Jeep Wagoneer Review from Mexico

1982 Jeep Wagoneer Limited V8

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance139500 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Love it and live it

Faults:

There are several interesting things that I would like to comment about the car.

1.-At high temperatures the car stalls. At first I thought it was de carburetor, but after full service the engine runs like heaven, but it keeps stalling, so it must be the distributor cap (as explained in other review).

2.-The upper radiator hose snapped right off the metal part attached to the motor, it would not have been an inconvenience if it had not been filled with boiling coolant and my face had not been about a foot away... be very careful since these 2nd degree burns on my face hurt badly. This happened right after I changed the radiator. After the incident I changed the metal part. The old one was in very bad shape.

3.-I am in the process of changing all door rubbers as well as carpets and seats.

4.-While doing No.3, found (on each side) holes and metal sheet cracks on the floor (visible from the wheel housing when there is no rug) where the back tires are located. So I had to weld these holes. Maybe it is a small flaw of the chassis, since it appears on both sides.

General Comments:

I love what I paid for it (about $4,000 US). In comparison to newer similar vehicles.

It looks brand new on the outside thanks to a fresh coat of original color paint (champagne) and nice chrome parts.

I love it's size. People respect it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2002

10th May 2002, 12:15

Jeeps do that. Its the transmission.

5th Mar 2004, 15:35

Wow, I purchased a 83 Wagoneer in December 2003, only paid $750 for it and drove it 75 miles home that night... NO major problems yet, last weekend we pulled a two horse trailer 200 miles and returned without problems. It has a 304 cid V-8 and gets about 9 (nine) miles per gallon. Also two (2) windows donot work electrically, I try to do my own repair work as much as possible. with 215000.0 miles on the odometer and nearly no body rust (because we don't have snow here and therefore no road salt..) I am hoping to get another 75,000 miles out of it. The 4WD is great when pulling my horse trailer or hay cart across a rain softened pasture. This is my second Wagoneer, I ran the first one (a 1987) to work for three years 33 miles a day. I paid $900 for that one and sold it with a "blown" engine for $300. I think these older Jeep Wagoneers are great...

9th May 2004, 12:19

I have an '83 and has the same rusted out spots over the rear wheels. lets in a lot of dust so I filled the void with expandable foam. works great. I have the 360 big block, but I see 20MPG on the high way with no load. my 4X4 doesn't engage though and I haven't been able to figure it out. could be the vacuum actuator. who knows. as far as rads, look out, same problem.

28th Sep 2004, 15:34

I have a '82 Wagoner that had a problem with the four wheel drive not engaging. I found a four prong flat wire connector disconnected and change the fluid it now seems to be stuck in four wheel high lock. But the four wheel is working.

17th Feb 2005, 17:04

I got one that set for 5 years wit ha 304ci AMC motor. With a new battery it fired right up and runs like a charm.

10th Nov 2005, 18:10

I bought my mom and dad's '82 Jeep wagoneer. It's been in the family for 20 years, so I knew all the history. It's a tough 4 x 4! They pulled a 25' travel trailer with it most of the time, and it used to quit when it was hot out too. It was the fuel line being too close to the engine block... vapor locked. It's still in great original shape. I really like it.

23rd Aug 2009, 23:54

My husband just bought me an 82 Wagoneer. It is my dream car! I will be giving up my Lincoln (Cartier), which means I am giving up heated seats and keyless entry... But it is so worth it!

It even has a built-in CB radio! Ten-four good buddies!

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 1 review