Volkswagen Jetta Reviews from Germany

2000 Volkswagen Jetta V6

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

It's my baby :(

Faults:

It started off that I would drive for about an hour, and then if I turned it off, it wouldn't start back up, so I would pour some oil in and it would start right back up. There was no oil leak either that I am aware of.

Then days go by, and I can only drive shorter and shorter distances before it'll just turn off. Now I can drive it about ten minutes and it'll die. I have to wait about an hour or so to start it back up. I've replaced the heat coil, fuel pump, new tires, new brakes, and the check engine light has been on since I bought it. I poured gasoline on the filter one day after it died to check if it was an electrical problem or something else, and it still didn't start, soo I'm guessing it's electrical. Help please.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2010

30th Sep 2010, 15:42

Welcome to the world of VW/Audi ownership. You need to get that code read, otherwise, you will just be guessing at what is wrong with the car. The guessing will make you just like most of the VW/Audi dealerships.

30th Sep 2010, 15:43

Sorry, should have added to include your engine type and transmission, although since you are in Germany, you probably have the manual trans.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 turbo

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired74635 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Minor problems aside, I love this car

Faults:

The usual problems I have heard about this car have happened to me.

The center arm console lid has broke off, along with the plastic top of the dipstick.

The latch on the glove compartment broke.

The engine light has come on, mainly because I didn't tighten the gas cap properly.

It is on again right now, but I had it hooked up to a diagnostic machine, and it shows it's a temperature sensor gauge. Not a major problem really. I just keep my eye on the temperature, and so far no problem there.

General Comments:

I've had a lot of the minor little annoyances occur, that have been talked about here, happen to me.

We have driven it 15, almost 16,000 miles, and so far it has held up remarkably well. I love driving the car and the way it handles.

I'm 6'3", and it could be a little more roomy. The back seats are way too small. I couldn't imagine trying to sit in the back seat. The cupholder is in a horrible position, and the button to move the seats is very awkward.

A lot of the interior parts are cheaply made, and as a result, some have broken.

All nitpicking aside though, I really do like this car. I would definitely buy another VW, although I think I might go with a newer model next time around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2010

1998 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg Addition

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carVolvo 242

Summary:

The finest feature of this car is the handling

Faults:

Replaced alternator a year ago.

General Comments:

This is a very fun car. It is very peppy. It accelerates quickly and smoothly.

The finest feature of this car is the handling. You have will have an excellent feel for the road. This is a great car for a driving enthusiast. Power windows can be troublesome and parts can be pricey. Many mechanics take advantage of the fact that it is a German import and charge too much for repairs. These disadvantages aside This is a vary nice car. It will give you handling as on par with the BMW 300 series with a price less the a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2007

2001 Volkswagen Jetta

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Don't even bother purchasing one!

Faults:

I have had my car for less than 2 years. This car is what defines a piece of junk. For the first inspection, it failed emissions. I had trouble with my window door. I took it to the dealership three times. Each time they swore they fixed it. The window fell into the door on a road trip while it was raining. It has two sets of rear brakes and rooters. It failed emissions again at the second inspection. The problems are endless. These are only a few.

General Comments:

Worst piece of junk known to man! I will never purchase another Volkswagon in my life. If you are considering one, please don't!!! Save your self the money!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

1986 Volkswagen Jetta Basic Model 1.8

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.8
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Had to have a new clutch at 200,000 miles. I've had to have a couple of radiators put in. Brakes of course.

General Comments:

This car has probably 260,000 miles. The odometer went out a few years ago and I drive a lot everyday, city miles, too. I'm constantly on the road.

The engine has never been out of the car and burns no oil. Your questions about reliability and performance should take such long term service into account. I decided a few years ago to drive this car until it drops. It just won't drop!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 1999

7th Feb 2005, 08:14

260,000 miles!! Wow. What a car! If only the newer VW's were made as well. I'd feel more confident taking a 1991 VW Golf on a 3,000 mile France/Germany trip from England than I would a 2001 VW Golf due to the dramatic come down in quality and reliability despite the hype...

8th Jun 2006, 18:51

My 1986 Volkswagen Jetta has 362000 on it and still runs like a charm, uses no oil, has had to have one transmission, two radiators, one rear inside door panel, upholstery is still very good, and the engine is unbelievable, gets 32-36 miles per gallon, have had replaced four CV joints, six sets of brakes on the front, one on the back, have gone through six sets of tires.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews