 years) of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2005

20th Jan 2006, 08:13

Hi I have a 94 c200 elegance mine is stiff to.

15th Feb 2011, 20:58

The stiff pedal is linked to a switch, for example UAR pushing a switch at full throttle, or you could try WD or oil?

1999 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Esprit 2.0

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz C180

Summary:

A good solid reliable car

Faults:

The horn turned itself on and wouldn't stop. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Execellent car. Drove for 6 months at high speed between Frankfurt and Munich every week with no problems. Slightly uncomfortable after long distances (about 400km without a stop).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews