Toyota Carina Reviews from Greece

1990 Toyota Carina GLi 1.6 16v

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance198120 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Sunbeam

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

I replaced the battery at 78500 kilometers.

General Comments:

This car is not only a slow family car. The Toyota Carina II 1.6L with 105 horsepower is a very fast car and with a great brake system.

Also handling and steering can be improved if the manufacturer tires and wheels are changed. For example my Carina had 185/70 R 13" tires and didn't have such a good handling. One year ago I put 195/55 15 tires with new wheels and the car has a great handling. We must not forget that it is very wide and that helps it with its handling.

Brakes are very good and never betrayed me. This car has a magnificent dual brake system which functions if your primary brake system fails out.

As far as performance is concerned this car can speed up to 100kilometers per hour in less than 10 seconds and it can reach a 220 kilometers per hour top speed in the highway. Some people in the past mentioned that is not a fast family car because they didn't know how to function it right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2003

26th Feb 2004, 05:47

I've got a 1990 carina II 1.6 16v and I won't believe that you accelerate to 100km/h in less than 10 sec. 12 sec. is more likely.

18th Feb 2005, 10:12

220 km/h and less than 10 seconds to 100, that sounds more like the performance of a 2.0 Carina.

1st May 2005, 15:34

I've got a Carina II 1.6 xli 1990 and 0-100 is under 10 indeed. It's gone about 250000 km and is still running as a clock.

26th Apr 2006, 02:23

You'll be hard pressed to achieve 220 km/h out of a 1.6 litre, 4A-FE equipped Carina. I used to have that same engine in a Toyota Corolla I owned back in 1992, with the 5 speed manual transaxle. It achieved 0-100 km/h in 11.8 seconds, and the best top speed I could ever get out of it was in 5th gear, at 6000 rpm (189km/h), on a downhill stretch.

On the flat, it was struggling to better 183-185km/h maximum. The only thing I can put the 220km/h down to out of a 1.6 litre Carina, is a VERY optimistic speedometer. Maybe the speedo needle should be replaced with Pinocchio's nose, you'll be able to see it "grow" as the indicated speed increases then...

17th May 2006, 05:47

I've got a 1988 Toyota Carina 1.6 and I love it. its 0 - 60 mph is indeed 10 sec and I have reached top speed of 113 MPH. (on a track of course). it has taken me from the UK to spain and back 3 times and it is still trucking! most reliable car I have ever driven!

1993 Toyota Carina E GLI 1.6 benzine

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 benzine Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Faults:

Until this time nothing, but now the car burns oil - about 1 litre every 6,000.

General Comments:

I like to know why have this problem and what site I can visit to discuss this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

11th Mar 2001, 14:42

Mine also burns oil (1ltr for every 1200miles) its a 1993 L Toyota Carina E 1.6. Apart from that its a great car.

15th Jun 2001, 01:35

I have the 2 litre engine and it uses around 1 litre per 10000km.

26th Oct 2001, 14:48

1996 2.0 GLi, mileage 42000, engine noisy on start up when cold, previous Toyota Carina 2.0 the same, any known mods available?

18th May 2006, 09:11

I have a Carina E which also burns oil.

I have changed the valve seals, but there is no difference.

The car still burns oil, now more than 2 l per 10k

Can anybody help me?

Average review marks: 9.3 / 10, based on 2 reviews