2001 Proton Waja Reviews from Malaysia

2001 Proton Waja 1.6

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carProton Waja

Summary:

No need to say, everybody knows

Faults:

Boot lid fails to remain standing after opening, knocking the head and neck if bending over into the boot and doing loading. Service centre said it is a design fault, nothing can be done. Have been injured many times. Please suggest modifications to solve this problem!

General Comments:

It won't be my next car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2011

2001 Proton Waja 1.6 petrol

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance196000 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

GOOD CAR if the material quality improved

Faults:

Problems;

- Power window bracket

- Door handle

- Temperature went high, nearing 100 Celsius if stuck in traffic jam more than 30 minutes, if I'm using air condition together with fog lights. Temp goes normal if I turn off the lights. It seems more likely a electronic problem... I think so.

General Comments:

- Handling superb.

- Very silent engine... my one.

- NVH not bad.

- Comfortable for the passenger.

- 150 km/h still steady on highway.

- Top speed I had tried 190 km/h.

- FC not bad. Better than my previous Wira for long distance ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th December, 2009

2001 Proton Waja 1.6

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carPerodua Kancil

Summary:

Inferior goods

Faults:

Absorbers spoil after less than 5,000 km.

Radiator leaks after less than 10,000 km.

Radiator leaks again after less than 11,000km.

Rattling sounds from car after less than 10,000km.

Steering sounds from the very beginning.

Alarm goes crazy as it wishes from the very beginning.

And many many more problems; just too many to list down.

The best of all is when I send the car to Proton for the problems to be rectified, the service centre officials told me this 'this car is a Proton, it is like that one, cannot expect too much' instead of helping me rectifying the problems I am having with my useless Proton Waja.

I have spent approximately RM20,000.00 repairing this car, My advice is do not buy anything with the brand name Proton on it. I have since upgraded to a Perodua Myvi 1.3 EZI Auto, a much superior car compared to any Proton cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2008

2001 Proton Waja 1.6

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45 kilometres
Most recent distance45 kilometres
Previous carNone None

Summary:

Overall besides all the problem the engine is good

Faults:

Power window always have faulty operation.

Water enter fog lamp whenever it rains.

Door handle has a very short life time that is only around 2 years.

There is always a noise in the right rear suspension.

Engine is less powerful compared to other cars in the same cc when going up hill.

Body is not solid as being promoted.

General Comments:

The handling of this car is superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2006

2001 Proton Waja 1.6(M) 1.6

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

Great handling

Faults:

Quality problem.

General Comments:

Great handling, but need improvement in the car quality and also after sales service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

2001 Proton Waja 1.6

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carProton Satria

Summary:

Worth the money

Faults:

Door handle is broke one time. Change all to chrome. NO need to send for painting.

Power window at driver seat malfuntion. Change.

Head lamp always burn. only OK after putting a relay to head lamp.

General Comments:

There is no issue on handling because is superb.

Fuel consumptions it OK compare to the mod that have been made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2006

2001 Proton Waja

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Proton needs to listen to their customer!

Faults:

After 20 years of manufacturing cars, proton's power window and cabin noise still sucks! Proton needs to improve those badly as noise level is just too high. It picks up every pot holes and you can feel it. The car seat is another, very hard and not suitable for long distance. For a 60K car, it is not worth it. My wiper broke at 75K. My reverse sensor only work when I already hit something. The remote central locking is just worst - only working when you are within 1 metre radius from the car. The front absorber is giving me problem at 70K. Poor pick-up!

General Comments:

So far, it never failed me while I am on the road, and it starts every time. Easy and cheap to maintain in Malaysia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

2001 Proton Waja 1.6AT 1.6AT

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6AT Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carProton Saga

Summary:

Buy if you can't afford the extra taxes

Faults:

Driver side power window failed after 1 year. Fortunately still under warranty.

Have the car for 4 years now. I have replaced all 4 power windows. The problem part is the ridiculously expensive ABS plastic that probably cost RM30 to produce, but cost dear me RM400 (front door) and RM250 (back door).Why can these people at Proton just strengthen or thicken the plastic at the problematic area? You don't need a genius to figure that out.

I have also change all the 4 door handles. The second round of change has just started, this time around I will just change to the black one. In 6 months' time, I should have all 4 handles in black as they are 'cheaper' at RM30 compares with RM70 for the coloured one.

The next item on the list will be the 4 absorbers. Will go for Japanese absorber this time, no more playX2 with Proton parts where possible.

I guess Proton is not in serious business of making good cars with good and reliable parts. I think they are more interested in the parts replacement market or the plastic recycling.

The Waja is not a bad car to start with. It has great driving dynamic and quite a fun car to drive especially cornering. Unless you do not mind visiting the 'sour face' receptionist at the service center every now and then and pay for those cheap plastics, I would recommend this car to you. Otherwise you should just buy a Toyota Altis and pay the government an extra RM50,000 in extra sales tax (Aren't we paying too much for this supposedly 'the most reliable' car around - remember the alien advertisement?).

Maybe it is still cheaper to change the power window casing and the door handles many times over (also one way to clear the annual leave) than pay the taxes??? and the same time "Let's Recycle". Hmmm, something to ponder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2005

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 16 reviews