Mazda 626 Reviews from Netherlands

1991 Mazda 626 DX 1.8

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired215165 miles
Most recent distance234800 miles
Previous carVolvo 440

Summary:

GREAT CAR extremely reliable!

Faults:

Exhaust replaced at 228.000km.

Now experiencing problems while riding, it seems like my Mazda is choking and it stutters if I accelerate at 80km/hour, at 110 and 120km/hour.the more I accelerate the more it looses power. if I let go for a sec than it all comes back to normal. this problem occurred after the one time when oil lamp went on and than I had to fill up the motor with oil. I m still looking for the cause and solution. (its pretty hard to find honest service guys around here)

General Comments:

Extremely reliable!!! I bought it for 500 euro and it was every cent worth!

It's a standard model, no extras beside the radio. no power steering (it sure keeps my shoulders in shape) and until the recent problems it used to accelerate like a bullet. its my second Mazda. its spacious inside I can even put 4 kids in the backseat.

Consumption has been OK till now.

I'm looking for a bigger car now cos I have 9 kids, but till than we're hoping its gonna give us a few more 1000s of km of pleasure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2006

12th Apr 2006, 07:29

For the stumbling on acceleration, check the throttle body. Don't let the mechanics replace the unit, as it can be cleaned. Count on 3-4 hours of labor to remove, clean & reinstall the unit.

1990 Mazda 626 GLX 2.0i

Year of manufacture1990
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance171000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Vectra

Faults:

I suffer from a high humidity inside my car, sometimes causing ice on my windscreen. Not nice.

Does any body know a solution?

There is no leakage found.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2005

11th Jun 2006, 10:31

Hello,

You might want to buy a, what we call, moist-eater.

A thing like that takes moist out of the air and collect it in a bin. You have to empty it once or twice a week...

That suited for me too...

Good luck.

Erik Borst, Holland. (erikborst@hotmail.com)

27th Jun 2006, 08:53

Your heater core is leaking. You won't be able to see it. It won't leak until it's pressured up. Buy a new heater core, or have yours rebuilt.

1989 Mazda 626 LX 2.0

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 404

Summary:

One of the best cars in its class

Faults:

Electronic ignition module that goes inside the distributor started to produce problems on 255.000 km on cold weather, so I replaced it.

Both CV joints were noisy since I bought the car (on full turns). I replaced both driveshafts recently because a CV boot went off. I used the parts from a junkjard and overhauled all 4 CV joints in my garage. No problems with the noise since then.

Apart from that, nothing ever went wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable and good car.

Excellent for long trips. Very good on gas - less than 8 liter/100 km on highway, with long-distance speeds in the range 140 - 170 km/h km/h.

Excellent seats.

No rust at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2004

1992 Mazda 626 LX 1.8i

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired115002 kilometres
Most recent distance199540 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Reliable and fuel economic, no pampering required

Faults:

The central door lock doesn't function as well as it should.

The handbrake doesn't release since 175000km. Needs replacement of complete disk brake unit on the left.

The hydraulic valves produce a strange tapping noise from 115000 km when I bought it. Said to be caused by clogged oil canals. Problem can be solved by replacing engine oil every 6000 km. Which I do.

Heater capacity is too low for a cold winter morning.

The clutch had to be replaced for the first time at 185000 km.

General Comments:

Car has unusual light steering, making it ideal for less muscular individuals.

The engine performs well and is smooth.

The average fuel usage has been constant over the time I owned it: 1 liter of EuroSuper95 for every 14,7 kilometers.

There is sufficient space for rear passenger as long as they're under 1,70 meters tall.

Up front abundantly spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2003

1991 Mazda 626 GLX Station 2.0 diesel

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance360000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

Comfortable, but expensive

Faults:

I had to spend NLG 1800 (=EUR 800) to fix the brakes only a couple of months after purchasing it.

Small oil leakage. Unfixable.

No other big investments. Regular investments: tyres and batteries.

Piston blew at 360000.

General Comments:

Comfortable car. Much better road behaviour than the Kadett I owned, although it was pretty expensive in diesel, drinking about 7.5 liters per 100km (1/13).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2002

1992 Mazda 626 LX 1.8i 24v

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8i 24v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 kilometres
Most recent distance119500 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

2nd hand beautiful bargain (less than 5000 EURO)

Faults:

Electric door-lock doesn't work properly.

Otherwise a flawless car.

General Comments:

This car handles with great ease, is fuel economic, and gives a feeling of control whatever the circumstances may be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews