1997 Proton Putra 1.8 DOHC Naturally Aspirated

Summary:

You'd forget how bad it is when you're outside the car

Faults:

Temperature seems to risen when the A/C isn't turned on.

Both windows have problems with closing properly straight up.

Water have entered in the floor under the door.

The lack of the rear wiper is just so wrong in all kinds of ways.

General Comments:

Love the sporty looks.

The handling is satisfying.

The seats are comfortable.

The brake pedal is just too near the accelerator.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2010

22nd Apr 2010, 21:59

The temp probably rises because the A/C is on a separate belt, and therefore drives a second thermo fan.

1997 Proton Putra EXi 1.8NA

Summary:

Not bad at all

Faults:

The c.o. mixture was found to be too rich, easily solved by a competent mechanic!

Some squeaks from the suspension when the weather's cold.. but this stopped when the car clocked +30,000km.. I think.

Never liked the 4-spoke steering wheel, so I replaced the wheel with a sportier 3-spoke Momo!

The interior is neat but far from plush.. lots of plastic, standard Recaro buckets match well with the car's lines though.

The engine, 4G93.. a tough gem, pulls 7000rpm without problems.

The back-box (muffler) had to be replaced in less than 2 years.

General Comments:

It's a good car, faster than most in its class, in the same mold of the older Ford Laser TX3.

Pretty reliable engine & gearbox. Yes gearbox.. the ratios are my favourite aspect of this car, perfectly sorted to match the engine.

Build quality is average with so much plastic.

Handling is.. acceptable with medium understeer in tight corners. Beware of fish-tailing when braking hard downhill, the rear can bite! This can be lessened with some toe-in at rear.

It's a budget sporty coupe&good bang-for-the-buck. Too bad it's out of production. I'm still keeping it despite many offers.. so I suppose I like it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st December, 2008

1997 Proton Putra exi 1.8 (m)

Summary:

A value for money car

Faults:

Interior of the car was not so impressive and the Paint work a bit cheap, But with a bit of modification it is not a problem. Also the dash board assembly not very good.

General Comments:

The car handling is verry good.

Performance is overwhelming.

Generally is a value for money car with a bit of modification.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

1997 Proton Putra EXi 1.8 DOHC

Summary:

Good performance coupe with cheap price

Faults:

Whistling sound from the engine bay at 150,000 Km

Leaking head gasket at 120,000 Km

Steering strange sound when do some cornering

Aircond Compressor give problem at 80,000 Km

Recaro seats started to wear badly.

General Comments:

This is good in terms of speeding. No other seems faster than this comparing with the price.

Simple and nice looks, but again better if touch-up with nice body-kit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2002

31st Dec 2006, 23:46

What is your price on that's putra??? is it less than 20k?? My h/p 0176282970.

8th Feb 2007, 02:26

The Putra/Wira 1.8 (M) uses the Mitsubishi famed 4G93 engine. It's a reliable & POWERFUL engine for a normal 1.8 BUT sadly, owners often abuse it and come back to say it's a lousy engine! Believe me, this is the best model from Proton esp; the Wira 1.8 95-97. Its like buying a 4 door GTi, but pity Proton produced only 2,500 units. It's economical for a 1.8 provided you do not exceed 120 km/h, but damn, THIS car is tempting & that's why you "overuse" it. In standard form, it can reach 200km/h without struggling, but how often can you do that. PLEASE Don't! It does 0-100km in 9 seconds if that is NOT fast for street application, then you must be in a TERRIBLE hurry. Please don't, PLEASE! Enjoy your drive, consider others, if you think you are fast, someone will be faster... faster to the grave!! Thank for reading this. I own a WIRA 1.8EXi (M) DOHC LAST batch bought in Nov-2001.

2001 Proton Putra 1.8 EXI DOHC 4G93P N/A

Summary:

Good project car with a basic chassis

Faults:

The anti-lock braking system did not work. A trip to the Proton Service Outlet revealed that the wires were clamped between the relay bracket and the computer box. Fixed with no charge.

Paint-job was poor, running clear coat under the side indicator lamps.

Clutch pump failed at 35000 km mileage. Fixed at about RM150.00.

General Comments:

Despite the poor workmanship and malfunctions, the car has good acceleration and power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2001

16th Feb 2006, 00:22

Wished they had a cheaper 1.3 and 1.5 SOHC version. Like the looks.

10th Mar 2007, 01:56

Basically the Putra is the cheapest sport coupe you can buy in Malaysia. Yet it is fully loaded with performance and style. good buy!!

1997 Proton Putra Exi 1.8 DOHC

Summary:

Easy to maintain and great performance for the price!

Faults:

There was a manufacturer defect: the clutch pump only lasted 24 hours after I took delivery of it brand new from the dealers, but this was replaced under warranty.

Apart from that niggle, there were never any more problems encountered.

General Comments:

Personally I'm very happy with the car.

It fits my lifestyle very well and has ample storage space for those outstation trips, and when required is able to deliver serious performance (after performance mods of course).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001