2001 Proton Wira GLI Aeroback 1.3L EFI

Faults:

Power window failed on both driver & front passenger sides, despite low usage.

Leaking radiator.

Air conditioning compressor replaced once. But then broke down again later, but the same unit was repaired again.

Flywheel oil seal leaking.

Spark plug cables replaced due to check engine light going on when revving at high revs.

General Comments:

This car was formerly driven by my mom, who has now passed it over to me.

If you are expecting great city driving fuel economy out of a small 1.3L engine, you will be very much disappointed.

Fuel economy in short distance city driving is atrocious; gets only 8.5KM/L. Longer, city driving distance gets a slightly better but decent 11-12km/L only. And this is spot on the car manufacturer's urban and combined cycle fuel consumption figures, due to the "small engine, heavy kerb weight".

However a long distance,150KM trip from KL to Malacca with a constant speed of 90-100Kmh rewards you with unbelievable but excellent fuel consumption. Exceeds even the manufacturer's extra-urban cycle figures.

Therefore fuel consumption between highway driving and city driving has a very wide variance.

Initial acceleration 1st and 2nd gear is poor, especially if you shift up too quickly. Going up Genting Highlands is a struggle; A Perodua Kenari/Kelisa can easily beat it up hill. You have to rev the nuts out of the little engine, just to get decent climbing ability. But however, beyond 110km/h, it seems to be more rev-happy.

If you fold the seat down, the trunk capacity magically doubles in length and volume. I've transported several long items such as a queen-sized mattress, a TV cabinet, and an IKEA wooden display. Useful if you are using it for moving home, or use to transport your commercial items.

Like all other Proton Wiras, if you have a fully loaded rear, it can easily scrape the speed bumps, no matter how slow you go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2012

18th May 2013, 08:14

Update: 18 May 2013.

3rd time (I think) the air conditioning gave another big blow to my wallet; a failed condenser fan, followed by burnt o-ring at compressor piping, leaking piping connecting between compressor and condenser, partially blocked receiver drier, and expansion valve. Leak at piping near expansion valve on evaporator coil.

Last but not least, a failing ECU unit, which controls the engage and disengagement of compressor, costs RM150 alone. Yes, ECU, not relay, located near the cooling evaporator coil.

Total damage: RM600.

Fortunately my A/C technician was very patient and meticulous.

21st Sep 2013, 23:50

Update: 21st Sept 2013 - RM 350.

- Change timing belt, bearing and oil seal at 84,000km.

- Exhaust pipe near rear muffler had large rusted hole, causing noise and higher fuel consumption. Exhaust specialist kept on insisting on replacing the entire rear piping at RM180, and was unhappy to do a RM50 welding job instead.

- Bough new semi metallic brake pads, Trestor Metallic Plus.

After doing point #1 and #2, the engine sounded surprisingly quieter.

Reliable but expensive to repair.

2001 Proton Wira GLi A

Summary:

An excellent car that does not burn a hole in your pocket

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent car to own. Cheap maintainace and good ride and handling especially when taking corners due to good suspension and lower center of gravity. Good acceleration and could take steep hills with ease. Have not had any problems in the many years I have owned it. Will buy a Waja/Impian next.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2006

16th Feb 2006, 00:19

Yeah, agree with you.

26th Sep 2006, 07:59

CHEAP!!! are you mentioning about its quality or price? to me both applies!! bad quality.

2001 Proton Wira GLi(A) 1.5

Summary:

It is an excellent car to own, no regrets

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The seats are comfortable. It handles very well when going into tight corners. It is also quick when going up hill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2004

8th Jun 2006, 05:36

Yes I do agreed the seats are quite comfortable, but as you claim it is good in handling tight corners? I'm quite sceptical about this maybe you should say it is good at unable to avoid any accidents... check your absorbers it might give you some really tight corners manouvering into a big drain in a matter of a year... wish you all the best dude!!

26th May 2013, 09:31

"It is also quick when going up hill."

You've gotta be joking! When I tried one Wira 1.5 auto going up Genting Highlands, it was a pain to watch it struggle uphill!

Even the L gear doesn't help either on steep inclines. The manual would fare much better.

The gear ratios are so widely spaced out, that I figure Mitsubishi engineers never took into account the vehicle ascending a mountain like Genting.