Honda Civic Reviews from Netherlands

2002 Honda Civic LS 5 door (euro model) 1.6 i-VTEC

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 i-VTEC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 kilometres
Most recent distance104000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A Honda again, but not from Britain

Faults:

Overall build quality of the car, it is British built, and therefore far worse than my previous Civics from Japan (3d hatch), lots of rattles and squeaks.

Lots of Japanese cars from Britain (or anywhere else in Europe) have little or big faults that don't occur in Japanese cars.

The amount of revs of the motor, especially at motorway speeds, 100 km/h and higher, is far too high. 120 km/h makes about 3900 rpm, which gives a lot of noise and decreases the mileage. The 1.6i 110 hp i-VTEC motor has lots of torque, so why so many revs?

General Comments:

There is a lot of space in the cabin, partly because of the distance between the front and rear wheels. That also makes the car difficult to park (much space needed), but I can live with that.

The electrical power steering is a funny thing, hydraulic steering works much nicer, but it needs getting used to.

After 7000 km, nothing is broken or went wrong, the gas mileage is about 1:15 (6,7 l /100 km), and it has low weight (which gives low taxes in Holland).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2011

1990 Honda Civic GL 1.5 16v

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87300 kilometres
Most recent distance101000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A great car: reliable, economic and FAST!

Faults:

- A new timing belt and alternator belt at 100000 km.

- 4 new tyres.

- It became really rusty arround the rear arches.

General Comments:

I purchased the car about a year ago, and no real problems have occurred to me.

The car is really fast, I have driven it over 180 km/h with 4 people and when driving it at a normal speed, about 120 km/h, it's very economic: about 500 km on 30 liters of fuel.

For a small car (about 900 kg) it's interior is very large. There's enough space for four people, even when you are a large person. The only problem is the trunk, but with the back seats folded down I can easily get my bike in the trunk.

Because of the low weight and low insurance it's really cheap to drive this car, but when you consider buying one, check it for rust!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2005

1987 Honda Civic GL 1.5

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap fast little hatch!

Faults:

At 140,000 kilometers the starter engine failed, I bought another one for 30 dutch guilders (about 15 Euro)

20,000 kilometers further the clutch had to be renewed, a 150 Euro job.

The connections of the rear bumper were completely rusted and I had to make new ones, because of the terrible high prized official Honda parts.

In December 2003 the accumulator gave it's last Amps. I bought a new one (50 Euros)

Of course the rear breaks had to be replaced. The pins that connect the shoes to the anchor plates were completely rusted away.

At 180,000 kms the main braking cylinder refused it's work. I have received no bill yet, but the material costs were 70 Euro's.

After 170,000 kilometers the front left axle became noisy. Fortunately the was a second had one available. At 175,000 kms that one also seemed to be worn out. I replaced the axle by another from the scrap heap. This one is also making noise at the moment. Perhaps I should by a completely new axle...

General Comments:

With only 825 kilograms and 90 horsepower this car is quite fast.

The fuel consumption reaches 15,5 kilometers per liter on the long runs (>150 km.) at 120 km/hr.

Although my length is about 1.9 m. I can sit with lot's of room above and around me. My cousin, from whom I bought this car, replaced the seats with CRX-seats. He's 7 feet tall and can sit very well in it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2004

20th Apr 2005, 09:56

UPDATE: ran 210.000 Km's at the moment. Nothing to care about. Smoke was coming from the engine, the valve cover ring leaked oil on the exhaust. Bought a new one: € 13,- and adjusted the valve clearance. It runs like a Honda again. Every single day at least 70 Km's even starting at -18 Celsius.

27th Oct 2007, 17:26

Is this the gl with the d17z in it?

1991 Honda Civic VTi 1.6 VTEC

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A go-kart that's allowed on public roads!

Faults:

Exhaust had to be changed (not so lucky for me both middle and end part)

The metal blocks that connect the drive shaft with the wheels had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is a very nice car to drive, possibly one of the nicest Honda Civics ever made. The engine is very powerfull, and can rev up all the way to 7500rpm.

VTEC changes valve timing on 5800rpm, after that you get an extra push in the back till red line.

It's a small racer with very good cornering, since it's quite low.

The car looks pretty normal, only people that know see that it's a VTEC: this is your ticket to great fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

20th Dec 2003, 10:56

Problem with drive shaft only (so far) bought it second hand (J reg). Otherwise great little runner, can feel the VT-EC kicking in at high revs (or fellow drivers do!), back end finds it hard to keep up, but because the car is quite low anyway that problem is countered.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews