Perodua Kenari Reviews from Malaysia

2004 Perodua Kenari

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Summary:

Great small car

Faults:

I had my car for normal services at the Perodua outlet.

There is nothing wrong with the car, except for the radio problem in the first place, but then it went good after being replaced by Perodua.

I had the fan motor replaced once as it failed to spin and cool down the engine.

The car had the air conditioning fixed once because of the gas leaking, but not a major issue.

General Comments:

This really nice and comfortable car, especially when comes to long journeys. I had it to Genting with my family and with the air conditioning switch on without any hassle, taking hill climbs over Genting's steep climb out.

Gear shifting was so smooth compared to other competitor in its class.

Definitely a great car, fun to drive, spacious and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2013

2005 Perodua Kenari EZ 1.0

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres

Summary:

Adequate car

Faults:

There are some weird noises when the car is idling.

Brakes wore down after 5 years, and the original wheel rim is very weak.

General Comments:

The design of the seats is very uncomfortable; it does not fit me comfortably, and the suspension is too hard.

What I like is the spacious trunk space of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2010

2000 Perodua Kenari GX 1.0 DOHC

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance998 kilometres

Summary:

Spacious and roomy, affordable and low fuel consumption

Faults:

The first time I drove the car, I can feel that the alignment wasn't that steady, but that was it. After I service it (for free because it was still under warranty), the car feels like brand new again.

General Comments:

Nothing much to complain about the Kenari as I think it is one of the most affordable car that a person can buy. due to the high crude oil price, I think kenari would be the best bet as it is very low in fuel consumption, believe me! I can fill up my tank for RM 15 and can go from Kajang to Shah Alam to Klang to Shah Alam again to Puchong and lastly to Kajang back. I must admot that you can feel a slight bump when you drive a bit fast, but hey, it's not Mercedes or Honda cars, rite? this is is sure a winner for me!Roomy and spacious. Feels comfortable even-though you put 5 people inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2006

2004 Perodua Kenari GX 1.0 DOHC

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired400 kilometres
Most recent distance73000 kilometres

Summary:

Moderate

Faults:

Nothing major. Only had it serviced on suggested intervals. No problems so far.

General Comments:

The suspension is way to soft, even the slightest bumps on uneven roads is a pain!

Ride comfort is terrible!

If you've got 4 occupants, it's much more worse; the slightest bumps will throw them off their seat!

Apart from that, the handling is just OK.

The main point for me is the power that you get out of this car; it's impressive. You can floor it to max revs!

And yes, in cabin sound after 60km/h is annoying!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2006

2003 Perodua Kenari Aerosport 989 cc

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 989 cc Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance13402 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Kenari

Summary:

A good car, but have to watch out for bumpy roads

Faults:

I had to have my car alignment corrected almost every month or whenever I tried some bumpy road.

The side mirror had noise when the car go beyond 80 km/h. The service center acknowledged it as a "technical design flaw" and had it replaced when we went for our 2nd service. The noise is still there though.

General Comments:

This is a nice car and we bought it for its unusual looks, spacious interior and most importantly, a 6 footer will have no problem getting in and out of the car.

The engine is responsive and handling is a bliss with its power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th May, 2004

28th Jun 2004, 02:31

Is the air condition cold enough. Did you change the compressor?

2001 Perodua Kenari

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carProton Waja

Summary:

A good car for in-city use

Faults:

The suspension is too "soft", mine was damaged and need to be replaced. Was told that it was because I ran into too many pot holes. Damaged suspension will increase tyre wear and tear.

The ionizer air filter that came with the car sometimes produce loud fan noise, never fixed.

The cheap plastic and fabric gave bad odor after about six months use.

Kenari has fairly large window glass which let in too much sun light, the air-con is too weak to adequately cool the car without installing sun shade.

General Comments:

Pick-up performance is excellent, yet it doesn't consume much fuel at all.

It is a good second/spare car for city driving.

The salesperson who sold me the car was very unethical though, promising to fix everything, but ended up fixing nothing. but as long as you don't have high expectation, you will come up OK.

There are too many pot holes on Malaysian road. Translation: if you are going keep this car, either be prepare to change the suspension regularly, or drive EXTREMELY carefully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2003

5th Jan 2007, 04:29

My mum and dad want to buy a Kenari. Will it be suitable as a runaround car?

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 7 reviews