Citroen ZX Reviews from Netherlands

1993 Citroen ZX Avantage 1.4i

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance187000 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap, reliable, comfy, handy

Faults:

Only three things went wrong, the ignition module died on me after 180.000kms, the road service (I am a member of) built in another costs £30,and the car was running again (all together from breaking down till fixing took 3 hours!).

Around the same mileage the fan died because the resistor was burnt, this after all was due to a fan whose bearing was on it's way out, so new fan and another resistor, problem fixed, total cost £30 (2 resistors and a used fan).

And the last thing is I had to replace the driver seat after 184.000km, cost £12 (SH).

As well as SH as new parts still available.

General Comments:

Cheap, comfortable and practical car (3 door hatch).

I got a 1.4 petrol so on the motorway it isn't a performer, but absolutely doable.

The car corners fantastic (steering rear axle) and in the city the performance is pretty OK.

No rust at all!

Cheap maintenance.

I drove about 45.000km with a total maintenance of around £500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2007

1992 Citroen ZX Volcane 2.0i

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired173000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres

Summary:

High performance and beautiful car

Faults:

The accu/battery went bad.

General Comments:

I had two accidents (which were not mine, nor the car's fault). With the second accident it was total loss, which is really a shame, because it was a really great car.

Very powerful engine. Acceleration from 0 to 100 km/h in just 8 seconds and a top of 210 km/h.

I (being tall) had a little leg room.

The drivers seats were fully adjustable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2002

1996 Citroen ZX Avoriaz 1.4

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16500 kilometres
Most recent distance21000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A quick and comfortable travel mate

Faults:

There's nothing to complain about this car, it drives perfect.

General Comments:

The car is a little tuned up, it's got high speed tires and some other sport articles.

The seats are comfortable.

The car is steering very smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

1995 Citroen ZX Aura 1.6

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 kilometres
Most recent distance112000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

A comfortable no-nonsense, value for money car

Faults:

Several small problems with the electrics.

Had to replace the fuel tank - seems to be a regular problem with older models: bulkheads in the fuel tank come loose.

General Comments:

Smooth ride, torque at lower revs is impressive and the handling is terrific.

Handles great!

The ZX looks bad though - it looks like a Vauxhall in disguise.

Where is the real Citroen suspension?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

1992 Citroen ZX Reflex 1.9 diesel

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired173000 kilometres
Most recent distance188000 kilometres

Summary:

Comfy

Faults:

Nothing special yet since 5 months, but suspension and brake system seem sensitive to wear. Front wheels are easily misaligned.

Poor paint job.

Is supposed to be much more reliable than the AX and BX, and indeed does give you a warm feeling when you hear the door shut.

General Comments:

The not-so-great gearbox and the pedals put too close together make city driving less fun than my '87 Sunny, but as soon as you put it in 5th (which can be done at 60 km/h) it turns into a most comfortable, quiet highway cruiser. Poor roads (Antwerp!) are ironed, passengers tend to fall asleep in 10 mins. Very nice seats for the not-too-tall.

Does not do bad at all in curves, possibly thanks to passive steering rear axle.

Fast enough (165 km/h) for normal use, same 70 hp engine as P405D but weighs 100 kgs less. Still, don't even think about racing TDI, HDI...

Fuel economy about 1 litre/18 kms without really trying.

Got it for $2000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

6th Dec 2000, 18:15

Now at 198,000 km.

Since the previous review, I am slowly losing my dashboard light. Can still see how fast I am going but will soon require a 12V light connected to the cigarette lighter. (No way I am going to have the whole dash removed for new bulbs!).

More seriously, the lady refuses to start from time to time. During heavy rainfall, there appears to be a false contact due to which the starter won't run. Also, after several days of standstill, need to start 4-5 times before any diesel appears to make it into the chamber or is ignited. After having driven a Sunny, a car that refuses to start is a very confusing and indeed extremely annoying experience. Had to suppress the urge to sell her on the spot.

This car is a very one-dimensional pleasure, i.e. its comfortable ride. Maybe I should add the civilized and relatively quiet diesel engine.

Apart from that, it is quite unpractical in general and has the following specific problems:

- Gearbox is far from smooth.

- Pedals are too close together.

- The one wiper performance is absolutely insufficient and, I would say, unsafe. It does not cover enough of the windshield and somehow its pressure is wrong. Even good (Bosch) blades wear out in a few weeks and during heavy rainfall you hardly see anything. The interval is too fast.

- Dashboard light is on as soon as you turn the key. Consequently, you forget to switch your lights on when it's dark.

- Rear defrost warning light is not bright enough, so you forget to switch it off. You don't see it anyway as the steering wheel is in front of it.

- Knobs are not very solid.

- Locking/unlocking boot and diesel fill opening is as unpractical as possible.

- Antenna can not be retreated and is consequently destroyed when you have the car washed.

- Right front door cannot be locked from the outside.

Of course you forget all this when you're on the motorway at 150 kmh, but remember it when you're about to buy one.

11th Jun 2001, 14:54

Update 11 June 2001

The front wheel suspension problem is.. BACK! Steer started to shake again and front tires are wearing out unevenly. The lady will be checked tomorrow, hope I'll get some sleep tonight...

A new phenomenon appeared yesterday right after starting the engine. The dash started SMOKING!! while the indicator relais clicked like a madman. Seems to be a short circuit.

The last news will be positive though. Last Thursday an '88 Kadett kissed me on the rear bumper. The Kadett became a complete mess, my ZX kept a straight face (well, bum) with just a few scratches. I myself feel perfectly OK. Who said Citroens were unsafe? (I am sure they will find everything underneath bent tomorrow!)

Will keep you all posted...

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 5 reviews