Citroen ZX Reviews from Malaysia - Page 2 of 2

1997 Citroen ZX Wagon 1.8

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

I was suckered into buying one

Faults:

The cooling system is bad. The fan motor died at 13000 Km, had it replaced - blew again about 19000Km. Constant problems about over heating. Glad Citroen decided to terminate it once and for all!

General Comments:

I certainly don't recommend the car for anyone in Malaysia. The distributor is close to hopeless. The service center got me to buy an original spots for the Wagon, but could not find a way to fix it. They took back the spots and refunded, but they didn't refund the original switch which costs me approx US$10. I hate the service of the Malaysian franchise operations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2003

25th Jun 2004, 00:13

Where did you acquire your wagon from and where did you send car for servicing?

2nd Sep 2004, 04:56

I fully agree that the Malaysian Principal for Citroen is wrecking the image of the marque.

They are charging exorbitant prices for spare parts and actually are hopeless when it comes to diagnosing the problems.

However, I beg to differ on the view that it is unreliable.

I drive a second-hand wagon, purchased 4 years ago when it had already clocked 85,000kms and now it is at 145,000kms and I don't seem to face any mechanical problems.

The normal problems associated to wear and tear does take place, but that is to be expected.

I would certainly opt for another Citroen, but definitely will not use the service of the local franchise.

22nd Mar 2005, 04:11

The ZX stationwagon or as a matter of fact all the citroen cars in Malaysia are handicapped by the after sales service. Expensive parts, lack of mechanics who are able to do any decent repairs etc. Good car, but killed by the support. I always wonder why the manufacturer in France allows this to happen. For information if you go to certain parts of China you will find ZX running as taxis, just like our Proton in Malaysia. Who says it is not a reliable car! It is not the car it is the after sales service.

1st Jul 2010, 07:02

Not sure if this comment will be timely, or you may have scraped your Citroen. It is a common problem to have temperate engine design in a hot environment. You may have to bear with this. Removing the relay will enable the fan to operate all the time, and effectively lower your engine temperature. However, this will have an effect of wearing down the fan bearing faster.

1996 Citroen ZX 2.0i

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

The disc brakes are not doing their job at 150km/h and above.

I was doing 120km/h when I hit a car in front of me applying a sudden emergency brake.

General Comments:

This car is something when you are in the 3rd gear. It leaves behind the cars in its class miles and miles away, especially on twisting roads or going up hill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2001

1995 Citroen ZX Volcane 8v 2.0i

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance137744 kilometres
Previous carFord Telstar

Summary:

Nothing beats Citroen on road handling

Faults:

Nothing repetitive, only expected wear and tear mechanical parts and the dashboard facial cracked and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The cabin absorbs heat very quickly, but with tinting the windscreen I had the problem solved.

I just simply love the car, I wish I could have the 16v engine fitted to my unit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2001

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 7 reviews