Skoda Forman Review from Malta

1994 Skoda Forman LX 1.3 petrol

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carSkoda Rapid 136

Summary:

Very good family car with a huge luggage space

Faults:

Rear end of silencer changed after six years.

General Comments:

Great buy. Cheap motoring, good build quality and good performance for an estate. Loads of space. Tended to understeer but a change to wider tyres solved the problem. One of the first models to benefit from the VW merger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2000

14th Apr 2001, 00:28

My Skoda Forman has problems with rust after six years.

I have replace the Stoßdämper (I don't know the right word in English) now.

Clausdieterf@uboot.com.

12th Sep 2001, 12:26

This may depend on the build year. The first Formans were known for their tendency to rust. The best model to buy is the '93 or '94 Forman, with the 50 kW engine if available. Really good value for money, can transport a lot of stuff, great for families.

12th Feb 2003, 12:14

My 1993 Forman LSe (last original Czech Model) went 153'000 km yet. It is a great car for young families because it is very cheap in buying and maintenance. Some problems appeared only on the water-cooling. After 9 years some rust on left-side behind. No other problems. Runs 150 km p.h. on highway with four persons and plenty of luggage. We go to holiday in Italy every year (800 km).

1st Feb 2005, 23:42

Who can help me?I need SKODA Forman user manual! thanks.

x_virus@tom.com

17th Nov 2006, 04:48

I would like to buy a Skoda Forman. I am in the UK. Does anyone have one to sell?

Binhaddou at hotmail dot com.

14th Dec 2007, 08:58

My Skoda Forman is wonderful. It is really reliable, it performed well at Hal - Far drag strip. Only had to change the silencer after 14 years. Great Value for money.

2nd Jun 2010, 06:57

I have mine for many years now. It's a bit old fashioned, so I thought about seven years ago that I should buy a newer model if this old one gives me any trouble.

Guess, since that it gave me no trouble at all, it's a survivor.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 1 review