Nissan Almera Reviews from Israel

1997 Nissan Almera 1.6 petrol

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Faults:

Air conditioner leaks gas.

General Comments:

Fuel consumption is poor; 10km/liter combined.

Everything else is very good.

Great choice if you do not drive a lot of kilometers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2012

2006 Nissan Almera TEKNA 1.8

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres

Summary:

Simply does everything very good

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

After six months of ownership I am extremely pleased with almost everything.

The Almera is very underrated in the press and I can tell you why: it does everything very well, but simply doesn't do one thing distinctively better then the competition to attract the attention of magazine gloss-heads.

It's their loss, believe me, as the Almera is an excellent car that can teach most other small family cars a lesson or two about build quality, handling, performance and reliability.

It has a fast engine with awesome power at low revs (using Nissan's NVCT technology), grips the road like nobody's business (excellent rear MultiLink suspension), great handling and amazing brakes, reliable, economical with an elegant design and comfy cabin.

I have no doubt that among compact family cars the Almera can definitely receive the title as the "drivers car". The Almera is really fun to drive and simply begs for long, twisted roads to show her full potential (and she has lots of it).

The cabin is well made (It's Nissan, so I didn't expect less), very ergonomic and I really like the central 7" control screen.

I'm a very happy Nissan customer and I promise you that my next car is definitely going to be a Nissan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

30th Apr 2006, 08:54

Great review! I totally agree. Also an Almera owner and 100 % pleased. Great car, one of the best in its class no matter what the general opinion is. Tight, firm handling, long equipment list and legendary reliability.

I also own a Toyota Corolla 2006. While my wife prefers the Corolla I don't. It is boring and feels too soft and rubbery compared to the Almera which, in comparison, is sharper and more precise on the road.

Better then most cars in the price range. As the reviewer said, nothing spectacular, but everything is simply executed nicely.

23rd May 2006, 10:25

Hang on, aren't Nissan's in fact Renault's? How come Nissan cars are good and Renault's really bad (judging from the reviews)??

14th Sep 2007, 17:21

The Nissan Almera is a much better car than the corolla. Its handling is better, its braking is better and power is superb. GET ONE. I really enjoy this car unlike the 2005 corolla, which really haven't changed.

14th Aug 2009, 14:39

Nissan is a Japanese brand while Renault is French. Though Renault got high hold in Nissan's shares, it (Nissan) still is a Japanese brand and of very high quality than that of Renault's. Think about this: why is Nissan available worldwide while renault isn't? Quality issue might be the answer.

13th Oct 2009, 03:24

Well, I was driving Almera sedan 1.7 for a week, while my Xsara was in service (due to crash). Almera gives such bad feeling in curves, I was all the time afraid it will roll. Maybe my mistake is that I am used to Citroen's smooth ride ;)

2002 Nissan Almera Perfect 1.8

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance83267 kilometres
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

A basic reliable car

Faults:

Headlight bulbs kept burning out.

Odometer bulbs replaced unter warranty.

Ignition sensors replaced under warranty.

Brake-pads did'nt last more than 20000 Km

(But that might be due to poor quality brake pads used by the leasing company that serviced this car.

General Comments:

This is very reliable as you can expect from a Nissan.

The car steers and rides quite well although the automatic transmission hurts the performance.

Inside, the plastics give you cheap feeling and the build quality could be better.

The seats are basic, and not so comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

1999 Nissan Almera GX 1.6

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Chared Sedan

Summary:

Well done

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Excellent car, roomy and comfort, good airconditioning. Car has a "hard working life" in unpleasant climatic conditions here in the Middle East, but everything is in place and nothing went wrong. It means that it is very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 4 reviews