Honda Accord Reviews from Japan

1982 Honda Accord Hatchback 1.8 liter

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance500000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

What can top a car that makes 41mpg and has been driven a half million miles?

Faults:

1. Tires wore out at 115,000 miles

2. Water pump went out at 125,000 miles. Went through 5 pumps since.

3.Vacuum pump and some carburetor work around 250,000 miles.

4. Clutch around 300.000 miles.

5. Replaced rear wheel bearings at 375,000 miles

6. Odometer at 413,000 miles in 1998.

7. Radiator at 500,000 miles

8. Right front wheel bearings at 500,000 miles now need replacing.

General Comments:

This car at the beginning made 41 mpg, and has been excellent until about 475,000. Since the odometer has not been replaced we cannot tell mileage today. I am debating on repairing the car at this stage. Due to the price of gas over $2.00 per gallon, I plan to.

My wife hit 2 deer with it 3 years ago and I hammered everything in place and installed new lights on the right side. What a car! Tires made in Japan outlasted American made tires by far.

Hooray for Honda, even after worn out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2005

12th Mar 2005, 22:00

Hmm I had one that year and it was hideous junk pile that didn't even last 150,000 miles even with proper care.

4th Apr 2005, 21:10

I have a 1982 Honda Accord LX given to me this past summer of 2004. Brand new tires, the inside was a mess. It had sat in the driveway for two years. Needed a starter and a new battery. The body is in excellent condition. The windows on the passenger side were sprayed with white paint. To see the car one would not even think of owning it.

But I saw so much potential in the car and plus I needed transportation very badly.

Well, to make a long story short. The couple really blessed me, by just giving me the car. I had to get a bonded title on it due to the title being lost. All together I spent about $203.00 to get it legal.

I has about 149,000 miles on the odometer, purrs like a kitten, I keep it clean as possible and get a lot of compliments. It's very nice. Most of all, I don't even fret the gas prices. This Baby is excellent on gas!!!Hallelujah!!!

12th Dec 2008, 19:06

I bought a 1982 Honda hatchback three years ago. It's great on gas; the only problem with this baby is the hatchback is broken and needs a stick to hold it open. I bought it with 27,000 miles on it and now it has 57,000 miles.

Cute car, no rust and no dings, seats upholstery was shot when I bought it, but car seat covers brought them back to life.

There are minor things wrong with this car, and I do plan on fixing her up soon. Great car, that runs and keeps on running.

1982 Honda Accord LX 1.8L

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Pinto

Summary:

A money pit

Faults:

Needed complete rebuild of all 4 brakes to the tune of over $1000.

Constant Velocity Joints wore out and locked up.

Air Conditioning leaked and compressor seized up.

Power Steering leaked fluid everywhere.

5 separate mufflers went bad.

Heater Core leaked and ruined carpeting.

Numerous electrical problems.

General Comments:

I understand this isn't a typical experience with Accords, but this was a nightmare car. My old Ford Pinto was more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

4th Feb 2006, 06:23

No way is a ford pinto better then a 82 Honda accord.

4th Feb 2006, 18:03

I had both. The pinto had to be beaten with a stick to make it go. I drove the Honda to the srcap yard and had to shoot it between the headlights to put it down.

1993 Honda Accord LX

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance192000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

This is the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

Ignition coil went out at 150000 miles.

General Comments:

This car handles extremely well, and excelerates smoothly.

The reliability of this car was exceptional. I put almost 100000 miles on it and only spent $240 in repairs other than normal maintenance costs.

The seats are roomy and comfortable.

The fake silver coating on the emergency brake and gear shift kept flaking off, leaving the plastic showing underneath.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 3 reviews