Kia Rio Reviews from Malaysia

2004 Kia Rio LS 1.3

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62 kilometres
Most recent distance48000 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Kancil

Summary:

Needs to be very patient

Faults:

The driver's power window jammed after 3 months (??!!!) and central locking mechanism (tailgate) gave way after 6 months.

General Comments:

Generally, Rio is a very handsome car. I have the 5-door version (Cinco in US) with the 1.3 auto transmission. The car felt quite well screwed, but the lack of low-end pull is REALLY disappointing. Rear legroom is also very compromised if the driver were to push his seat any further to get a comfy driving position. Lastly, the brake system is one of the scariest I've tried in years! Other than the "dead" feeling (or rather the "no-feel") is seriously hampering some spirited driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

3rd Nov 2005, 04:12

Lower the height of the drivers seat. It gives a bit more leg room.

It is irritating that the Rio is built such that you can't see stop lights when you park close up.

21st Nov 2005, 00:20

I wish to know more on fuel consumption for Kia Rio 1.3A base on RM/km.

Thank you

2nd Sep 2006, 12:37

After installing an after-market extractor, the car feels much better and livelier. Highway sprints can made with much ease and the fuel consumption had also improved. The brakes still leave much to be desired.

4th Apr 2007, 14:48

Could you please explain what an aftermarket "extractor" is? I was considering a Rio with the 1.6 until I drove one today and was extremely disappointed with the lack of takeoff power. It's not a sports issue, it's a safety issue for pulling out into traffic. When I left the dealer lot, I had to cross 3 lanes of oncoming 45m/h (US) traffic (about 60 feet) in good time to be safe, and that's not unusual in the US. I'd have been very afraid to try that in the Rio I had just driven, but if there's a performance enhancement I could add, that might change my mind.

Thanks for any help!

27th Jun 2007, 08:26

An after-market extractor is actually the exhaust manifold (likely to be called the "header" in some parts of the world). This is the first portion of the exhaust pipe which connects to the engine block. Trust me when I say that by simply changing to a tuned length extractor, mid-range pull will increase dramatically. As for low-end torque, I'm still working on that... Maybe an A'PEXI SAFC will do the job, haha... I believe you can easily get a tuned-length extractor in US, especially for the 1.6 MI-Tech engine... by the way, I'm driving a 1.3 SOHC 8-valve here in Malaysia : (

2004 Kia Rio LS 1.3

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance900 kilometres
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Stylish look from back and cheap in price

Faults:

- A very minor miss alignment on the wheels where the car tends to move to left when letting go the hands on a straight rood. Need for alignment in the first free service.

- Comes with heater where heater is not applicable in Malaysia (tropical).

- Petrol consumption is high due to automatic transmission and heavy body.

- No reverse sensor (option) and without auto-cruise.

- It if freely to shift from gear P to any other gears without depressing break which is danger as the car may move backward as gear is engaging.

General Comments:

I like this car because of its stylish look from the back and is available with gold colour + fully imported. Also due to market competition my dealer managed to give me 3 round of negotiations + discounts up to total RM2,500.00!

Positive:

- Big boot --- my 3 years old son can lie down and play there! We do not need to stop the car to take items from the boot.

- Cheap! Only RM56,000.00 after discount from my dealer.

- Come with mild dark-glass even though is not a tinted glass.

- Come with original sport-rim and alarm.

- Sound proof (from outside and base).

- Kenwood stereo, but no CD, only cassette & radio.

- Lights are extremely bright.

- Due to it is a station wagon the person who sits at rear seat will not facing the afternoon sun shine to their heads.

Negative:

- Leg room at rear seat is narrow.

- Slow in pick-up.

- Door handlers (internal) are made from cheap plastic - easy to be scratched.

- Model in this country come without fog light.

- No gear lock with this option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

25th Aug 2005, 23:26

I have a 2004 Kia Rio. It has a standard transmission. All the extras are not included. It's a very basic passenger car. I can do 100 mph comfortably. Above 100 mph, I'll have to wear my crash helment. I have one problem with it, my alignment seems to get bad rather quickly. The first time was after 100 miles. The second time approximately 4000 miles and this time at 11000 miles. I have owned other cars this cheap, none of my former cars had to be aligned during the time I had them. Other than that, I am quite happy with my Kia Rio. The service at the dealership has been very pleasant.

2003 Kia Rio LS 1.3 petrol

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance600 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

A good bargain for its class

Faults:

Nothing so far,as the car is still new.

General Comments:

For a 1.3, I would consider my Rio LS a good performer for its class. There are lots of goodies for a car of that price, and the interior quality are much better than my Proton. On motorways to work, the car handles well throughout the journey and capable of putting-up speed whenever needed to. The seats are nice and comfortable, which is certainly good for long journeys -not like those in the Proton.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2003

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews