Volkswagen Passat Reviews from Germany

1992 Volkswagen Passat Variant 1.8 petrol

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 121

Faults:

Exhaust was on its last legs when the car was bought - replaced for 450 euros (including cheapo new parts).

Replaced both back wheel bearings within a year of purchase (35 euros each time including cheapo parts).

Rust in the corners of all doors. Back door (5th) rusted especially badly - apparently a common problem with this model.

General Comments:

I purchased this car for 300 euros shortly after moving to Germany with a purpose of getting used to driving on the right-hand side of the road (lived in Australia before) and getting rid of what's left of the car a few months down the track.

Now 3 years later I am preparing for the fact that I will have to part with it shortly - there is too much rust and the mechanics "promised" me I will not pass the next TÜV/MOT/Rego/Technical in November.

Using 8-9 litres of petrol /100 kms, this car took me all over Western and Eastern Europe. I have driven it at the speeds of 175 kms/hour for over 2 hours at a time and never had any problems. Last long trip was to Slovakia - over 500 kms each way in comfort.

Huge inside, comfortable, a little bit on the ugly side, but nevertheless your best mate in any weather.

Changed oil and filters once, added oil once.

Would have driven this car for the next 5 years (despite the funny looks of many German "perfectionists") if not for the technical examination, which the car has no chance of passing.

Very popular in poorer European countries for its durability and low cost of breakage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2009

1999 Volkswagen Passat GL 1.8 turbo

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance116523 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Good to own as long as maintenance is kept up

Faults:

Sensor went out.

ABS brake system replaced (dealership cost).

Replaced front exhaust.

Alarm system went out.

Light bulb out (replaced driver's front / passenger rear).

General Comments:

Car drives great after all was fixed. This was about 4 years after having the car.

It's handles very well (for a a wagon), and has a lot of pull.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2009

2004 Volkswagen Passat Athene 2.0 turbo petrol

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol Manual
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

Great value for money

Faults:

No major issues as I read in this forum... I have only had regular maintenance issues.

General Comments:

Great car in terms of the drive, comfort, looks, safety...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st October, 2008

2003 Volkswagen Passat GLX 2.8 V6

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Would buy another if not for the disappointing maintenance issues

Faults:

Fuel Pump died on turnpike at 60,000 miles. Received recall notice 3 months later. Got reimbursed, but not for the day of work I missed.

Took 3 separate trips to dealer to replace emissions solenoid valve and correct persistent check engine light.

Brakes replaced at 45K miles.

Dealer closed service bay door onto roof and rear window (shattering window). Tried to fix vehicle without telling me about it.

Rear taillight switch and thermostat switch replaced at 85000 due to codes showing in computer.

Every major 'routine' service of this vehicle at the dealer costs at least $500. How is this possible?

General Comments:

Car is seriously smooth and drives well. Moderate pickup from a dead stop, but loves to run on the highway. Handling still feels solid after 85,000 miles.

Interior is very nice and well thought out. Everything is in the right place. It definitely has a German feel... not your parent's Volkswagen on the inside.

Mileage could be better. 23 on the highway is a little low especially with premium fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2006

1995 Volkswagen Passat GLX V6

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Faults:

This car has been nothing, but problems since I bought it. The first day I had to return the car for repairs due to a stalling problem, that should have been the fist clue.

The cup holder broke off.

The lining is falling down.

There is no glove compartment, this is especially inconvenient since there is no space for registration, insurance, maybe a vehicle manual.

The door are very hard to open from the outside. at 101000 miles I had to replace the driver side door handle and lock, just that was 230.00 bucks.

The sunroof/moon roof button came off so now the sunroof is inoperable.

And last, but not least now the transmission is slipping.

General Comments:

I honestly read all of these past reviews before I bought my car thinking that there weren't many major problems I went ahead and bought it anyway. I would definetely not suggest this particular vehicle to anyone. Everything is so expensive to fix, regular parts are outrageous. Overall this is the most undependable car I've ever had, and I've had a few.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

9th May 2006, 19:44

Yeah, right. Broken door handles, no glove space and not a word about engine problems? Did you have one? If not, then I prefer a car with broken handles, but a good engine.

6th Jun 2006, 08:07

I have a 1997 Passat VR6 GLX and it has over 180000 miles on it and it is still running strong. I still haven't changed the timing chain which is recommended at 110000 and still have no problems with it. I have had to replace a handle ($36 not from dealer) but that was because of kids yanking on it. The interior is great and the head liner has fallen, but $30 later it was fixed. The cup holder is of poor material, but it is only $15 to replace. I have replaced the coolant hoses and pump which was the most expensive at around $300, this is necessary and should never be overlooked! You don't want to be stranded on the side of the road.

Overall, the car is very reliable and dependable. Some things are going to break with everyday use, it is how you are going to take care of it that determines the reliability and life of it. Every car can be a good car if you just give it a little TLC and preventive maintenance.

10th Apr 2007, 20:58

Hey guys, there is no maintenance for timing chain. you don't have to replace it!!!if you want you can adjust it, but no replacement. good car, but weak places are water pump and...power steering pump. i replaced 2 water pumps in two years (but lived in SC 100-110F in summer!) overall -good car.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 9 reviews