Skoda Rapid Reviews from Malta

1987 Skoda Rapid Cabriolet 1.3 petrol

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired132659 kilometres
Most recent distance169239 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Rapid

Summary:

Brilliant fun car

Faults:

Although the car has a high mileage, it only needed a good service and new water pump and the engine just runs as smooth as any brand new car.

General Comments:

I always fancied a Cabriolet and the Rapid is a very rare Cabriolet, so when I saw this one for sale I just fell in love instantly. It has been loads of fun driving the Rapid, especially with the top down. People just stop and stare. Besides the fun it is also very reliable and cheap to run. What more could you ask for?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

6th May 2005, 10:23

I wish I could buy this one in former Czechoslovakia, but maybe you know convertible skodas were only for western Europe and you cannot find them in their home country...

11th Jun 2005, 13:57

Who knows where the skoda rapid cabriolet was manufactured. Which company? Is it still possible to build a cabriolet out of a standard rapid?

24th Sep 2005, 05:15

The Skoda Rapid Cabriolet was made in the U.K. by Roger Ludgate, of LDD in Kent and around 500 were made from 1984 onwards.2 types were available, the standard and the Lux, which retained modified rear quarter lights. They were for the U.K. market. Other conversions were available abroad.

27th Nov 2005, 12:32

Just bought a Skoda Rapid Convertible Mk1. It is bright yellow with a nice set of purple lilac seats! It has lost its 120 engine and been installed with a 136 mill. The gearbox is OK, but I think the previous owner bent the shaft when changing the engine. Hence it needs a tug to get it out of third. I need a garage to store the car - at the moment it is on my drive under a car cover! Hopefully will be in use in he spring. Only done 157 in two years - 7 miles since last MOT. Lots of spares with it - even a period Skoda Radio cassette and built in clock! Will need a new hood so appreciated previous writers comments about LDD. Any ideas on prices? Keep Skodaring. Mel.

5th Dec 2005, 06:01

I met Roger Ludgate quite by chance at the weekend (Sat 3rd Dec)- what an inspiring, passionate and enthusiatic person he is. If you get in touch with him regarding your car queries I'm sure he'd be delighted to help.

30th Dec 2005, 07:00

Thanks for that. I will contact Roger in Spring time once the weather gets better?! I have found storage for the car now. It is now under cover in a local farmers barn. Dead pleased. Got lots of funny looks as I towed her there behind my Octavia VRS WRC model! Racing colours with a bright yellow car 6 feet behind. Happy motoring.

1988 Skoda Rapid 130 G 1.3

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 kilometres
Most recent distance126859 kilometres

Summary:

Look after your Skoda and it will never let you down

Faults:

Nothing. The Rapid just never missed a beat.

General Comments:

The Rapid was my first car and it has been an excellent everyday transport. Besides it I now own a Rapid Cabrio, an S110R (under restoration) and a Mk.1 Estelle 105L.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2000

1988 Skoda Rapid 136 1.3 petrol

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carFiat 131 Mirafiori

Summary:

If you cannot afford a Porsche 911 buy a Rapid

Faults:

Not much! Some overheating problems, it is not unusual for temperatures to reach 40C in the shade here. Coolant thermostat needs changing every couple of years. Blown cylinder head gasket after eight years.

General Comments:

An excellent car if comfort is not your main priority. Not much luggage space and not much head and leg room on the rear seat. Otherwise highly recommended. Handling is very good and road holding with 185/60/13 tyres is very impressive. Looks good too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2000

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews