Alfa Romeo 147 Reviews from Greece

2001 Alfa Romeo 147 1.6 120hp

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 120hp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Love it or leave it

Faults:

Interior dash rattles from first day I got the car. Been to the dealer twice, but seems they can't fix the problem.

Rattle sound coming from the engine mostly when shifting from first to second gear.

Problems with airbag warnings. This occurs from time to time, and the only thing the dealer does is to erase from cars memory. This takes care of the problem for a few weeks.

Very poor paint job (black color).

General Comments:

It's a fast car and handles well for it's category.

I love the interior and it's fantastic design. Looks great with 17 inch alloys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2005

26th Aug 2005, 05:27

I agree about the paint job: thin and quite prone to stone chips (mine is blue inca). Re the airbag warnings: look for bad contacts under the driver and passenger seats. Bad contacts are often a source of the airbag warnings going off for no reason.

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Distinctive 1.6

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance53000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

A beautifully designed and very well put together vehicle

Faults:

Rattles from front doors. Fixed by dealer.

Screeching noise from gearbox while in reverse. Fixed by dealer.

Key code recognition antenna failure (part located inside the steering column cover). Replaced by authorised service station.

Warped front discs. Replaced by dealer under warranty.

Temperamental CD Player. Would seek non-existent CD changer. Fixed itself.

General Comments:

I previously drove an ALFA 156 1.8 company car and was disappointed by its poor reliability and built quality. I absolutely adored the 147's good looks so I decided to give the manufacturer a second chance.

After three years of ownership this small ALFA has given me a few moments of headache and very many hours of happy motoring. The dealer from whom I purchased the car proved to be totally inadequate, but I subsequently discovered a small authorised service station and I've had no problems since.

The car's performance is spirited. Cabin is spacious enough and gorgeous to look at. The electronic climate control has performed impeccably in the (very hot) Greek summers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

4th Jan 2005, 01:42

How many kms did you do on your original discs? I have a 147 (33000 kms) and think my discs are warped since I experience vibrations on the steering wheel when braking from 130 kms/h.

10th Jan 2005, 09:29

I started experiencing vibrations on the steering wheel (while braking) at around 26.000 Km. At first the dealer refused to allow the repairs to be covered by warranty claiming that it was my fault that the discs were warped. It was after I spoke to the head of customer care at Alfa Romeo Hellas that my problem was resolved (although by then my warranty had expired).

4th Mar 2006, 04:01

Screeching noise from gearbox while in reverse. I have the same proplem. you know what is this?

2004 Alfa Romeo 147 Ti 1.6L 120 hp

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L 120 hp Manual
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

Special and Sexy

Faults:

Fuel consumption seems rather high.

Strange sounds occure from time to time

The driver's place is a bit narrow, which is good for sportivo driving, but bad if one wants to have sex...

General Comments:

Fantastic engine sound after 3,500 rpm.

Traction is simply everywhere. The 17" wheels are too much for 120 hp. The car is not that fast due to it's increased weight (1200 kg). Makes any single drive sheer pleasure. The sport leather seats create a similar atmosphere to a much more expensive car. Looking forward to tune it somehow (no turbos and other crap) after the guarantee expires. Can anyone tell me a site or anything similar for Alfa Romeo tuning?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

6th Nov 2004, 02:24

Try using google with keyword "autodelta" (Alfa semi-official tuning ). Also, try speaking to your dealer- some of them are more flexible with warranty conditions than the rest of them, especially since they may provide you with autodelta parts.

8th May 2007, 14:18

http://www.angeltuning.co.uk/ provide an engine remap/DIA package that will add about 15BHP-19BHP. The remap has also been recommended by other 147 owners - see www.alfaowner.com

2004 Alfa Romeo 147 Distinctive 1.6

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3000 kilometres

Summary:

Not only sentimental, but also a reasonable buy

Faults:

- Strange rattles coming from the front passenger door - fixed from the dealer by applying some grease on the door hinges.

- Nothing else.

General Comments:

Stylish, luxurious, quick and of remarkable build quality. A pioneer of it's class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2004

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 1.6 Twin Spark

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Twin Spark Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

A true value for money in an enchanting package..

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The car is probably among the most beautiful cars that are on the road today. It's handling is unique both for experienced and inexperienced drivers. Every time I enter in my garage to leave from home I keep staring at it, admiring it. Try to purchase the 16" alloy wheels and if u can afford it a sunroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

13th Apr 2003, 07:54

The amount of pleasure you can get when driving this is unique. The fast steering wheel with only 2.1 turns makes it ideal for the drivers that are keen on driving fast. After all only these drivers can really understand the term "alfisti".

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 1.6

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance33000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Best 1.6 value for money car

Faults:

No problems up to this point.

General Comments:

This car is really stable on the road and comfortable under any circumstances with the 15" wheels. However 16" wheels are recommended for a "cuore sportivo" driving skill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

2002 Alfa Romeo 147 Distinctive 1.6 120 hp Twin Spark

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 120 hp Twin Spark Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 kilometres
Most recent distance14723 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

As comfortable as an Audi, as fun to drive as a Citroen Saxo VTS

Faults:

Some minor noises from the interior.

General Comments:

The car handling is magnificent. Full of traction and sporty feeling,it makes the 1.6 engine look weak.

The steering wheel is very quick and accurate.

The gear shift is a bit loose.

The brakes are great, but on jumpy roads the anti-lock braking system becomes too sensitive.

The front spoiler tends to hit the ground easily, at least on Greek roads.

Rear seat belts are a bit hard to manipulate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews