2001 Opel Astra Comfort D 1.8 Gasoline

Summary:

Very good car, and better than the competition

Faults:

Excessive heating in the engine leading to coolant leakage.

One time there was a failure in the transmission control unit; the car only worked on 3rd gear and acceleration was dismal.

Strange rattle noise in the engine.

General Comments:

Very good car overall in quality finish fit, and very beautiful engine sound.

However the performance is affected when the air conditioner is on.

Very nice suspension and noise isolation.

Sensational to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2007

2004 Opel Astra G 2.4

Summary:

Good, but could be a little bit better

Faults:

The car consumes a lot of gas, it is far from the 12 km/l that the sales person offered, actually we are consuming around at 6.1 km/l.

Alternator went out at 20,000 km.

Gas Injectors problems at 28,000 km.

The wheel is bit unstable after 120 km/h

Head lights problems since 5,000 km, still present (lost their bright, the adjusting level got damaged), and in general they don give enough light in the road.

General Comments:

I share this car with my wife, and I am comfortable leaving her the car to drive it along tough Mexico City’s streets, that means: I trust the car (having a not reliable car in this City might be dangerous).

The car is very comfortable and even luxurious for its class (it has tons of useful gadgets and equipment that make it out-stand).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

25th May 2008, 11:20

Hello! Your car model isn't Opel, it's Chevrolet. That car was made on Brazil, with Brazil design and pieces. Brazilian astras have too much bad things.

2001 Opel Astra 1.8L 125HP

Summary:

The best car I had until I had to sell it

Faults:

One common failure on models before 2003: condensation on headlamps.

General Comments:

The engine is incredibly emotional... once you hit the gas pedal, you fall inlove with that sound. Although I pushed it to the limit, I was not able to beat a Nissan Maxima with 175HP, however, it could not beat me as well. Perhaps the manual Astra can beat it. That feeling with the engine can give the owner a false feeling of power, although it has enough power to beat any lousy VW Jetta 2.0L (gas), I would not be so sure about a 1.8L turbo. The other version of the Astra, the 2.2L 145HP can be amazing though, be careful Jettas...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2004

2001 Opel Astra Comfort D 1.8 Ecotec

Summary:

Excellent cost-benefits relationship

Faults:

By now nothing, the car is operating perfectly, no complaint.

General Comments:

Good assembly quality.

Excelent equippment.

This car is quick and handles quite well in any kind of road.

Good braking system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

2001 Opel Astra Comfort D 1.8 16v

Summary:

Wow!!!

Faults:

Nothing by now.

General Comments:

Excellent car, very roomy and very good quality.

Excellent performance and equipment, as good as expensive cars, but with a reasonable price.

Security as the Volvo S40 (4 stars in front offset).

I will recommend this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2001

14th Jan 2006, 01:40

Volvos have 5 stars. don't lie.

30th Aug 2009, 16:48

The first V/S40 had 4 stars.