Proton Satria Reviews from Malaysia

2006 Proton Satria Neo 1.6

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12041 kilometres
Most recent distance14300 kilometres

Summary:

Compact, Sporty, Pretty

Faults:

As I got this second hand, any previous problems (if any) have been rectified. I am yet to experience any malfunctions.

General Comments:

The Satria Neo is a great car to drive but pick up is a nuisance though. I don't understand why the Campro engine works pretty badly at lower revs.

The handling however is brilliant. Supposedly 'handled by Lotus', the Neo's cornering and basic steering is a joy to drive. I can't wait to hop in the car again.

If the pick up was faster, this would be a near perfect entry level car =)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2008

2002 Proton Satria GTi 1.8 DOHC

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carProton Ek9

Summary:

Marvelous

Faults:

Tappet start making noise every 20000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is have a superb handling before during and after turning .It also can whack b16b Type-R civic without any mods

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th January, 2006

15th Jan 2008, 09:51

I have been in one of these cars and when driven without any mechanical sympathy whatsoever it can fly, especially around bends.

But... whack a B16B EK9 Civic? The EK9 Civic Type R is in a completely different league to the Satria! It would wipe the floor with the Satria. The EK9 is more than just a mild hatch; it is a highly tuned track weapon producing 185hp from a 1600cc naturally aspirated engine, with a chassis tuned to exploit all that power.

Don't you dare compare the Satria to an EK9 Civic again!

1997 Proton Satria Gli 1.6 DOHC 16v

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres

Faults:

I got a Satria 1.6 SOHC 16V with UK specification. I test run the car, at 4th gear reach to 5000rpm/160kph and going up very slow. Engine sound very rough. What can I modify to increase the power of that car (except turbo or change engine)?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

22nd Mar 2005, 20:39

You can add a Magic Jet. It can increase your car perfomance up to 15% and save fuel. It looks like a piece of card and very easy to easy with motify anything. Just put in filter there and sure you can do it by yourself.

26th Oct 2006, 22:31

Your Proton Stria 1.6 can't go anymore faster in 160kph, it's because of the (ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT) speed cut...

2000 Proton Satria GTi 1.8

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance5310 kilometres
Previous carHonda City

Summary:

A fine handling Malaysian with well designed styling

Faults:

The car is not as cheap to maintain as I expected.

General Comments:

The performance is acceptable, but handling is absolutely superb (must have been that Lotus thing).

Good price for that kind of car too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

1995 Proton Satria 1.3

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance84000 kilometres

Summary:

A bargain in my country

Faults:

Leaking steering fluid, but was fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Reasonably good car and surprisingly, pretty stable.

Engines sounds kind of rough, but weirdly it sounds smooth early in the morning before the engine has time to warm up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

21st Sep 2001, 06:49

I have owned my Satria 1.6GLi since 1998 and it has been a very reliable car but the rear boot is constantly leaking whenever it rains or when I have it washed. 3 trips to the service dealer later and it still leaks to the point where my spare tyre compartment is now used for a fish tank. And even with power steering, the steering feels quite heavy compared to the Wira's. Maintenance wise, is very low and it can go about 340km on a full tank of fuel. Can anyone get better mileage?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews