Proton Satria Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2006 Proton Satria Neo 1.6 from Malaysia

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12041 kilometres
Most recent distance14300 kilometres

Summary:

Compact, Sporty, Pretty

Faults:

As I got this second hand, any previous problems (if any) have been rectified. I am yet to experience any malfunctions.

General Comments:

The Satria Neo is a great car to drive but pick up is a nuisance though. I don't understand why the Campro engine works pretty badly at lower revs.

The handling however is brilliant. Supposedly 'handled by Lotus', the Neo's cornering and basic steering is a joy to drive. I can't wait to hop in the car again.

If the pick up was faster, this would be a near perfect entry level car =)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2008

2000 Proton Satria Lxi 1.5 sport from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 sport Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired113 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Mutton dressed as lamb

Faults:

Needed a new coil assembly pack. 32,000 miles.

Have lost count how many times I've replaced my spark plugs.

New crank shaft (recently) 32,000 miles.

Its now in need of new dials (rev and fuel) 32,000 miles.

Seats and dash board have started to make a creeking sound. 32,000 miles.

This point is the point I wanted to post a a main fault with the car, "THE CAR HATES RAIN", if you drive this car in the rain or after a heavy down pour, the rain itself or the water from the road seems to get to the engine to easy and wets it all, causing it to misfire every time... so a can of wd40 is needed in the glove box at all times... very annoying!!!

General Comments:

Even though its quite lively for a 1.5, its fails to represent the cars looks, as it has the gti's body kit and not the power, in short, its in fancy dress really.

It does sound like I've ripped the car to bits, but until this year after driving it for 4 and a bit years its been great, now the cars faults are starting to show.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

2002 Proton Satria GTi 1.8 DOHC from Malaysia

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carProton Ek9

Summary:

Marvelous

Faults:

Tappet start making noise every 20000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is have a superb handling before during and after turning .It also can whack b16b Type-R civic without any mods

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th January, 2006

15th Jan 2008, 09:51

I have been in one of these cars and when driven without any mechanical sympathy whatsoever it can fly, especially around bends.

But... whack a B16B EK9 Civic? The EK9 Civic Type R is in a completely different league to the Satria! It would wipe the floor with the Satria. The EK9 is more than just a mild hatch; it is a highly tuned track weapon producing 185hp from a 1600cc naturally aspirated engine, with a chassis tuned to exploit all that power.

Don't you dare compare the Satria to an EK9 Civic again!

1997 Proton Satria GLi 1.5 SOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance128000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

Mitsubishi design... Proton quality and improvement

Faults:

The radiator cracked at about 100,000 which is normal wear & tear... that's it! The car has been of fantastic quality.

Small engine... but that's why the 1.8 DOHC exists.

Needed a bit of work (lowering + wider tires) to get the car's handling to emerge powerfully.

General Comments:

Quick, fast, cheap!

Everything you would expect from a FF with wear and tear.

Good cornering ability.

Good fuel economy.

Engine sounds ruff, but has powerful acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

1997 Proton Satria Gli 1.6 DOHC 16v from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres

Faults:

I got a Satria 1.6 SOHC 16V with UK specification. I test run the car, at 4th gear reach to 5000rpm/160kph and going up very slow. Engine sound very rough. What can I modify to increase the power of that car (except turbo or change engine)?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

22nd Mar 2005, 20:39

You can add a Magic Jet. It can increase your car perfomance up to 15% and save fuel. It looks like a piece of card and very easy to easy with motify anything. Just put in filter there and sure you can do it by yourself.

26th Oct 2006, 22:31

Your Proton Stria 1.6 can't go anymore faster in 160kph, it's because of the (ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT) speed cut...

2002 Proton Satria GTi 1.8L petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance67900 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Great fun, but unreliable!

Faults:

From new, the stabilizer bar came loose and took 3 weeks to repair.

At 16000 kilometers, a short developed in an electrical circuit (did not find out where) and was off the road for 2 weeks.

At 62000 kilometers, spark plug leads shorted and blew ignition coil. New leads took 3 1/2 weeks to come from Proton.

Developed many rattles in trim constantly requiring rectification.

Steering wheel vibrates during idle.

Front and rear decals (badges) peeled off.

Many other parts including rear view mirror, dimmer switch, plastic stereo surround, etc... have been replaced.

All has been repaired under warranty thankfully, but I would not say enthusiastically.

General Comments:

I have thoroughly enjoyed driving the car, on long and short drives. Around the city, it is able to set the pace, in the country and on winding roads the car is completely at home. Rough roads can be a little choppy though.

The car is quick and handles like a go-kart. This is by far its best feature and I couldn't rave about this aspect enough. Very few roads I have found can really do it justice.

The Mitsubishi engine is reliable and strong, but the overall build quality does let the car down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004

26th May 2005, 03:54

The car is under powered and toooooooo heavy to be classed as a Hot Hatch.

Its quite slow really.

26th May 2005, 03:56

Good handling, but "oh so slow".

1st Jun 2005, 05:22

Everyone says its really slow, but I don't understand? I have a year 2002 model and it is quick especially when launched at 5k rpm. Try driving it with full throttle shifts (accelerate hard then change gear without taking your foot off the accelerator). Warp speed!

29th Oct 2005, 07:03

Yes it is seriously a very slow car, but makes up for it in handling.

11.1 seconds to 100km/h is quite bad, my 1.5l echo can do it in 9 seconds.

20th May 2006, 18:32

Have a year 2001 model. Handles great around corners. Initially was impressed with the power (used to own a ford laser) but later found it a little low in the power stakes. Put a power chip in for $1000 bucks and use 98 octane found a nice power boost to keep me satisfied for a little longer. Until I get used to the power once again...

Tom Z

26th Oct 2006, 01:15

0-100km/h in 11.1 seconds??? are you sure or are you just doing a "GTI-Bashing"??? The GTI has 150 ponies under its hood stock standard with no mods... ermmm!!! With that kind of ponies & power-to-weight ratio, it should be under 8 seconds, unless the Law of Physics has changed...

22nd Nov 2006, 07:14

Yer the 0-60 time is actually 7.8seconds, where the hell did you get 11 from lol.

29th May 2008, 05:19

I have a Proton Satria GTi non turbo. How many seconds do they do the 1/4 mile in?

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews